We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Sidings was ideal!”

Review of The Sidings

Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
The Sidings Kitchen/dinning room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Plockton Bay is a 10 minute walk from the Sidings
The Sidings
Kitchen/dinning room
Welcome pack on arrival
Livingroom
Ground floor bedroom
Twin room upstairs
Double master bedroom
Bathroom with bath & shower
Open fire - warm and cosy
Plockton village
Our highland cattle
Boat trip
Plockton sunset over Skye
View from Plockton to the Isle of Skye
Plockton main street
Plockton bay
Plockton main street
Plockton beach near the sidings
Plockton regatta
Plockton bay
Plockton sailing
Plockton thatched cottage
Plockton street party
Plockton in the snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deborah S
Cimarron, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Sidings was ideal!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Plockton and specifically The Sidings for a week long stay based on positive reviews. We were not disappointed! We were a 3 generation family of 6 and the Sidings provided us with a spotlessly clean, charming and comfortable place to base ourselves and explore the Highlands and Skye for a week. I was a little concerned about just one bathroom, but that proved not to be a problem. When we arrived, there was a welcome basket from our hosts, Thomas & Julie which we really enjoyed. The cottage was stocked with everything we needed. Thank you so much Thomas & Julie for helping to make our adventures in Scotland wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janemStoc...
stockport
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage in idyllic village”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The Sidings, as its name suggests is right next to Plockton railway station & line. The 6.38 train from Kyle of Lochalsh serves as an alarm clock, in a very good way. There is plenty to get up for in Plockton and the surrounding Lochalsh area.
The Sidings is a very comfortable and well equipped holiday cottage. It has everything needed for a family holiday.
It is a 15 minute walk down to the beautiful village and uphill on the way back, but that just helps to burn off the calories from the excellent food to be found in the 3 hotels/restaurants.
We would love to have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and well equipped cottage
Liked least: 15 min walk to the sea
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann b
lichfield
1 review
“Couldn't have been better for us”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Chose the Sidings due to proximity of station.( we didn't have a car) and it worked out better than we could have expected. Lovely, well equipped cosy cottage, lacked nothing. We were also greeted with a welcome pack with food and a bottle of wine! We had very poor weather but managed to cheer ourselves up with coal fires in the evening and warm, well equipped place to stay. Thomas and Julie very helpful We were met at the station and when one of our party could not get into her case, (lost padlock key!) Thomas was straight over with wire cutters and a smile.
Thanks for a lovely week. We can't blame the rain on Plockton. It is the most wonderful spot!
PS The train journey from Inverness to Plockton was a real treat. Thanks Michael Portillo for your TV train journey programme!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coal fire on a cold day!
Liked least: Having only one toilet/bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_8tkn
doune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Base for Highland Exploration”
Reviewed May 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

First time we have stayed at The Sidings, but won't be the last. Very well appointed cottage, very clean and extremely quite.Owners are accomodating and we were pleasantly surprised by the ample "welcome pack". Evenings spent by the roaring coal fire were most enjoyable. Plockton Inn with its great seafood only a short 5 minute walk.
A great base for our cycling adventures, only spoilt by the torrential downpours on Sunday !! Many thanks and see you next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like a home from home.
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2012
I was very happy you enjoyed your stay. We try to make it as comfortable as we can for our guests. Hope to see you again

Thanks again

Thomas & Julie (The Sidings)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali_59
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

The Sidings is a superb holiday rental cottage. It is very cosy and immaculately clean. Every possible thing you could need on a breakaway has been thought of! The very generous welcome basket was full of tasty goodies – it sums up the amount of care and effort the owners put into this cottage.
We hope to return very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMacdon...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic! - Cant wait to return, have already booked another stay!!”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We had an abosolutely amazing holiday at The Sidings! The house is located in a quiet street a short walk from the main centre of the village. Booking was a breeze and the owners were fantastic to deal with. The house was spotless and had everything we needed to really enjoy our holiday. The living room was cosy and welcoming (a great place to sit and relax after a day out walking) and the kitchen/ dining room was well laid out and had everything you could possible need. I cant recommend The Sidings enough and we have already booked to come and stay again later in the year!

Plockton is a great holiday destination and we cant wait to return! The village is simply breathtaking, with the water lapping up against the gardens and the palm trees it is a photographers dream. There are lots of nice walks around the village itself especially coral beach (which was only minutes from our cottage and was like being in the med!) and the walk around the point at rhu-more. For the more adventurous walker, Skye and the Cuillins are only 20 mins away and the five sisters about 45 mins. On one of the days we went across to Applecross which was really good (although the road to get there is a bit scary if you dont like heights!!)

The weather was gorgeous when we were there and we hope we get more of the same when we return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole cottage was great, l cant fault it.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 17, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving the comment on trip adviser, glad you enjoyed your stay. Very much appreciated.

Thomas (The Sidings)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing