We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit all the right notes”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shieling

The Shieling
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plockton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shieling
Ranked #14 of 14 Plockton B&B and Inns
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Hit all the right notes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Stayed one night at this small but excellently appointed bed and breakfast. A comfortable bed and adequate shower room made for a good nights sleep. The house is situated on the edge of the village within easy walking distance of a number of eating places for dinner. We ate at 'Plockton Shores' which was good value and provided a wel;l thought out menu. Breakfast at the Shieling was more than adequate and included freshly baked bread and a host of cooked choices. A warm welcome and a good value for money tariff leads us to recommend this very strongly either as a stop en route or as a base for exploring this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

A wee gem of a place. The rooms were spotless and the food was excellent. John and Jane are the definition of highland hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for them. A very friendly and warm welcome awaits you here. The views were fantastic from our room and the flowers that were in bloom in the garden just added to the tranquility of the Shieling.
Thanks for a wonderful stay in a wonderful setting

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shalako42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

The Shieling was spotlessly clean and the service from Jane was excellent. A bit of updating might help but it was more than acceptable. It's setting was one of the most delightful places we have visited with Loch views from every window. We shall certainly go back for another stay as soon as possible.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

The Shieling is a wonderfully homely and comfortable way to spend time in Plockton. From the outset you will fall in love with the location. The B&B is located right by the water and the garden is so beautiful that it makes you want to stopover. While the rooms are fairly basic, they are clean and provide all that you need. Jane is a terrific host and she makes a great breakfast to order. Well worth checking this one out.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andricScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plockton
4.9 mi away
Kyle Hotel
Kyle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kyle of Lochalsh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.8 mi away
Tingle Creek Hotel
Tingle Creek Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erbusaig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Balmacara Hotel
Balmacara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balmacara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cuillin Hills Hotel
Cuillin Hills Hotel
#1 of 5 in Portree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
24.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shieling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shieling

Property: The Shieling
Address: The Shieling Cooper St., Plockton IV52 8TL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Plockton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Plockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Shieling Plockton, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing