We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostel in beautiful location; one of the best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tongue
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kyle of Tongue Hostel & Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The people running this hostel are clearly putting a lot of thought and care into it. The hostel has a dining room with lovely big windows, a nice comfy common room and a good, clean kitchen. I had a shared room with 6 bunks but only one other person in the room; this was mid-week but because of remote location I think the hostel tends to be quiet. All the facilities were clean and in good repair. If you don't fancy cooking you can get a meal at the hotel up the road. But leave room for the home baking on sale in the hostel. Fresh warm bread rolls, yum.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank embraheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 105 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2009

We got a large family room with a marvellous view onto the Kyle of Tongue - it even had a table and settees in the bay windows. The hostel is newly renovated and has a very good self-catering kitchen, nice lounge, large garden and friendly staff. The only drawback is that it is closed for some hours midday. Look out for the National Park Rangers' walking tours in summer - we got lots of information about plants and animals in the moors.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donegal119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rudi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andreas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuna1yuna2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GattoRandagio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongue
1.2 mi away
Ben Loyal Hotel
Ben Loyal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Tongue
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Tongue Hotel
The Tongue Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tongue
370 reviews
7.7 mi away
Bettyhill Hotel
Bettyhill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bettyhill
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Melvich Hotel
Melvich Hotel
#2 of 9 in Thurso
215 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Sheiling B&B Guest House
15.8 mi away
Strathy Inn
Strathy Inn
#2 of 2 in Strathy
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kyle of Tongue Hostel & Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kyle of Tongue Hostel & Holiday Park

Address: Tongue | Sutherland, Tongue IV27 4XH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Tongue
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tongue
Price Range: $165 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hostel contains a relaxing communal lounge, roomy dining area, spacious self catering kitchen, drying room, bike shed, well stocked mini shop and camping area in order to meet all your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kyle Of Tongue Hostel & Holiday Park Scotland, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing