We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTING SERVICE”

Plockton Shores Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SLIGHTLY DISAPPOINTING SERVICE”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a good restaurant although some of dishes are a bit rich. They are competently cooked. Wines are good although the wine list could be better. Service is poor - tardy and inattentive. On the whole I would avoid this and go to the two pubs in Plockton which are better value and have nicer rooms (the ambience is more reminiscent of a posh suburb than the west coast of Scotland).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank reiver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    179
    34
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gem of a place”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wouldn't be out of place in the heart of any city. Excellent seafood and steaks served by friendly smiling staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were lucky to turn up and get a table in summer, best to book. This restaurant is just perfect: great atmosphere, really tasty fresh food, and friendly efficient service. I would highly recommend the seafood platter but the whole menu looked appetising. Desserts were good but not quite in the same league as the mains.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“freshest seafood ever”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We come from an area with seafood. What made our meal here so special was simple preparation of fresh seafood. We got the platter of mussels, langouistines, oysters, scallops, and crab. It was superb. But we also enjoyed the first courses of smoked venison and another of scallops and pork belly. Wonderful. Sticky toffee pudding for dessert. On our way out made a reservation for tomorrow. We want to try their meats. Locally produced food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I would really recommend this place. We had a lovely meal here. The seafood was fresh and tasty. It was busy when we arrived so we had to wait an hour and a half for a table, but it was worth the wait. The desserts were yummy as well. If i went again I would book a table in advance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank julesA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Shores Restaurant also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plockton Shores Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing