We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a lovely location”
Review of The Craggan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Craggan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stopped off for a meal it was lovely food..good selection of snacks and standard range of bar meals. Hubby had fish and chips really well cooked, fresh produce (and gorgeous 'proper' chips), I had a burger and chips good quality meat, tasty salad and coleslaw, very generous portions and good value for money. The staff were friendly and efficient. Would deffo recommend, also they were serving meals all day. We had lovely coffees to finish..what a great wee find.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotslass71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

we reacently stayed at the craggan for a long weekend with friends i just want to thank Kate and all the staff for a wonderful stay. the location is beautiful the food was great the rooms clean yes we ahd to share a bathroom but it did not retracked from a lovely weekend. when we come up this way again we will stay with kate at the craggan.and good luck to florantina and yodal with the baby due in september.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We recently visited Scotland & stayed at The Craggan Hotel for 5 nights. We were made to feel very welcome on arrival & the staff were polite, professional & helpful. The owner had gone out of her way to make sure our toddler was comfortable. The food was exceptionally good & beautifully presented. We shared a bathroom but that didn't cause any problems. The hotel & rooms were kept clean & warm. I would recommend The Craggan Hotel to anyone wanting to visit or tour the North coast. There are plenty of spectacular sights to see, the area has plenty of history & the people were very welcoming! We shall return :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHolmes03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our recent road trip around scotland. After a long drive from Dornoch we arrived a little after 5pm in the pitch dark.
We entered the bar area of the hotel and were greeted by a member of staff, i believe his name was Alex. He was very welcoming and showed us to our room (room 4).
The room wasn't luxurious but very cosy with 2 single beds & plenty of room for us to fit the travel cot. None of the rooms are en suite and the shared bathroom was just down the hall. We quickly settled in and headed downstairs to enquire about dinner. We were advised we could sit in the bar or the restaurant and opted for the bar as it seemed comfy and diners were already in there. Having our 14month old daughter there wasn't an issue and Alex was great with her. We ordered 2 mains, the cheese plate for dessert & some drinks. When the food arrived it was first class and we were happy to be having our first freshly prepared meal in days. We would have loved to have stayed in the bar all night as the atmosphere was friendly and some locals had even come in but unfortunatly with a bored toddler we had to confine ourselves to our room watching tv. Unfortunatly we seemed to be incompentent and couldn't get it off STV but meant we weren't fighting over what to watch.
We settled into bed and had the best night sleep ever. The place is so quiet & relaxing.
Before retiring to our room the night before, we had been asked for our breakfast order & time. So it was just a case of arriving in the restaurant and taking a seat. We werent asked if we'd like tea or coffee and a pot of coffee was brought to the table but no sign of tea which was a bit disappointing but i probably should have asked.
Having arrived at night we didn't see the spectacular view this hotel offers. We were quick to finish our food and head outside to explore. I imagine in the summer this hotel is amazing. I noticed they had an outdoor seating area as well.
The staff all seemed very nice and the hotel was warm & welcoming. If i could brave the drive again, i'd stay here again!
Only downside really is the shared bathroom & i was a bit nervous to have a shower incase anyone else wanted in.

Room Tip: Only 4 bedrooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

After driving all day from Skye, we arrived at this outpost of comfort and gourmet food and were given a room where we could see the Orkney Islands through the passing rain squalls. There are only four rooms with a shared bathroom which seems to work well. Even though it was midweek, the dining room was busy with guests and locals.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

During our honeymoon through Scotland, after a long drive tired and desperate for a place to stay overnight Craggan hotel turned out to be the best choice. Little did I knew that in a such remote place in Scotland I would hear Romanian language hahaha it was just surreal. We had a night full of laughs and drinks next to a cozy fire and warm atmosphere offered by the family that makes Craggan hotel feel like home away from home. We left Craggan hotel after a scrumptious breakfast and planning to return sometime in the near future. Thank you to adding to a wonderful honeymoon travelling through Scotland.
Lilly and Kieron Traynor <3

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lacri Lilly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

the accomidation is not five star but the food, service, friendlyness, views and vistas are definatly five star. the walks are also great as is the fishing, star gazing at night and the mountains are all so close with Ben Hope and Ben Loyal the closest and you can go to the top of the mountian that Jeremy Clarkson left a Land Rover discovery up

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
2.9 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
381 reviews
3 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
391 reviews
7.3 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
219 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Craggan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Craggan Hotel

Address: | Skinnet, Melness, Tongue IV27 4YP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Craggan Hotel Tongue
The Craggan Hotel Tongue, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing