We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
37
15
13
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
15
13
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspine martenthe cottageslive tvrare breedonce a yearthe ritzllamasottersgoatsaccommodationdoglochmartinswoodpeckerspaddockhighlandstides
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 81 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed in the thatched cottage and had a wonderful time with our two dogs.
The information on the brochure is exactly as it says, so no surprises when we got there. Good value basic accommodation.
No need for a television when you have outstanding views and llamas walking past the window.
Feeding the animals on the farm was a great way to spend some time after coming in from long walks in the surrounding forrest.
Calums seal trip was informative, fun and really good value for money.
We will be back in the summer as this was the best chill out time I've had in ages

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank annie152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We stayed in the one bedroomed fisherman's cottage for an unseasonally sunny week in April with our 15mth old son. The setting is stunning, with spectacular views of Loch Carron; a wooded island that can be walked to from the beach at low tide (tides never low enough whilst we were there); and a rare breeds farm on site. The changes in light outside make the views of the loch dramatically different each time you look. It's compelling to watch for wildlife on the loch. We saw seals, herons, ducks and Llamas right outiside our door which the wee one just loved. The farm itself is wonderful for kids. You can take some feed and wander round feeding all the animals as you go, Our son adored this, and this became a daily activity. The cottage has a wood burning fire and some electric radiators for heat. There is no TV reception so if you have kids and they need TV, take DVD's - you really shouldn't need them unless there's rain and/or midges. There is a grassed area right outside the cottage with areas for camp fires, and a rocky beach. The accommodation is fairly basic, but you'd be a fool to think you'd get better value with the superior location and a brilliant farm on your door step.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kookicoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We came all the way from South Shields and it was definately worth it! Every one was really kind and every thing was beautiful. despite bad weather and car trouble the fact that this is one of the best holidays we've ever had shows what a lovley place this is. The owners of the farm were more than helpful hence the reason for us rebooking as soon as we came back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cacoverdale72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We rented the Thatch Cottage for our stay. While not perfect, the accomodations were more than adequate and the prices very reasonable. This is not a luxury spa, if that is what you seek go elsewhere. The location is outstanding, with truly breathtaking views, and quite central for getting in the car and exploring. Our hosts were very pleasant and we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganHiker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and myself booked a one bedroomed lodge for a week but only lasted until wednesday ,the bed was the most uncomfortable i have ever tried to sleep in which was not a surprise as it was two thin mattresses one on top of the other.The views from the balcony were fantastic it was a pity that to sit outside meant sitting beneath a constant drip from the blocked gutter on a balcony that was in need of repair . It was a shame that the lodge did not match the surroundings or the area as we plan to visit the region again but would not go back to the same accommodation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jayjay43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews