We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming”
Review of Village Green - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Village Green
Description: A cosy little cafe within a fair trade shop serving delicious teas, coffees, hot chocolates, and cakes
Restaurant details
Description: A cosy little cafe within a fair trade shop serving delicious teas, coffees, hot chocolates, and cakes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

So good to find this cosy wee coffee shop still open in the winter months. Great coffee and tasty home baking made this a welcome break from the chilly November weather. Will be back next year to try the delicious looking Hot Chocolate!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Innes M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rude service”
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I just couldn't believe the service we got in the Village Green today. We we're welcomed with a grunt from the waitress and received a further grunt when we ordered tea. Nice place but please improve the service.

Helpful?
1 Thank KT O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Corner Gift Shop”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Lovely things to buy from across the globe. Great home baking and the owner Irene has lots of local knowledge.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank robinred0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you're in Lochinver-make a trip to the Village Green. You won't regret it one bit.”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This warm, friendly, gorgeous, and quality cafe is a landmark of Lochinver. The home baking is always fresh, delicious and available, the hot chocolate is to die for (I get it every time I go) but what really characterizes this gem of a cafe is the owner, who is there day in, day out, greeting customers, always with a smile on her face and a welcoming manner. In the Highlands, there is a limited amount of services, so it is incredibly nice to see various products sold in the other half of the premises. I know Lochinver incredibly well, my relatives come from a village not far from it, and I can honestly say that this brings us back every year. Really, if you are in Lochinver, make a trip to the Village Green. You won't regret it one bit.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaR732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely little shop where you can have a coffee and some home baking”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Lovely coffee served here - had to wait for a table but it was worth the wait

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Green also viewed

Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing