We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice place, very nice staff!”
Review of The Tongue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tongue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

At the end of a great day, travelling through the Northern Highlands with the Porsche, we looked for a place to stay for the night. There are not so many hotels up there. So we were very lucky that our first chance was this hotel. The people were very friendly, we druk some great drams and the dinner and breakfast were excellent! Very surprising in the best way.
We surely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maarten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2014

Dear Maarten K

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you thought the food and service were excellent.

You are right, there are not many hotels open in the winter up here. All too often folk seem put off by the thoughts of the single track roads and the weather; not realising that the roads are actually clear and safe and that whatever the weather this north coast has something amazing to offer. There may not be much of it in winter – but the light remains exceptional and for the past two winters the snow has generally remained on the hills making everywhere look stunning without any hassle factor!!

I remember that you were travelling in your lovely Porsche – now if that’s not proof enough that you don’t need a tractor or a 4x4 to get around then I don’t know what is! Perhaps you will inspire some more visitors northward after your review!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here on our way down the east coast having been unable to get ferries to Orkney. We were made very welcome the food was good and the bar well stocked. Staff all really friendly and thoughtful.

Room Tip: ask for room with views out over valley not road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveTHaslemereUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2014

Dear SteveTHaslemereUK

Whilst it was indeed a great pity that you missed out on Orkney; a fabulous place, it was however our fortune that you discovered The Tongue Hotel!

We are cheered by your positive reflections on your stay and delighted to read that you enjoyed both the bar and food!

We do hope you come and stay again when you reattempt your visit across the water!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were actually staying somewhere else in Tongue but this was the only place serving food when we arrived. I couldn't fault the service but we were delayed in having our order taken and receiving food as one other party arrived just before us. This would've been fine if our meals had been interesting but what was served felt rushed and amounted to disappointingly bland fare. On the plus side, the hotel itself had a great atmosphere and the waitress was very friendly and apologetic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pascale86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 11, 2014

Dear Pascale86

Oh dear it would seem that we disappointed you – that is certainly not our intention or a very good feeling. We are genuinely sorry that we did not get it right for you on this occasion

Certainly, during the winter our menu is not as extensive as the rest of the year however we also have significantly less guests with very different needs in the winter, so whilst we cannot offer an extended menu – neither do we want to. Let me explain....

It is our aim that to always offer freshly prepared locally sourced, quality produce; with a few minor exceptions everything we serve is prepared in our own kitchen. Our winter guests tell us they want to see heart warming, tasty, traditional winter dishes on the menu, they want food that is cooked to order and presented with care. After a bracing walk on a beach or an invigorating hill walk, or a freezing day on the hill shooting guests look forward to a simple, honest, hearty meal by the warm stove on their return.

I absolutely understand that this is not for everybody and for that I am sorry; the only assurance I can give you is that it does please our guests and locals alike. It would seem that this is one of the few occasions whereby I cannot promise change but I can assure you of our best intention to provide good food, good service and good value at all times.

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Not quite the old fashioned country hotel that I was looking forward to, but pleasant anyway. Our deal was two persons, two nights, two breakfasts, two dinners, two bottles of wine for £200 which was certainly a good deal. The food was excellent and far more than we could eat, the bedroom was large with a triple bay window overlooking the loch and mountains, over the roofs of the council houses, though very high winds were forcing their way through the gaps and much newspaper was needed to stuff the them. It is a shame that there was no comfortable lounge, though our room had a two seater settee. Good bathroom but tricky shower controls over the bath. Highly recommended.
Good location as base for long traffic free scenic drives through wild and magnificent country. The Smoo Caves are a 'must see'.

Room Tip: Choose room 12 for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

Dear Artjo

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at The Tongue Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you regarded the winter deal as good value for money. It is also great to read that you enjoyed your dining experience – even if your meals were deemed a little too hearty!

This winter the high winds (up to 90 mph) have certainly been a factor to contend with. Whilst the original windows are a beautiful part of the character and charm of this historic building; they do also throw up a few challenges. I have checked your room and noted that some of the insulation was missing and have since replaced this. The double blanket and blackout lined curtains and floor to ceiling curtains certainly provide plenty of protection as do the two room heaters – plus for extra measure the electric blanket. I myself like to be cosy in the winter, so it is high on my list of priorities for our guests! I have checked with subsequent guests who stayed in the same room as you and am happy to report that since I did the repairs there have been no other issues.

During the winter we change around the layout of the public rooms, we serve dinner in our lounge bar by the stove as it is more intimate than the big restaurant, in the conservatory we set up a games room with pool table to pass the dark nights away and perhaps not immediately obvious there are two big sofas in the bay window overlooking Castle Varrich where the chess board is all set up ready to play – we will make sure that we point them out from now on!

Thank you again for your review and for the recommendations that you made. There are not so many visitors to Tongue in the winter however I really think your review will genuinely help to entice a few more!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After not having visited for 2 years, another very enjoyable stay and tremendous winter rate value for money.

Great food, lovely ambience, pleasant bar, friendly staff. Room was particularly nice with an outlook on all 3 sides.

Room Tip: Room 8 has lovely outlook, and although above public bar this is shut in the winter so not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

Dear EPS2000

It is always a pleasure to welcome back a familiar face to the hotel! A returning guest is a real treat for us and a positive endorsement of the hotel.

Our autumn and winter deals are popular as they offer a little bit of luxury for less! I am reassured that you agree they offer tremendous value for money.

It is lovely to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay food, drink, ambience and the service. The Duke of Sutherland room that you stayed in; with its triple aspect views is often admired and requested by our frequent visitors – I am glad that you enjoyed it too.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Touch of class, staff helpful and polite, service second to none. Might look "tired" on the outside but inside, décor very tasteful, inviting and calming. Just the job after a 10 day tour of Scotland. Food and service excellent despite a big party of geologists in a partitioned room (nice touch). It is good to get back to good old English politeness and service which many of us have forgotten and younger people might never have experienced. The first time I have seen a carafe of Scotch at breakfast suggesting try a tot on your porridge, IT WAS GOOD. Wealth of information on the Highlands in the lounge suggesting days out and places of interest. Put this together with the magnificent scenery in the Highlands and you have a perfect combination. This hotel has got it right as far as we were concerned. We would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

Dear Daveandh

Oh! It was a joy to read your review, not just because we appreciate that you took the time to recommend us, or that you praised us so highly but because we also think it is the little things that count.....

We believe that the wee gestures like sweets, biscuits, bottled water and a little decanter of sherry in the room on arrival eloquently expresses to you that you are welcome, you are appreciated and we want you to enjoy your stay.

Our traditional values and courteous approach to customer service suitably reflect this beautiful old lodge however as they are delivered with a winning smile from a warm and friendly team the ambience remains relaxed and casual.

It is lovely that you noticed and appreciated our efforts – thank you!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a great hotel with friendly and helpful staff with good local knowledge would recommend this hotel to everybody.food was beautiful and good value for money.nice place for both young and old.views were out of this world.hope to be back someday.thank you for lovely stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grace1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 9, 2014

Dear Grace1985


Your review was most generous and very much appreciated!

This is indeed a stunning area with much to reward all who make the effort to get this far north! We are delighted to hear that you were so charmed and captivated by Sutherland, Tongue and the hotel too.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards
Lorraine and David Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
0.1 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
391 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
18.4 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.2 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
279 reviews
23.5 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
15.8 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathy
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tongue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tongue Hotel

Address: Tongue, Tongue IV27 4XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Price Range: $124 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Tongue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OPEN ALL YEAR! Nestled within the sleepy village of Tongue, overlooking the beautiful Kyle, the stunning Ben Loyal, and the gentle sweep of Ben Hope with Castle Varrich in the fore, the Tongue Hotel offers the visitor a glimpse of its glamorous past and reflects a bygone era. Whether you come here for hill climbing, stalking, angling or golfing, or you prefer to while away the hours reading a book or playing a board game in our cosy lounge bar, The Tongue Hotel can offer you a warm atmosphere, excellent service, comfort and an attention to detail. The hotel is a delightful former sporting lodge. Built in the late 1800s and owned by the Duke of Sutherland, the hotel boasts 19 unique bedrooms and many original features such as wood paneling, open fires, traditional antique furnishings, genuine exhibits and authentic paintings. Steeped in history, the hotel has a romantic, enchanting feel which delights and excites all who enter here. Hotel owners Lorraine and David and their enthusiastic team provide a warm atmosphere and attention to detail ensuring our guests leave with a lasting impression of this charming country house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Tongue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tongue Hotel Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing