We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memory for Life”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Highland Farm
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Memory for Life”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in the small beach cottage with our dog. The views were out of this world. It felt as though we were alone on the planet at times, with the mountain behind us and the tidal loch in front of us, plus the mountains on the horizon and the weather changing the skyline every minute (rainbows to die for!!), The secret island in front of us was magical and Skye to the left was breathtaking. Eagles soared over us during the day, playful Otters in the loch in the evening, then the Pine Martens at night came to take their supper from the cottage windowsill. The Llamas were hilarious in their antics, creeping up on you at every turn and staring in through the windows. Calum navigating the Sula Mhor on the loch was also a treat and if you speak to him nicely he will take you as close as possible to your cottage at high tide so that you can view it from another angle. I find some of the reviews on here to be the opposite of what we experienced regarding cleanliness of the cottage. We found ours to be immaculate. The first thing I do is check the toilet and the fridge/oven. All were pristine. The crockery/cutlery provided also up to date and sparkling. The bedding was professionally laundered and crisp with an extremely comfortable mattress. All appliances were working fine. My only complaint could perhaps be that as the tourist train passes behind the cottage a couple of times a day - if you are in the shower (which I was when it came past at one point!!), due to the angle of the bathroom window this perhaps could invade privacy. The cottage is a short beautiful walk from Plockton village. We intended to travel so much while we stayed there but Plockton and the cottage itself made us just want to stay there and soak up the atmosphere. I cannot recommend a cottage more highly. If you need peace this is the only place to be. The lady who owns the place is absolutely lovely too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    11
    2
    8
See reviews for
23
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

And that place is Craig Highland Farm! Stayed in the Thatched Cottage (autumn) for the second time and it just gets better and better. The accommodation is so cosy, clean and well equipped. The weather, scenery and colours were stunning to the point of being moving. Together with the tranquility, it truly is a winning formula. PMM

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMM600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Most chilled out place in the country. Down on the beach with the llamas, you cannot beat it, waking up with the oyster catchers calling. Otters on the little island for early risers and such amazing paece and quite.

Room Tip: really good hospitaiity from the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in the larger of the two cottages down by the loch. Excellent location with stunning views of Loch Carron from our cottage with a heronry on a wooded island of Scots Pine just off the shore. The sea is around 25 meters from the cottage depending on the tide which made for launching the kayak an easy business. There is a fair sized grass area around the cottage making this a safe area for our dogs to roam around in.
Regarding the animal life we left out marmalade sandwiches each night for the pine martin but no luck in seeing him although he did eat his supper each night. We did see otters hunting by the island and a number of passing seals when out having a fire on the beach of an evening. Make sure to take bird feed and fat balls as the local bird life is quite varied.
The place as a whole is laid back and very friendly and Patti couldn't have been more helpful. We found the holiday very relaxing with the accomodation cozy, clean, well equiped and very good value. By the way the village of Plockton is only around three miles away so if you are going make sure to visit Plockton Shores on the main street for excellent food and great service. Calum's boat trip is also a must if you want to see even more of the local wildlife.
We have booked for next year prior to leaving.
Stan and Linda Phillips and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place is Beautiful, the three bed lodge has everything u need. Great for kids of all ages. Lodge needs a deeper clean, I would say its ok, we got used to it after a day or so. Take some dettol and give it a quick clean and it will b fine. Bedding smelled fresh which made everything ok.

I can see what the owner is trying to do with the place trying to make it homely with lovely pictures, and teddies on the bed etc. Microwave, fridge and oven need to b cleaned better. Would go again though, won't b beaten on price!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bdglm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Came across this farm purely by chance and decided to take a look. Was absolutely brilliant seeing the variety of different animals, all who seemed so happy. Still chuckle at the ducks following us around!

Were this to be near a city, it would be mobbed!

Without a doubt the bet value visit we had in the whole week, and so enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

So looked forward to our well deserved holiday. After unloading of food & luggage in large beach cottage, (to which you need to cross a rail track & steep stoney steps not suitable for disabled persons) we decided to eat out in Plockton to which there is the BEST fish & chip shop in Harbour st. Highly recommend 4X4 vehicles only to use track down to parking area for beach cottages, our vehicle had its front tyre shredded on our first day there by using the track back up to main road. Park at the entrance to Craig Farm and save yourself the expense of replacing a tyre.
Pine Martin is a frequent visitor if you leave any food out on the windowsill, he is particulary keen on homemade curry, fish n chips, bread, tatties, rice, hotdogs etc. Disappointed with the accommodation, broken scissors, broken light on stairs, toilet handle very temperamental, brown water in bathroom, cups chipped, glass cracked, doors don't close properly, no lock on bathroom and very temperamental shower, cold water tap in bathroom very stiff to work, leaking tiles in bathroom causes drips in livingroom beam and your expected to dispose of all your rubbish/recycling yourself. We felt that all of these problems are being overlooked in order that the location itself sells the holiday. Our little girl fell badly on the ground because of rough road, surely a bit of money could be invested in order to fix the road. We paid very good money for the week and were disappointed with the standard of cottage when these problems could quite easily be fixed. Needs a little TLC. The farm animals are a delight to watch and feed, especially Elvis the Peacock, who loves to show off. There is a good selection of books, dvd's, videos, but poor mobile phone coverage.

Room Tip: Go if you are a wildlife enthusiast, but don't if you are over concerned about quality of accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craig Highland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Highland Farm

Property: Craig Highland Farm
Address: Plockton IV52 8UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craig Highland Farm Hotel Plockton
Craig Highland Farm Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing