We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whooohoooo . BRILLIANT.”

Plockton Shores Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Plockton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $47
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Whooohoooo . BRILLIANT.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had two meals here, a Lunch and an evening meal. Attitude of all the staff was delightful. The food excellent and the paintings on the wall super. BIG RECOMMEND.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LlandyrnogLasWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    178
    34
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Probably the best in the area”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Have given it five stars because it is probably the best restaurant in the area.Food was excellent and good value for money, but they really should get a personality transfer for the young lad that greets you. This minor issue aside well worth the trip out to this picturesque village.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trusler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited today for Sunday lunch having very importantly it seems booked our table. I plumped for the Lamb on Stornoway black pudding on a bed of mash and my wife had the Cod. We both loved our dishes which were cooked to perfection. Vegetables were refreshingly well cooked and portion sizes and prices were reasonable. Service was with a smile and very professional and my only gripe would be that there are too many tables for the size of restaurant. It reminded me of London restaurants. Liked the decor as it has a modern and clean feel to it and the paintings are in keeping with the area. When it comes to food and service I am definately hard to please but I can honestly say that I can heartily recommend this restaurant without hesitation and will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The Cullen Skink is a little creamy but a worthy dish”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had lunch here and adored the food! I clicked 'no' to the "best meals in a restaurant" button but this is not a five star place but it is really good, tasty food that I enjoyed.

The place was packed - even mid-week and so the service was a little slow but homely acceptable. I hadn't had Cullen Skink before and I loved it. So much so that I will try to get their recipe and make it at home.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kangavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Wide choice of excellent food with efficient and pleasant service. But, we were here for one thing only - the skink - a thick and creamy Scottish soup made with smoked haddock. The Plockton Shores serves the best we have ever tasted. We ate here a few years ago and decided that should we find ourselves in the area again, we would certainly come back...and we did. Haggis, fish cakes and fish and chips also good. There was also a wonderful selection of cakes...perhaps afternoon tea another time. Plockton itself is charming and combined with a walk to Duncraig castle (approx 4 mile loop), a delightful day was had by all

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deka775533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plockton Shores Restaurant also viewed

Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
Plockton, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Plockton Shores Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing