We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”

Plockton Seal Trips
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was a great trip! Our Timberbush tour guide recommended it, and I'm so glad he did. The area around Plockton is absolutely gorgeous, and the opportunity to see seals up-close was special. The captain and crew are very friendly and personable. A relaxing, beautiful, fun, approx. hour-long boat trip all for £10. A must-stop if you're traveling near the Isle of Skye.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa-MichTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    30
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable seal spotting trip!”
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Whilst on holiday at the beginning of August we decided to go on a seal spotting trip in the seas and lochs of the Plockton coastline. Many of the locals had particularly recommended Calum's trip, as it is the longest running sea trip company in the Skye and Ross-shire region.

We decided to take the first trip of the day at 10:30 on a Monday morning, which set sail from the pontoon in the small harbour area near the main car park as your enter Plockton from the South.

Upon boarding the boat, which can take up to 65 passengers, Calum introduced himself and the other crew member. He was very friendly and made everyone feel welcome. It soon became obvious that he had an expert knowledge of the local area, which coupled with his sense of humour, made for a really entertaining trip. He also was thoughtful in providing blankets, as it was a chilly day.

During the trip which lasted just over an hour, we were taken to many parts of the coastline and small islands with seal colonies. Additionally, we were able to spot other wildlife indigenous to these waters, including sea eagles, herons and leaping sea-trout. Apparently you can sometimes see otters as well, but on our particular trip we were not that lucky.

Other information that may be of use to you if you are reading this is that there are four tours each day and it operates seven days a week during the summer season. Each tour costs £10 per adult and £6 for children, however Calum will give you the trip for free if you don't see any seals. So you are pretty much assured to see seals. There are also refreshment facilities on board as well as a toilet.

Overall, we really enjoyed our trip with Calum and would happily recommend Calum's seal trips to anyone and will hopefully be taking another trip with him, when we next return in future.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank filthurlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Callum's Seal Trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great trip and value for money. If you don't see seals you don't pay!! Callum and his daughter were very friendly and the banter was good. Recommended for all ages. Views of the islands and across to Skye were beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“So many seals !!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Tour with the Mc Kenzie family on the boat. We have seen may seals, nice boat tour, very cool, no stress.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank labandedesquatres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must when in Plockton”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Great and informative trip round the bay with a very friendly and funny Captain Callum. Saw many seals. You are offered your money back if no seals are seen. The trip is still worth it even if you don't see any seals, though I doubt that ever happens. Think it was £10 per adult, great value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaretwithBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Seal Trips also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
 
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plockton Seal Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing