We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great views”
Review of Ben Loyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had one night at Ben Loyal, only found 2 hotels to choose from, views were fantastic, room was clean, very comfortable and spacious. Service in restaurant was very slow, waited 1 hr for meal and it was not overly busy, sadly dinner was awful, requested one vegetarian meal, which was a stir fry soaked in soy sauce, and the chewiest steak ever. Staff very good though and made a real effort to make up for quite frankly inedible meal..pamela

Room Tip: worth it for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nandita-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear Pamela, thank you for your feedback. We were surprised to hear that you were disappointed with your vegetarian meal, our chef is very accommodating of vegetarians and after speaking to our staff to address your complaints, we were informed that you were offered several vegetarian options not available on the menu. After declining the options and letting us know what you wanted, the dish itself was made with an array of different ingredients, often used in similar dishes of which we’ve had no complaints. We would advise that in future you inform staff when you are checking in of dietary requirements to provide more advanced notice to hopefully produce something you will enjoy. We do admit, however, that we don’t get it right every time and were sorry you were disappointed. This is why we did not charge you for your meal and reduced the cost of your room, which is above and beyond what many establishments would have done to compensate. We’re pleased however that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope to see you back here again for an improved experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 391 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

We booked a twin room with view an the extra £5 cost was well worth it. The views are spectacular.

The room was very clean, and quite spacious. A little dated perhaps, but can one really complain considering the cost and the shortage of accommodation in the area?! My only small gripe was the quality of the curtains, which was poor, and they couldn't shut properly. It took forever to run a hot bath.

On arrival we ordered sandwiches, tea and coffee, which came to the room promptly and was beautifully presented. Evening meal excellent, and breakfast too was served promptly. However, s starter was ordered as a main meal (scallops - which presumably was a larger portion) but we were charged extra for a small portion of chips, which we were not aware of until settling the bill the next day. Staff always polite, friendly, and helpful.

All-in-all a pleasant one night stay, because of the position on the hotel. Not sure I would want to stay longer though. The staff do the best they can to ensure all needs are met.

Room Tip: Definitely spend the extra £5 for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We do agree about the room! We are in the process of refurbishing our rooms and updating the decor and furnishings and aim to have all the rooms updated in the near future. Regarding your meal, unfortunately with the way the meal was entered into our billing system the chips were charged separately but that cost would have actually been included in the overall price had it been entered as a single figure. We completely understand your query though and apologise for the confusion! Thank you again for your comments, we always appreciate receiving feedback and use this constructively to improve our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Went over to the Kyle of Tongue for a sunday drive with lunch at this hotel if we made it in time.

On arrival the staff were friendly & helpful. The restaurant had breath taking views over the Kyle, Ben Loyal, Ben Hope & the ruined home of the MacKay's, Castle Varrich. With these views, the hotel was worth visiting even without the food.

The food itself was of a high quality. I started with Potted Prawns & local Lobster, followed by Roast lamb, and finally Apple & Rhubarb tart. The standard of cooking was high, presentation excellent & taste, well I will be back soon. The price for this Sunday Lunch was also pleasing, £16.95

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for such a glowing review of our food, reading it back is making me hungry! We were delighted with the quality of our Sunday Lunches this year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at the Ben Loyal Hotel for 2 nights while touring northwest Scotland. There aren’t many hotels in this area so choice is limited and prices reflect this with a double room with a view costing £90 per night. It is worth paying the extra for the west facing rooms as the view across the Kyle of Tongue and across to the castle ruins is spectacular.
Our room was fairly large and well appointed but a couple of minor niggles took the shine off. My wife tried to run a bath but gave up after half an hour as the time taken versus the water temperature was a losing battle. The shower was ok. The bed was large and comfortable and was positioned so that you could enjoy the views but this meant that there was no room for a bedside table on one side as the door was located beside the bed. Maybe no big deal but also nowhere to put your phone / alarm etc and no bedside light which meant you had to read by the main ceiling light which is not ideal.
Ate in the restaurant both nights, it also has the panoramic views and booking a table is essential if you want a specific table although when it gets dark all you can see is your own reflection. As expected, seafood features heavily on the specials menu and was pretty good. Food on the whole was good and averaged around £60 for a meal for two with wine.
Mobile phone reception in the area is a bit hit and miss but the hotel has free wi-fi in the bar and lounge (and your room if nearby). It’s about a 20 minute walk over to the ruins of Castle Varrick which is small but the views when you get there are great.
Overall not a bad hotel and fairly good value for money.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladerunner88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments, we’ve taken on board the problem with the lack of bedside table and we’ve had plumbers out to have a look at our water system so have hopefully now resolved the hot water issue!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Myself and My partner stumbled across this place while finding a discount offer in the hostel we were staying in. We found the place few miles away and had our evening meal in the bar. As we had been walking all day we were ready for a hearty meal. We love seafood and had the scallops, lobster, king prawn and local mackerel dishes. The cooking and flavours of the dish were truely delightfull cook to perfection. Great portion sizes and exceptional value for money. Staff were friendly and professional. A hidden gem of place in the middle of nowhere. Will come again. 5 stars

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkingpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback, it’s great to hear that the effort we put in to making your experience as enjoyable as possible is paying off!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Other reviews are so positive that perhaps we visited on an off night? Each of my three courses disappointed. Lime seasoned scallops teriyaki seemed basically scallops soaked in soy sauce and why serve a slice of lemon with a supposedly lime flavoured dish? The steak to follow was tough. The pepper sauce orginally struck me as the best I had ever had until it became clear that just a bit too much pepper had been used and was going to overpower everything. A creme brulee was simply custard with an absolutely burned and bitter sugar coating. This hotel definitely has a positive atmosphere, the lounge and dining room were attractive (and a fabulous sun set excited all of the diners) and the service was both friendly but professional. I would certainly not hesitate to stay there. While unfair to draw conclusions from just one visit, the availability of excellent local produce and the potential of the place would repay a little bit more attention to the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank peter1fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We’re sorry to hear your meal wasn’t as good as you’d hoped. We very much appreciate though your consideration that sometimes there can be an ‘off night’. We have fed back your comments to our chef and hope that you will return one day and enjoy the experience you should have had!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We ate here three times during our recent holiday in Tongue. The staff are friendly and the food is great. We ate in the bar a couple of times which has a nice atmosphere but some may find it noisy. We also ate in the dining room one evening, the service was a bit slow although the restaurant and the bar were both very busy so I guess it's to be expected.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Highlander1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benloyalhotel, Manager at Ben Loyal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments! Yes, unfortunately on busy nights the food may take a bit longer to reach the table, generally we try to inform all of our customers if there is going to be a wait. We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals though, it’s always a good sign to have our customers return for more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
0.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
380 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
357 reviews
18.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.3 mi away
Castle Arms Hotel
Castle Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Thurso
279 reviews
8.5 mi away
Farr Bay Inn
Farr Bay Inn
#2 of 3 in Bettyhill
80 reviews
15.8 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathy
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Loyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Loyal Hotel

Address: Main Street, Tongue IV27 4XE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tongue
Price Range: $118 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Loyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run hotel with magnificent views of the Kyle of Tongue and Ben Loyal from our rooms and restaurant. Fresh local seafood is available daily and all bedrooms are en-suite. A small Highland hotel with big Highland hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ben Loyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ben Loyal
Ben Loyal Tongue
Ben Loyal Hotel Tongue, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing