We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The jewel of the West Shore”
Review of Plockton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Bussum
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The jewel of the West Shore”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is difficult for me to give this hotel only four stars. We know the place for 15 years and we stayed here three times in the past. Even more we enjoyed the restaurant which is one of the best on the West Coast.
The place is still excellent. It is full of character, the people are very friendly. Clean, nicely scented, warm and, of cause, perfectly located for one day trips either to Skye, Applecross, Eilean Donan or just excellent nature right around Plockton. The views from the rooms and the promenade in front of the hotel are one of the jewels of Scotland.

Why we give it a 'four' is because this time we felt some tension in people which we could not explain but which endangers homely atmosphere which made this place so SPECIAL. This is probably the other side of success - it has become a bit too crowded, bit too busy, there is less personal attention and some 'rituals' we enjoyed so much, like daily update of the menu blackboard, are dropped.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilya1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    152
    45
    13
    9
See reviews for
84
259
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love the West Coast of Scotland and this year we had 3 days in Plockton - a charming small fishing village close to the Kyle of Lochalsh and the bridge to the Isle of Skye.

The Plockton Hotel is right on the waterfront overlooking the harbour and although it looks small, it is "tardis-like", having been developed and extended and the interior opens out into resaurants, 2 bars and a dining room on the ground floor and a total of 11 rooms within the hotel itself and the small annexe a couple of doors away.

Our room on the first floor and overlooking the sea was really comfortable, with good facilities, tea-making kit and biscuits, television, free wi-fi, a good shower and fluffy towels. The staff were helpful and welcoming, showing us where to dry our wet coats (it does rain a bit on the west Coast) and providing fresh milk for out tea and coffee. Our friends had a room facing the rear of the hotel which, although very adequate, did not have quite the same character or ambiance as those rooms on the front.

We were booked for bed and breakfast and our breakfasts were absolutely excellent with plenty of choice, good quality and as much as you could eat. On our first night we ate dinner in the hotel dining-room and I regret that this was a disappointment, whilst being just about acceptable, it was certainly not value for money and did not match the quality and style of the rest of the hotel during our stay. On the next two nights we ate in another local hotel - the Plockton Inn.

Having said that, we did very much enjoy our stay at the hotel and would like to mention in particular two members of staf, Dot and an East European man - who are a real asset to the hotel. Thank you also to all the other staff at the hotel who made our staf so enjoyable. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had been to Inveraray and caught the ferry to Sky then drove to The lovely village of Plockton. I loved the village right away and the hotel is right on the front overlooking the loch. My husband and I had room 5 which is on the ground floor and made for disabled person. That was okay but the hand basin was so low it was made for a wheelchair user. The bed was comfy although the room was a tad small. The food and service was very good with plenty of fish on the menu! We took a boat trip to see the seals and we were not disappointed . All in all a good visit and we would def go again in the future. Next time we would like a room on the first floor. Plockton is such a quaint village we just loved it.. Staff at the hotel were excellent and the breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: Only book room 5 if you are disabled as the wash basin is so low, my husband is 6ft and had to bend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The Plockton Hotel (not to be confused with The Plockton Inn just around the corner).
We had this place recommended to us by friends, for its atmosphere, friendliness, good food and good service. All we can say is there must have been a sweeping tsunami of change since our friends visited. There was no way of making yourself known on arrival if you have a booking (which we did), the place offers bar meals or restaurant service and we opted for the latter several days beforehand. Yet whatever the reason you came you have to let them know at the bar, a cunning and transparent move! We were then told (surprise, surprise!) that we could have a drink at the bar, we were then kept waiting for 15 minutes for our table with no explanation as to why, the restaurant room we were taken to was far from full. Though there were two "used" tables which remained so throughout our meal, always a sign of sloppy service we feel. Service was slow, inattentive and poor, so much so we joked that one young waiter would be better suited as a magician as every time we asked something he promised to get back to us then promptly disappeared! We had our food order taken at the bar but it was then another 15 minutes before we could get sorted with wine, when did get some (an £18 bottle) it was all but thrown at us along with the glasses. No napkins, no offers of water, we also had no idea that vegetables with our meal were an extra order and at £2.50 per portion, would have been barely enough to liquidise for a baby meal. The choice of potatoes or chips with your meal is offered but how the potatoes are done is not made clear, we got roasted new potatoes which had been sunbathing under a heat lamp for so long they were thermonuclear hot and had skins like old shoes. We were than offered a pudding menu (containing a total of four puddings 2 of which were off and only one had a replacement offering) but declined when it was a further 15 minutes before anyone came back. The food we had was okay but not great and the place seemed disorganised, slap dash and lack lustre with wait staff who seemed too knackered or too remote from the ethos of the place to give a damn. A real shame in such a lovely venue (the Hotel and the village) Badly needs to up its game and we will neither go back or recommend it! We are generous tippers if it's worth it, 10% in a good place at least, we didn't tip at here after an evening of feeling like an inconvenience and a nuisance throughout the meal. Nothing signifies a bad restaurant quite as much as that feeling when you leave, of an evening wasted and having your good will of offering your custom thoroughly taken advantage of, exactly how we felt after a very below average evening at the Plockton Hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HonestNursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely big quiet room at the end on the 1st floor, very spacious & comfortable. Very clean & modern bathroom. The staff were lovely & the views amazing. The bar is cosy with a great atmosphere & the restaurant serves excellent food. Would not hesitate to recommend this place

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Plockton is a dream of a place and the hotel is right in the middle on the waterfront. A warm welcome and 2 of the 3 rooms we booked had wonderful views over the water, one in the main hotel, the other in the annex. The third, also in the annex, was a bit cave-like with little natural light and had no outlook at all, just a wall. But all rooms were comfortable and we had a lovely stroll up the street to the Plockton Inn for dinner.

Room Tip: Pay for the rooms at the front for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location. Fantastic food. Fantastic service. Lovely rooms. Dream about revisiting You Think the view is the best until you eat. Then you taste the food. The rooms are beautifully decorated with many little extras.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindacor51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
568 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
344 reviews
20.6 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Portree
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Hotel

Property: Plockton Hotel
Address: 41 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:2 star — Plockton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plockton Hotel is a family-run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Stunning views, beautiful food and a warm welcome is guaranteed all year round. Follow us for updates on events, special offers, menu changes and local news. We'd love to hear from you too! Please add your reviews, photos and comments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing