We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic area, iffy accommodation.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craig Highland Farm
Reviewed June 30, 2012

So looked forward to our well deserved holiday. After unloading of food & luggage in large beach cottage, (to which you need to cross a rail track & steep stoney steps not suitable for disabled persons) we decided to eat out in Plockton to which there is the BEST fish & chip shop in Harbour st. Highly recommend 4X4 vehicles only to use track down to parking area for beach cottages, our vehicle had its front tyre shredded on our first day there by using the track back up to main road. Park at the entrance to Craig Farm and save yourself the expense of replacing a tyre.
Pine Martin is a frequent visitor if you leave any food out on the windowsill, he is particulary keen on homemade curry, fish n chips, bread, tatties, rice, hotdogs etc. Disappointed with the accommodation, broken scissors, broken light on stairs, toilet handle very temperamental, brown water in bathroom, cups chipped, glass cracked, doors don't close properly, no lock on bathroom and very temperamental shower, cold water tap in bathroom very stiff to work, leaking tiles in bathroom causes drips in livingroom beam and your expected to dispose of all your rubbish/recycling yourself. We felt that all of these problems are being overlooked in order that the location itself sells the holiday. Our little girl fell badly on the ground because of rough road, surely a bit of money could be invested in order to fix the road. We paid very good money for the week and were disappointed with the standard of cottage when these problems could quite easily be fixed. Needs a little TLC. The farm animals are a delight to watch and feed, especially Elvis the Peacock, who loves to show off. There is a good selection of books, dvd's, videos, but poor mobile phone coverage.

Room Tip: Go if you are a wildlife enthusiast, but don't if you are over concerned about quality of accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

This place is amazing the from the view to the experience i loved every second of it. The beach cottage isnt perfect a few imperfections but then again what home is? I GAURENTEE anyone who stays here will be well looked after, feel relaxed and won't want to leave. My family has been going for the past 3 years and intend to keep going nohing has went wong during our stay. Craig highland farm has given me and the other 10 members of my family memories that could never be forgotton.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

This is our second trip to the beach cottages and another fantastic visit. Great weather and wonderful views across the loch watching seals and an otter. Great trip around the Applecross peninsula and many wonderful trips onto Skye. Once again Patti couldn't be more helpful with a great knowledge of the local area. I'm sure we'll be back again!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EllenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stopped off here on our drive from Skye to Applecross. We stayed for 3 hours and it cost us £4 for 3 big bags of animal feed. The site was not as bad as previous reviews suggest and the animals looked healthy enough. We never saw closely the standard of accommodation so can't comment on that. The one greviance we did have was the huge owl in the netting like tent structure. It could fly, it wasn't disabled but it was limited to moving around in maybe the size of a garage, it just didn't look right.

It's a shame really, a bit of money and some effort and this potentially magical place could be transformed. And by doing it up they could easily justify at least doubling the entry fees - £1.50 per adult & £1 per child is all it cost us in and you got animal feed with that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Spent many a weekend/week here with the family as well as just me and the hubby, even enjoyed 2week honeymoon here. Love this place, patti and terry are lovely people who never stop working, don't know where they get the energy. Looking forward to my next fortnight trip in july :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clairebellx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Was up for weekend in march amazing as usual back up in April then again for 2 weeks in July plus i will fit in a few more weekends before end of year well worth my four hour drive love the place and the best owners aswell so kind if you havnt been it's a must

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RABBELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

There are some reviews on here that make me wonder why these people wish to leave their spotless and obviously highly organised lives. Maybe going to stay in a log cabin in the highlands isnt for them! I can only say if you like landscape, paddling, views, atmosphere, relaxing and friendly hosts, this is superb, I found the accomodation very good, clean, everthing worked and the owners were great, in fact Patti could not have been more accomodating, she offered us an extra couple of days for free when a cancellation occured, use of her pick up to take our kayaks to the beach, and when my boys asked for a peacock feather she said she would send one on later, she sent 4 when they moulted 6 weeks later...Im not sure what people expect, but I certainly got more than I expected and would highly recommend this place to relaxed families who like to do their own thing and enjoy the highlands and relaxed hosts. Maybe not for anal OCD sufferers! (By the way the pine martin was spectacular and didnt see any mice.) Brilliant, going again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ranald8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craig Highland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig Highland Farm

Address: Plockton IV52 8UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Plockton
Price Range: $159 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Craig Highland Farm Hotel Plockton
Craig Highland Farm Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing