We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Plockton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Another lunch and as usual very good. This day we chose when the Plockton High School students were having their bash but the staff were brilliant and the service was great. The food was very tasty and well presented. I decided to have two starters so soup followed by pâté. Both home made and both great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    158
    47
    13
    10
See reviews for
87
273
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomatin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We were on a day trip to Plockton from Inverness with a group of elderly people and after being let down by another restaurant (which had been booked) we went into the Plockton Hotel, we were given a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were immediately shown to several tables - there was 11 of us. We placed our orders, the service was quick and with a smile, the food was great. I would definitely recommend the Plockton Hotel for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Stopped on the way home and had lunch here. Staff were friendly and service was quick.

Food was fresh and quite tasty.

Bathrooms were very clean - something even our son made a comment about!

All in all a good place to grab some food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cus67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Had a great meal that suited the disparate tastes of two adults and two young children. And now to the but: when we came to settle the bill we noticed that around £20 of puddings and coffees had been missed off the bill. Rather than remain silent we drew this to the attention of the staff who showed no recognition of customer honesty as when issuing the revised bill there was not the slightest recognition or thanks for the error on the part of the waiting staff.

Honesty was something that I learnt as a child, so we teach our children to live by the same virtues but it seems to us that humility is clearly something that passes some by.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retroman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed with friends at the Plockton Hotel a few weeks ago for 2 nights.Part of the pleasure was the rail journey from Inverness to Plockton which is well worth it due to the wonderfull views. The hotel were kind enough to collect us from the station. The rooms we had requested were front facing to the beautifull bay. They were large and extremely well appointed. The breakfast was superb and well cooked with a great selection. Even the weather turned out much better than we had hoped for!
Dinner was served in the lounge bar and was excellent. We had booked DB&B and this was excellent value. All I can add is that I would recommend this wonderful friendly hotel to anyone who is looking for a quiet and comfortable holiday. The owners really know how to make their guests enjoy their visit and want to return which we certainly shall
Pat & Bob

Room Tip: Always try and book a fromt facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOB P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just a wee drink in the comfortable bar of the hotel which is right on the front. Comfortable and welcoming, I am sure it is a lovely place to stay and seemed busy even in early March. The restaurant looked very inviting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

went to this hotel for a wedding , and found it very welcoming and friendly staff , food top draw and great time had , would recommend it ever time , if your in the district hoiladay or just the odd night stay here 100% top rate

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONALD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
4.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
228 reviews
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
586 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,054 reviews
24.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Hotel

Property: Plockton Hotel
Address: 41 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:2 star — Plockton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plockton Hotel is a family-run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Stunning views, beautiful food and a warm welcome is guaranteed all year round. Follow us for updates on events, special offers, menu changes and local news. We'd love to hear from you too! Please add your reviews, photos and comments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing