We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tongue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bettyhill Hotel(Bettyhill)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bothy(Tongue)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Altnaharra Hotel(Altnaharra)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (403)
Filter reviews
403 results
Traveler rating
240
123
28
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
123
28
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgesuperior roomdecanter of sherrybrass tapworth the journeybar downstairsbefore dinnerlovely hotelno lifthope to returnowners and staffboard gamesdining roomporridgelovely touchrelaxed atmospherepublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 403 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pleasure to stay here. Room had been decorated sympathetically and had all amenities necessary. Even a welcome decanter of sherry! Staff very friendly and most helpful. Excellent breakfast selection. Even tot of whisky for morning porridge if needed. Evening meal in bar was tasty and filling, served by lovely staff. Wished we could have stayed longer but not possible now. Will surely return another day and would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
5  Thank TaffWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We loved the Tongue Hotel and I think it's one of the nicest small hotels I've ever stayed in.

The location is quite glorious, surrounded by mountains and lochs. The hotel has an "old" feel to it, with lots of wooden paneling and the odd deer head / ptarmigan attached to the walls.
We also really liked the furnishings which were very Scottish (ie. tartan)
Extremely nice manageress (who seemed to be everywhere!) and the staff were generally very helpful.
Our room was gorgeous with a nice old cupboard, good sized double bed with lovely soft sheets, a log fire and two comfy chairs - plus great views! We particularly liked the little decanter of sherry - a very nice touch.
Breakfast (which you pre-order the night before) was excellent. I thought I'd feel really full after porridge, toast and a full cooked breakfast, but actually the portions were just right.

The only reason I'm not giving this 5 stars is because of a few little problems : our bathroom needed to be upgraded and the shower head wouldn't stay fixed to the wall; we also weren't given any hand towels. Clearly some of the bathrooms have already been upgraded as our friend stayed in the room next door and she had a large walk in shower!
In addition, they don't accept cards - only cash/cheque (which wasn't actually a problem for us but might be for some people).

I'd love to come back to Tongue, just to stay in the Tongue Hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chutey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A return visit to a terrific hotel. It has an authentic scottish country atmosphere but isn't the least bit overpowering. Very friendly and welcoming owners who go out of their way to be helpful. Our room was huge with wonderful views. I thought the price was extremely reasonable for such memorable accomodation. The breakfast was excellent. My only regret was that at the moment they are not serving restaurant meals in the hotel, although the food in the bar downstairs was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Tongue Hotel is a fine building overlooking the Kyle of Tongue - formerly a hunting lodge owned by the Dukes of Sutherland. The owners are doing a wonderful job gradually upgrading the building and improving the interior design.

We loved staying here. The hotel gave us a very warm welcome, and installed us in a huge bedroom with views of the castle and the loch. There’s sherry in the rooms, and free wi-fi in the main reception area.

During our stay the main restaurant was not in operation, but we ate at the hotel’s bar, which has great home-cooked food and is open throughout the year.

This is a terrific base from which to explore the north coast of Scotland.

Room Tip: We loved room 18
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Formerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our third visit to the Tongue Hotel and hopefully it will not be our last. As others have said the welcome is exceptional, the location stunning and the comfort exactly as one would expect for the hotel that last year won the accolade of being the best small hotel in the whole of Scotland. If it were anywhere less remote this hotel would be booked out every night. Luckily for those prepared to travel it continues to offer a wonderful base for the exploration of the very far north of Britain.
Lorraine and David are very hopeful that they will be able to open their lovely restaurant soon. In the meantime, the meals in the bar are good plain Scottish fare, and where else do you get offered whisky and cream with your porridge?.
Don and Elizabeth Adlington

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank EAA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews