We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 5 Tongue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am echoing previous reviews in stating that this pace is excellent. Very spacious rooms, huge breakfasts and friendly hosts who have a "can do" attitude made it a great success in staying here. As it is staggering distance to the 2 hotels in Tongue, you could not pick a better place to base yourself after the long drive North. Other establishments should spend time here to learn the value of good customer service skills . One point only on the downside is that they do not accept plastic cards so take cash to settle your bill.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coln A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
87
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here while on a cycle tour of the north and north west coast of Scotland after compleating lands End to John O Groats.
The hosts helped me with my many panniers and put my bike safley in there garage for the night.
The Bed and Breakfast was second to none .The porridge with brown sugar and cream was the best followed by an amasing full Scottish breakfast.
I was even given a packed lunch to see me through the next day ( a Sunday ) as the shops were closed.
I do not think you could find a better B+B or hotel and I would make sure I stayed there if I was any were near by again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CallumIngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Despite the No Vacancy sign our hosts prepared the static caravan at a moments notice to maker us welcome. Spotlessly clean house and caravan, hearty breakfasts and friendly owners. Great place to overnight or a base for wider exploration. All good.

Room Tip: Don't be put of by the caravan, it's like a small self-contained apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drapanias, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

If we ever stay in a better B&B we will be very surprised and exceedingly pleased. Hard to find fault with this gem of a guest house on the shores of the Kyle of Tongue. There are three guest "rooms" which are apartment sized and very well decorated and equipped. There is also a static caravan available on a nightly basis. Angie & Jimmy are perfectly laid back welcoming hosts who take greta pride in their business and location. Comfirst bed of our 6-day trip and to my wife's delight a bath (jacuzzi) as well as a shower. Breakfast was just perfect as well. If you have an hour to spare take a walk up to the nearby Bharrich (Varrich) Castle which offers stunning views of the bay and surrounding mountains and countryside.

Room Tip: Room 3 is a winner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Upon Trent UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Just a short mention to echo what has been said in other reviews, this is without doubt the best we've stayed in in Scotland, superb room, excellent breakfast and a great host, the only issue we had was the fact we were only there for 1 night, even the locals in the bar of the Ben loyal made us feel welcome. Well done you guys, fantasic place to stay and no doubt we'll be back at some time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessiedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My son & I stayed in the twin room for two nights on one leg of a tour along the north and north west coast. All the B&Bs that we stayed in were very good, but Tigh-Nan-Ubhal was definitely the best. Lots of space for the two of us and a pleasant room to spend an evening in. Bathroom was clean and spacious, breakfast was great and location was spot on, within 100yds of the only two places to eat in Tongue. If you are planning a trip to the far north, the Kyle of Tongue was well worth the extra miles - great scenery and very few tourists.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We toured all over Scotland. This was the most wonderful place we stayed. The scenery in the town is glorious beyond description. Angela was everything you could want in a host. She even did our laundry when we asked. The rooms are amazing. The bathroom in one of them is larger than some houses. The breakfast was our best of the trip, served by Tracey McLeod. Angela gave us a referral to the Ben Loyal Hotel restaurant, which delivered a stunning view and an even better meal, delivered cheerily by Jessica. We had four different meals and all were exceptional. No trip to northern Scotland should miss this stop. We could not recommend it more highly. It is located at the foot of the hill as you enter town. Ask someone if you don't see it. The parking is at the back and is easy to navigate. Treat yourself to a walk up the side road in the town to take your best pictures of your trip, if you are lucky enough to catch a sunny day, as we were.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
0.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
5.5 mi away
Borgie Lodge
Borgie Lodge
#4 of 4 in Tongue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
18.8 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#4 of 9 in Thurso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse

Property: Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse
Address: Tigh Nan Ubhal Main Street, Tongue IV27 4XF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Tongue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse is situated in the village of Tongue which sits on the far North coast of the Scottish Mainland. It is the ideal location to place yourself and explore some of the "Real" Scottish Highlands. We have three letting rooms as follows:-Room 1. Situated upstairs in our guesthouse. It is an en-suite twin room with TV and looks out on to our large garden.Room 3. Our family room. It is situated below the main guesthouse with its own access. It has 1 double bed and 1 single bed. It also has a very large en-suite bathroom with walk in shower & a spa bath. Room 4. A twin room situated below the main guesthouse with its own access. It has en-suite shower room. The Caravan. 30ft static caravan. With a large sitting room, en-suite, double room, small twin room and a double fold down bed in the sitting room. The caravan is with bed and breakfast. There is no cooking inside the caravan. Breakfast is served in the main guesthouse. The caravan is located beside the house with plenty of parking.**All rooms have a TV & tea/coffee making facilities** ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh-Nan-Ubhal Guesthouse Tongue, Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing