We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Waterloo House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Clachtolls 'Split rock'!
Suilven
Ardvreck castle
River Inver
Achmelvich beach
Lochinver bay
The old man of storr
Northern lights in Lochinver and Assynt. 
Ardvreck castle.
North coast 500 route.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Anne C
2 reviews
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Awesome location and delightfully luxurious and spacious house. Just right for this extended family of 6 ranging in age from 3 to 76. The view from the big picture window in the sitting room is probably one of the best in the UK maybe even in Europe. Seeing the sunrise and bathe Suilven in rich glowing reds was an experience in its own right. The landlord was amazingly helpful and seemed to have thought of absolutely everything. We loved it and despite the long distance we had to travel to get here, we will surely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 29, 2016
Many thanks for your great review! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves, please come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacquibry...
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our whole family thorouly enjoyed our stay at Waterloo house. It is a wonderful house with fabulous views of lochinver. The house is very well equipped with really comfy beds. We loved the hot tub after long walks in the hills. We can't wait to return to this very special place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2016
Many thanks for your fantastic reviews! So glad you all enjoyed your stay! Come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kath2009
Tunbridge Wells
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous! - home from home”
Reviewed October 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I cannot recommend Waterloo House highly enough. The accommodation Ben has created is simply lovely. Your every need is catered for in terms of both comfort and practicality. Rooms are well-furnished with quality items, lovely linens and truly comfy beds. The kitchen has everything one needs for proper cooking (if one desires), bake bread, cakes etc. It felt like a real home from home.
The views are fantastic and you can lie in bed and watch the sunrise over the mountains and veg out in the hot tub under the stars.
Well located for a good range of walks for all abilities which really give you a flavour of the unique Assynt area.
We loved it and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - can't be beaten
Liked least: Hot tub was a bit tired looking (cushions missing) but lovely and clean
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2016
Dear kath,
Many thanks for your fantastic and kind review! So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and hope you all come and stay again soon.
Regards,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hazey101
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a really good trip to Lochinver. The house is exactly as described, clean, spacious and with really good amenities (including the hot tub).

Beds are comfy (but be aware the downstairs double is only a 4'6" bed so a bit of a tight squeeze these days).

Dealing with the owner was very straight forward.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 20, 2016
Hey,
Many thanks for your great review. Really glad you all enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Many thanks for your great review, glad you all enjoyed your stay, please come back soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kerry G
1 review
“Stunning property!”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Well, what can I say about this property that hasn't already been said before? ...

My family and I have visited Lochinver 5 times now and Waterloo House is by far the nicest property we have stayed in. The property has not only been furnished to the highest standard but it has the most amazing views over the harbour! They are truely breathtaking! I think the owner Ben has catered for everyone and everything at this property and I would highly recommend it to everyone, however I would recommend a car for the older generation or anyone who may require a wheelchair as the road up to the property is quite steep.

Should my family and I decide to visit Lochinver for a 6th time, we will definitely be booking this property again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved everything about this property.
Liked least: There was nothing I disliked.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
Hi Kerry and family,

Many thanks for your great review! Glad you all enjoyed your stay! Please come and stay again soon.
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What can I say. For starters, the views are simply breathtaking. The accommodation has been finished to a very high standard in all areas, and this is quite evident with the attention to detail.

Place was clean. Plenty of space for a nice chilled break.
Certainly would be top of my list, if I am venturing up this way again.

Negatives= NONE.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2016
Dear Paul,
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your fantastic review! Please come and visit us again soon.
Regards,
Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing