We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Plockton”
Review of Plockton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plockton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A lovely hotel in a lovely destination.
My wife and I stayed for a Saturday night in mid September.
Parking is either in the street or in the village car park about twenty yards away. We had no problem getting a space but I can imagine it might be more difficult during the height of the tourist season.
Check in was quick and easy - I had given my credit card details when I booked the room. We had arrived late and i was slightly concerned that we had not booked anywhere to eat; Plockton has some nice places to eat but these can getnbooked up, especially on a Saturday night. We needn't have worried as the hotel had already booked a table at their restaurant. The receptionist then showed us to our very spacious room on the first floor at the back of the hotel with it's own balcony area (room 3).The room was well furnished and included a free-standing fire pot with a flue to the outside. Probably just the thing during the depths of winter. The bathroom was clean with complimentary toiletries, sewing kit etc. It also had a good, high power shower. There were also bathrobes, a good selection of towels and an ironing board with iron. This room would make a great base for a longer break.
Downstairs is the bar and two dining/restaurant areas.
The bar is great and obviously a draw for then locals. It was pretty busy when we were there but not so busy that getting a drink was a problem. The service in the bar and in the restaurant was excellent and friendly.
There is some seating outside with fantastic views of the harbour and loch.
We had dinner in the restaurant with both of us making use of the locally sourced fish and seafood. I had the monkfish for my main course and it was done to perfection.
Breakfast was included in the booking. We both had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Again, this was superb, probably some of the best smoked salmon I've had.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank RMS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 520 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel with superb restaurant:)
Room 7 has an amazing sea view.You must go on Calm's boat trip to see the seals.............. STUNNING!!!
The hotel is very comfortable with very friendly staff:)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Last visited this location on a camping trip about 35 years ago - it hasn't changed a bit, thankfully!
The hotel and restaurant have a small street frontage that could put off someone used to large city chains. But to dismiss this one would be a mistake. There is a small, cosy and friendly staffed bar where you place your food orders. There is inside and outside seating - just a cock-stride across the street to a shore-line garden area.
If you are in this location you must be a sea-food buff. Langoustine, fresh out of the loch are a must!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

How wonderful to be welcomed back like old friends, despite a break of three years since our last visit – and the ‘welcome back’ card and bottle of bubbly was a lovely touch.

This was our sixth stay at the Plockton Hotel and we have been asked why keep going back; OK, the carpet looks a little tired in places and some updating wouldn’t go amiss but....friendly staff, fantastic location, good accommodation, great food.... we will be back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJ_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night only but loved the service and the hotel.
We stayed in room 9 which was a lovely room facing the back of the hotel. Our friends stayed in room 10 which was smaller but they both shared a balcony which was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne120602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice location, lovely friendly staff and great food - but pretty pricey. Nice location, lovely friendly staff and great food - but pretty pricey. Nice location, lovely friendly staff and great food - but pretty pricey.
Why does this have to be at least 200 characters Tripadvisor?

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewGauld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Plockton is the most beautiful place, the views are stunning. We only stayed one in the Hotel and because the Annual Sailing Regatta the village was very busy. We had a room in the Lodge - which is 3 doors away fro the Hotel. The room was small but had everything we needed, It was very clean and the little homely touches, like cotton wool, cotton buds, fresh milk and bottled water all made it for me.
We ate in the restaurant and the fish and chips was the best! Breakfast was excellent and the homemade raspberry jam deserves its own mention.
The only downside was because we had a front facing ground floor room it was quite noisy, however the view as the sun rose in the morning outweighed that.
At £70 for b&b excellent value..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
13.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
24.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
4 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
248 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plockton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plockton Hotel

Address: 41 Harbour Street, Plockton IV52 8TN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Plockton
Hotel Class:2 star — Plockton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plockton Hotel is a family-run hotel in the West Highlands of Scotland. Stunning views, beautiful food and a warm welcome is guaranteed all year round. Follow us for updates on events, special offers, menu changes and local news. We'd love to hear from you too! Please add your reviews, photos and comments. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plockton Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing