We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, hospitable and stylish”
Review of The Bothy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bothy
Ranked #2 of 5 Tongue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcoming, hospitable and stylish”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Full of personal touches - we were on our honeymoon and were welcomed by a Mr and Mrs sign with hearts on the door. Room was simple yet stylish, like the rest of the house. Beautiful view over the Kyle and one of the warmest owners we've met. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the-godmother1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
66
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed here for the one night and found it to be the best B&B that I stayed in during the 7 nights that I was in Scotland. Really friendly owners, very comfortable room and easy to find. Ideal for walks in the area and has a centre location in the town although is it off the main road. I would recommend going out of your way to stay here rather than any other hotel in the area.

Room Tip: Just because you pay top dollar for a room it doesnt mean you are getting top value for money. I fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yearldun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as couldn't get a B and B in durness and we were so glad we did as the owner was so friendly and helpful. A beautiful house, stunning views and very comfortable after spending a day walking in the rain. So cosy! The breakfast was amazing!! We will defo be recommending this place. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed in eight places in ten days while touring around the North of Scotland with my husband and two friends and this was my favourite place to stay. The rooms are tastefully furnished with lots of homely touches. The views are stunning and Silke gave us good advice about local walks. We all enjoyed our delicious Scottish breakfast. I notice that this property is rated 2nd in Tongue. Surely there can't be anywhere better to stay than at the Bothy?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

An enjoyable stay at a very pleasant B&B. Silke was a very accommodating host & asked if we would like any laundry done (we didn't - but very much appreciated the offer) and she tried very hard with my husband's request for "crispy bacon" - not an easy request given the thickness of the Scottish rashers ,,,,,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Silke and Scott provided an excellent base for our hill walking and exploring holiday during the summer of 2012. The rainy weather dampened our vacation but not our spirits thanks to this B&B. There is a great deal to do in the surrounding area from the beaches, to exploring the causeway and going for a fish and chips dinner at the Tongue Hotel, which are the best I have ever tasted.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eem65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Me and my friends stayed only for one night, but I can't even say how much I enjoyed the place! Everyone and everything was just lovely! If I had to recommend only ONE place where a person would like to stay for a night, it would be definitely this one :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZuHukelova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
0.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
330 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
132 reviews
23.5 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
13.4 mi away
Mackay's Rooms
Mackay's Rooms
#1 of 11 in Durness
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bothy

Property: The Bothy
Address: 18 Varich Place, Tongue IV27 4XG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tongue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, comfortable family run and family friendly Highland Bed and Breakfast. Surrounded by stunning views of Castle Varich, Ben Hope, Ben Loyal and the Kyle of Tongue. Sit beside a real logfire in our cosy dinning room and enjoy a high quality breakfast choice. 100yrds from the Tongue Hotel and Ben Loyal Hotel, shops, bank and petrol station. Scenic walks, beaches, wildlife and fishing in walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bothy Tongue, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing