We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plockton May 2013”
Review of An Caladh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
An Caladh
Ranked #4 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Plockton is a stunning little place where everyone is friendly and welcoming. Stayed at this B&B in August 2010 and returned this weekend (18th May 2013). Friendly welcome into a family home. Sometimes I think too many people think a B&B should be like a hotel. I'm glad to say most aren't. Lovely welcome, spotlessly clean room, good breakfast (happy to assist with gluten free diet). Hosts interested in guests and gave hints and tips for local area.
Like big table for breakfast as it gets guests chatting.
Friendly pleasant place to stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenny_Alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 73 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were lucky to get a room here without booking in advance, and were very glad we did. We had a double room (with private bathroom) overlooking the loch, which was clean and spacious. The furniture was old in a charming rustic kind of way, and we felt very much at home there. The private bathroom had a big bath in it (as well as sink and toilet), and the room itself had an additional sink.

Anna, the hostess, was very welcoming and friendly as well as cooking an amazing breakfast. After a few days of standard cooked breakfast fare I was particularly glad to see something different on the menu: toasted crumpets with bacon and maple syrup - an inspired combination! The porridge was also very good.

Plockton the town is really a gem of the region and was well worth going out of our way to visit. For a small village it has a surprising number of good places to eat, and you can certainly not get enough of the loch/mountain view.

Room Tip: As you come up the stairs there are two rooms with loch views. The one on the left comes with a priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed for one night in September - wish it could have been longer! - in a lovely airy room with a view of the water and ensuite bath. Breakfast was great and they were very accommodating about leaving our bags the next morning while we went for a walk before our train left. They also told us about a walk that we never would have found on our own, that started off someone's driveway up the road. Beautiful and varied scenery, and not too much of a slog either. I would highly recommend it. Plockton is a charming little village and how can you turn down palm trees in Scotland! We made reservations via email and it was quite simple and convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a great little b&b in such a beautiful part of Scotland-a really great base to explore Skye, Applecross and more. Bob and Anna were charming and gave us great advice when our car had some problems, and the breakfasts were absolutely delicious and plentiful! We chose a room with a beautiful view over the loch, with a separate bathroom, just down the hall. This might not be everyone's cup of tea but it was fine for us and they also offered us a room with ensuite facilities so its down to preference and availability. The room was very clean, cosy and quiet and we wanted for nothing for the two nights we stayed. Thanks very much Bob and Anna!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed two nights at An Caladh on 19th and 20th of September, beautifull house, lovely clean rooms, with nice modern bathroom. Room overlooking Loch is lovely to look out on whilst having your morning tea. Very nice breakfast, Anna and Bob very friendly hosts and will give you as much advice on the area as you need. Plockton Shores best for food, Plockton Inn nice lively pub, when there is music on.
We will definitly stay at An Caladh again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on to the Loch are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicesterchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights before heading over to Skye. It's a great little guesthouse - very comfortable, well appointed and friendly, right in the centre of Plockton with parking right outside. It is also close to several good places to eat: we followed Anna's excellent recommendations. All in all, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose one with en suite facilities. Ours was at the front and had lovely views over the loch to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rocketveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was the second time we have stayed here, and definitely won't be the last! The hosts, Anna and Bob are so welcoming and hospitable, it feels like we're at home among friends! Our room itself was warm and cosy with a few nice touches such as a tea tray/biscuits, a flat-screen tv, free wifi, and a hairdryer- more than I would expect from a B&B, more likely a hotel or travelodge! The ensuite was clean and fresh towels were provided. The breakfast menu was extensive, but I can wholeheartedly recommend the cooked breakfast option especially the infamous Stornoway black pudding! Plockton is a gorgeous wee village tucked away, but well worth the trip to get there. Can't wait to come again, and I'll make sure we stay here again- can't beat the hospitality shown to us by our hosts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back room this time which has an ensuite, but not a view- but that did not bother m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to An Caladh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Caladh

Address: 25 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range: $27 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
An Caladh Hotel Plockton
An Caladh Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing