We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lucky find!”

Plockton Shores Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $46
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Sevenoaks, Kent, Uk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A lucky find!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

For a very small village, there is quite a bit of choice for diners in Plockton, but it's extremely popular in summer, so it's best to book. We hadn't, and were just about to despair of finding anywhere to eat when we popped our heads in at the Plockton Shores, liked what we saw, and as luck would have it, they had just had a cancellation, so in we went. I agree with previous reviewers, this is far and away the best in Plockton, the menu is imaginative, seasoning of the food is spot on and the presentation is very good indeed. Though the restaurant was very busy, the service was efficient and friendly, I wish we had discovered this earlier in our stay, we would have eaten there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alastairl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    175
    34
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Easily the best around”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Consistently & easily the best place to eat for miles. Inventive menus & sensible prices, well run, good service, outstanding situation. Knocks spots off the Plockton Inn & Hotel who complacently just don't seem to try.

Have dined here many times, really wish there were more places like this in the Highlands.

Helpful?
Thank MartOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our second eating experience in Plockton and a distinct improvement. You get the feeling that the staff and management really care about their customers and the food they serve. The menu is imaginative and delivers what it promises. All in all a very good experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank railbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this place!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We ate here twice on our recent holiday to Plockton. Both meals were excellent. They specialise in fish & seafood but have a varied menu so don't be put off if fish is not your thing. Service friendly & efficient. And wine list quite reasonably priced. Best to book ahead as it is quite a small restaurant and very popular.
After dinner we enjoyed wandering round the very pretty village in the long summer evenings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizBroxburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a fantastic dinner here. Service was excellent. Menu choice very good. Plenty of fish on the menu. Beautifully prepared and served. Good choice of wine/

Altogether an excellent restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheManInTheM00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Shores Restaurant also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh
Applecross, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plockton Shores Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing