We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Highlands!”
Review of Tigh Arran B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Arran B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2011

We were looking for a place to stay out in the Highlands, but one that was accessible by public transportation. The best decision we made in our Itinerary was picking Tigh Arran
Our 2nd floor bedroom was spacious,tastefully decorated and spotless with large ensuite bathroom. The view was AWESOME,by day overlooking the hills and fields with Highland cows and sheep and in the evening ,picturesque sunsets over the Cuillins. We took a long stroll through the quaint village of Duirnish,with it's old stone farmhouses and even a babbling brook,stopping at a local artist's wee shop to purchase a few local prints. The village of Plockton is a short taxi ride away,with it's palm tree lined main road and several excellent restaurants for lunch or supper. For 8 pounds you can take an hour long boat ride around the harbour and see the seals and more wonderful scenery.
My Mom had broken her wrist the week before,and Mary and Iain went above and beyond to help us any way they could. Mary's breakfast's were delicious and Isabella was a great help and good company. We felt as if we were part of the family while there,and would not hesitate to return again! Helen and Siobhan Beeton

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 182 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2010

A lovely, friendly B&B in a tiny, gorgeous village called Duirnish. The peace and quiet was just amazing. A little stream flows through the centre of the village and Highland cattle graze in the green fields. In the distance lies the Isle of Skye. All very beautiful!
Our hosts Ian, Mary and Isabella were very friendly and our room and en-suite bathroom was comfortable and clean. Mary made us a great breakfast. Her oats porridge was delicious.
Duirnish is very close to Plockton where we had a fantastic dinner at the Plockton Shores Restaurant where Mary works. For desert we had the absolutely best pavlova I ever tasted! I would love to have the recipe, but it probably wouldn't taste the same anyway! The service was excellent too. It was the best meal we had in Scotland and we had some really good ones.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAV082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigh-arran, Owner at Tigh Arran B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2011

thank you for your review. we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us in our bed and breakfast and the lovely quiet village and hope you will visit again.
kind regards
iain, mary and isabella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed for three nights with my partner. The double bedroom was large, spotless and with a great shower. The view from the window was amazing. My partner kept taking more and more photos (as the day and light changed the views).
Breakfast was big with lots of options and you make your choice the evening before so it is all ready for you in the morning. A good idea!
Iain, Mary and their daughter are welcoming without being intrusive. They are happy to help and advise. You also have the use of the lounge with stove and it was so cozy :)
I would suggest eating at Plockton Hotel and Plockton Shores. Both were very good restaurants.
This was a lovely wee break away and comes highly recommended.........

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

It's hard to imagine anything better. A lovely room, use of a lounge with a view - and we were blessed with a glorious sunset. Breakfast was great. Mary is a great host, and her daughter delightful.We loved the Highland cattle and the seaside at Plockton. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

A beautiful and comfortable B&B. Fantastic view from the room where we had delicious breakfast. The room we stayed in was spacious and beautifully presented. It's close to picturesque village of Plockton where we had wonderful dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Tigh-Arran is a very nice BB, a bit outside Plockton, with great view; confortable room; good breakfast; and you MUST have dinner at Plockton Shores where Mary herself is serving (taste the scallops ,..). Mary and Ian are adorable sincere persons (ask Ian to explain you the Tartan motifs).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulnewmanLYON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

During June 2010 my wife and I made a trip up the east coast of Scotland and slow return along the beautiful west coast. We stayed for one or two nights at eleven B & B's all picked based upon good TripAdvisor reviews. We saw this as a good way of testing how reliable T A was as well as improving our chances of finding above average accommodation.
TripAdvisor did not let us down. All of our chosen B & B's were of an acceptable standard although some did stand out and deserve a special mention here.
I would urge all travellers to post their findings, good or bad as TA is (or has) become the way by which all are judged and reviews positive or negative can only improve the standard of accommodation throughout the UK. It certainly helped us.
By the way - I do not work for Tripadvisor!
We spent two nights at Tigh Arran where we were made most welcome by Mary and Ian.
This is very much a modern family home, informal, spotlessly clean, with good sized bedrooms.
Breakfasts were tasty and filling enough to set us up for the day.
Ian and Mary could not do enough for us and even invited us into their own rooms to watch a TV channel which we could not get in our room or on the TV in the spacious lounge.
Isobella helped serve breakfast and is a credit to her mum and dad.
Duirnish is a charming village where the Dobsons Highland cattle drink from the little stream which runs through the middle.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielDefoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
635 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Haven Guest House
The Haven Guest House
#1 of 14 in Plockton
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seabank Bed & Breakfast
Seabank Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 14 in Plockton
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Arran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Arran B&B

Address: Duirnish, Plockton IV40 8BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range: $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Arran is a bed and breakfast with modern, spacious en-suite rooms situated near Plockton in the northwest highlands of Scotland in the picturesque crofting village of Duirinish. With an elevated position it has a remarkable panoramic view of the sound of Raasay, of course the Isle of Skye and its world famous cuillin mountain range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Arran B&B Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing