We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable stay, great hospitality and really friendly hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh Arran B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh Arran B&B
Ranked #2 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An enjoyable stay, great hospitality and really friendly hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

During June 2010 my wife and I made a trip up the east coast of Scotland and slow return along the beautiful west coast. We stayed for one or two nights at eleven B & B's all picked based upon good TripAdvisor reviews. We saw this as a good way of testing how reliable T A was as well as improving our chances of finding above average accommodation.
TripAdvisor did not let us down. All of our chosen B & B's were of an acceptable standard although some did stand out and deserve a special mention here.
I would urge all travellers to post their findings, good or bad as TA is (or has) become the way by which all are judged and reviews positive or negative can only improve the standard of accommodation throughout the UK. It certainly helped us.
By the way - I do not work for Tripadvisor!
We spent two nights at Tigh Arran where we were made most welcome by Mary and Ian.
This is very much a modern family home, informal, spotlessly clean, with good sized bedrooms.
Breakfasts were tasty and filling enough to set us up for the day.
Ian and Mary could not do enough for us and even invited us into their own rooms to watch a TV channel which we could not get in our room or on the TV in the spacious lounge.
Isobella helped serve breakfast and is a credit to her mum and dad.
Duirnish is a charming village where the Dobsons Highland cattle drink from the little stream which runs through the middle.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielDefoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
105
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiltern Hills
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

Booked a one-night stay here based on the previous excellent reviews and were not disappointed. My partner, on arrival, was immediately persuaded by Isabella, (not yet four!) to learn how to fly a kite, which kept him occupied for quite some time. Iain is the perfect host, very informative about the locality and wildlife. When he found we hadn't a reservation for dinner, he telephoned and made one for us at the Plockton Inn, even though it was live music night and very busy. Mary's breakfast the following morning was delicious, and I can thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay. I wish we'd been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at Tigh Arran. We were a party of 6 ranging from age 2 to 64. The Dobsons offer incredible hospitality at their place on the hill overlooking Duirnish and over the water to Skye. Our children were made to feel so welcome, we enjoyed relaxing in the guest sitting room, our bedrooms were lovely and the views were incredible. There is plenty to do on the doorstep from coastal walks out the front door, to touring Skye, Applecross, Loch Ness - it is a perfect base.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NantucketGirl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

Tigh Arran is a beautiful family-run b&b, in a great position on the edge of tiny picturesque town Duirnish and close to Skye and Applecross for day trips., and Plockton for some great restaurants. We were welcomed into the home- Mary and Ian were so friendly. The owners were happy to take us down to see their herd of beautiful Highland cows. Rooms and bathrooms were spacious and nicely decorated, but we enjoyed spending time in the lounge area in front of the cost fireplace. Breakfast was delicious. highlight was the spectacular view over the water with the mountains on Skye in the distance. This has to be the best b&b we have stayed a in the uk and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

Tigh Arran is a first class, modern B&B located in a small crofting village just minutes away from the beautiful coastal village of Plockton. Hosts Iain and Mary made us feel very comfortable, took time to explain crofting, suggested places to visit and generally were very hospitable. The house is new and modern, the guest rooms very clean and well appointed with en-suite bathrooms and the breakfast cooked by Mary was excellent. The views from the front of the house are spectacular. This place is Ideally located for day trips to Plockton, Skye, Eilean Donan castle, Applecross and Loch Ness. Thoroughly recommend a stay at Tigh Arran as a base or just to relax and enjoy the comforts.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiandyMountGambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

Having travelled Scotland for 3 weeks we experienced many different places, hosts and guest houses and appreciated this as one of the best. The rooms offered are more than spacious, modern and well decorated, the lounge is brilliant and Mary's breakfast is delicious.
Not to mention the stunning views and the superb food at the "Plockton Shores" and the other small restaurants nearby.
We especially liked the warm welcome into a very friendly family's home and Iain being helpful organizing different activities and giving advice on what to do and see in the area.

We truly recommend this B&B to everybody who wants to explore the Plockton area - it's worth a stopover!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gruefli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

Mary, Ian and young Isabella ensured that a recent weekend break with my 85-year-old father-in-law, my husband and my 10-year-old daughter in the Plockton area was one of the best my family has had. We were lucky enough to find this B&B through word of mouth and we would most definitely recommend it to others. We were also lucky enough to enjoy three days of fantastic weather. The B&B's location at Duirnish, just a mile or so from Plockton, afforded the stunning views across the Atlantic and to the Isle of Skye. In my opinion, the views at Duirnish are far better than those from Plockton itself. The two large, en-suite guest rooms (one conveniently located downstairs) were modern, clean and beautifully styled. The guests also had their own living room and dining area, again with the fabulous view through each window. The breakfast was excellent. And, above all, the owners could not do enough to make out stay extremely enjoyable. This B&B has only just started out in business but I'm sure that through recommendations it will become one of the most popular in the area. It was great value for money, too. Having travelled extensively throughout my life I know a good B&B when I find one. And this one was ideal – small but perfectly formed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fionaoutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
1.9 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel Eilean Iarmain
3.2 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Arran B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Arran B&B

Property: Tigh Arran B&B
Address: Duirnish, Plockton IV40 8BE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Arran is a bed and breakfast with modern, spacious en-suite rooms situated near Plockton in the northwest highlands of Scotland in the picturesque crofting village of Duirinish. With an elevated position it has a remarkable panoramic view of the sound of Raasay, of course the Isle of Skye and its world famous cuillin mountain range. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh Arran B&B Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing