We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and wildlife”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Highland Farm
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the farm in May 2012, fantastic location and a superb amount of wildlife to watch, we had Pine Martens visiting everynight and this made the stay very enjoyable.

located not to far from Plockton and set on a farm next to a loch, we had the beachside cottage that we got upgraded to for free (thanks) Overall the accommodation is comfortable and you get what you pay for, Dont expect the ritz as its set on a farm but for what you pay its well worth the price.

The owners are great and very nice. lots of various farm animals to look at.

i will return again soon to this lovely setting, thanks for the stay and the upgrade we both enjoyed it very much.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank gregmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Craig Highland Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 70 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in the small beach cottage with our dog. The views were out of this world. It felt as though we were alone on the planet at times, with the mountain behind us and the tidal loch in front of us, plus the mountains on the horizon and the weather changing the skyline every minute (rainbows to die for!!), The secret island in front of us was magical and Skye to the left was breathtaking. Eagles soared over us during the day, playful Otters in the loch in the evening, then the Pine Martens at night came to take their supper from the cottage windowsill. The Llamas were hilarious in their antics, creeping up on you at every turn and staring in through the windows. Calum navigating the Sula Mhor on the loch was also a treat and if you speak to him nicely he will take you as close as possible to your cottage at high tide so that you can view it from another angle. I find some of the reviews on here to be the opposite of what we experienced regarding cleanliness of the cottage. We found ours to be immaculate. The first thing I do is check the toilet and the fridge/oven. All were pristine. The crockery/cutlery provided also up to date and sparkling. The bedding was professionally laundered and crisp with an extremely comfortable mattress. All appliances were working fine. My only complaint could perhaps be that as the tourist train passes behind the cottage a couple of times a day - if you are in the shower (which I was when it came past at one point!!), due to the angle of the bathroom window this perhaps could invade privacy. The cottage is a short beautiful walk from Plockton village. We intended to travel so much while we stayed there but Plockton and the cottage itself made us just want to stay there and soak up the atmosphere. I cannot recommend a cottage more highly. If you need peace this is the only place to be. The lady who owns the place is absolutely lovely too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

And that place is Craig Highland Farm! Stayed in the Thatched Cottage (autumn) for the second time and it just gets better and better. The accommodation is so cosy, clean and well equipped. The weather, scenery and colours were stunning to the point of being moving. Together with the tranquility, it truly is a winning formula. PMM

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Most chilled out place in the country. Down on the beach with the llamas, you cannot beat it, waking up with the oyster catchers calling. Otters on the little island for early risers and such amazing paece and quite.

Room Tip: really good hospitaiity from the owners
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in the larger of the two cottages down by the loch. Excellent location with stunning views of Loch Carron from our cottage with a heronry on a wooded island of Scots Pine just off the shore. The sea is around 25 meters from the cottage depending on the tide which made for launching the kayak an easy business. There is a fair sized grass area around the cottage making this a safe area for our dogs to roam around in.
Regarding the animal life we left out marmalade sandwiches each night for the pine martin but no luck in seeing him although he did eat his supper each night. We did see otters hunting by the island and a number of passing seals when out having a fire on the beach of an evening. Make sure to take bird feed and fat balls as the local bird life is quite varied.
The place as a whole is laid back and very friendly and Patti couldn't have been more helpful. We found the holiday very relaxing with the accomodation cozy, clean, well equiped and very good value. By the way the village of Plockton is only around three miles away so if you are going make sure to visit Plockton Shores on the main street for excellent food and great service. Calum's boat trip is also a must if you want to see even more of the local wildlife.
We have booked for next year prior to leaving.
Stan and Linda Phillips and family

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place is Beautiful, the three bed lodge has everything u need. Great for kids of all ages. Lodge needs a deeper clean, I would say its ok, we got used to it after a day or so. Take some dettol and give it a quick clean and it will b fine. Bedding smelled fresh which made everything ok.

I can see what the owner is trying to do with the place trying to make it homely with lovely pictures, and teddies on the bed etc. Microwave, fridge and oven need to b cleaned better. Would go again though, won't b beaten on price!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bdglm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Came across this farm purely by chance and decided to take a look. Was absolutely brilliant seeing the variety of different animals, all who seemed so happy. Still chuckle at the ducks following us around!

Were this to be near a city, it would be mobbed!

Without a doubt the bet value visit we had in the whole week, and so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
2  Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craig Highland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Highland Farm

Address: Plockton IV52 8UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Plockton
Price Range: $163 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craig Highland Farm Hotel Plockton
Craig Highland Farm Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing