We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house and location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Highland Haven

Looking out to sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking out to sea
Living Room Kitchen/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Looking out to sea
Living Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Double Bedroom 1
Double Bedroom 2
Ground Floor Double Bedroom
Private Driveway
Outside Seating Area
Handsome Stags
Lonesome Stag
Another Stunning Sunset
Hallway
Upstairs Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
djr69
Woking
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic house and location”
Reviewed September 7, 2019 for a stay in August 2019

We enjoyed a lovely stay at highland haven. The house is situated in a private, peaceful location. It has spacious rooms and is finished to a very high standard all round. The kitchen was probably the best kitted out of any holiday home we have stayed in.

Marc was very quick to respond to enquiries, a great host.

We would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherRin...
Limoges, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

I arrived on a dark, drizzly afternoon after a long drive.

As soon as I opened the front door I knew that I had made a good decision to stay there. One of those homes that give you a hug and with style. Marc had thought of everything, a comprehensive, and understandable, guide to what's what in the house as well as suggestions on places to eat.

The views? Absolutely wonderful. Sunset and sunrise and everything in between. The sheep are both calming and amusing. Yes, the red deer really do come into the garden so get your camera ready.

The north coast is easily accessible and Loch Assynt is splendid in the early morning before even a breath of wind disturbs its surface. I drove down to Ullapool and saw dolphins swimming around the boat on the way to the Summer Isles.

Without doubt, this is the best holiday home that I've had the pleasure of staying in. Just idyllic. Thank you Marc.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath_H52
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed luxury”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed her for a week beginning 24/6/17, the house was very spacious, comfortable and well appointed and we enjoyed a wonderful holiday here. The views are marvellous and we saw a lot of wildlife including, red deer, foxes, peregrine falcon and skuas.

On a very personal note we loved the fact that there was ample wardrobe space having been to houses with coat racks instead of actual wardrobes!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the good review.
Best regards,
Marc
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gerry1149
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“We'd happily come again!”
Reviewed April 9, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Located in a peaceful spot, a spacious, modern, comfortable house, stylishly furnished and decorated, thoughtfully and comprehensively equipped. Large windows give views of the seaward end of the loch and occasional boats visiting the harbour. Sunset into the sea will be visible in April, early May, and again in August (cloud permitting!). Great sea- and shore-bird watching at Inverkirkaig 5 minutes away. Booking was trouble-free, and the house was spotless when we arrived. Recommended.

Date of stay: March 2017
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraSqui...
Northumberland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home from home, thoroughly recommended!”
Reviewed May 10, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stylish and modern holiday cottage in a great central location for exploring Assynt. The owners have thought of everything, well equipped with everything you could possibly need, a real home from home! The views are breath taking from every window, and we loved watching the deer in the garden, and the lambs on the hills just beyond the cottage. Great walks straight from the cottage too, down to nearby beaches, and just a short drive to Lochinver for wonderful restaurants and local shops. Definitely planning to come back again in the future, thank you for a perfect holiday!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great scenic views from every window, and great for wildlife watching!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasiaIg
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stunning views, excellent house”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Comfortable and cosy house with amazing views. Very cmfortable rooms and good break out spaces. Recommend to anyone :)

Date of stay: September 2015
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic views, spacious with lots to do close by”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Property was very spacious, amazing décor, easy to find as its just off the road! great views of the sea, close to shops, mountains, cliffs, restaurants. I will be coming back next year and possibly a few more after that to take in and explore the unusual landscape of this area, from its mountains that remind me of sky to the sea stacks and caves.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing