We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Tigh Na Sith” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tigh Na Sith Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Ranked #2 of 12 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tigh Na Sith”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

What an excellent place to stay. The rooms are of the highest standard and the welcome and service from owners Nick & Patrycja matches the rooms. There's a guest lounge which they'll let you use all day if you wish which is great if the weather's not at it's best - many B&B places want to kick you out during the day regardless. Patrycja's food is excellent with a slight Polish twist for a bit of variety. They take credit cards which is convenient but not common. What more is there to say ? if you find a place better than this you're doing REALLY well.

Room Tip: The Eagle View room upstairs is bigger but £5 more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank droxxolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
158
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from staying for 3 nights at Tigh na Sith with Nick and Patrycja. They made us very welcome and the guest house is clean, extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, we could choose from lots of options - and all advice was gratefully received particularly about the route up Suilven and places to eat. We were travelling / walking with friends so the guest sitting room was very welcome. This is one of the very best B and B's anywhere and we fully recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank posietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in March. We loved the B&B. Nick and Patricia were great hosts with lots of advice about what to see and do in the area. Patricia's scrambled eggs were the perfect way to start the day. We loved this place and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The 6km loop track out the back of Lochinver is fantastic. Definitely do this and a trip to Achmelvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnkgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portmahomack, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nick and Patrycja have a very clear understanding of what running a business grounded in excellent customer service means. From the initial warmth of the welcome to the equally warm and genuine farewell, they strike the right balance between friendliness, well-informed advice about the area and knowing how to give space to guests. Patricia's breakfasts are the stuff of legend whilst Nick would have literally given me the shirt off his back when I realised I had forgotten to pack one for a meal at Chez Roux in the village. We stayed in the upstairs Eagle View room: luxuriously comfortable, spacious, spotlessly clean, attentive to detail and with beautiful views of the bay and beyond. Nick and Patrycia are currently renovating a holiday cottage in the village for rental from June and I have no doubt that this will further enhance their highly-deserved reputation. Assynt is a unique area to which everyone should visit and, when you do, give yourself a treat by staying at Tigh na Sith.

Room Tip: Ask for the Eagle View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iainm765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have just returned from my first visit to Lochinver. My husband and I stayed at the Tigh Na Sith guest house and had the most comfortable and enjoyable experience we have ever had at a guest house. This couple made us feel so welcome and really went beyond helpful, putting us at ease offering information and directions, maps and tips on where to visit, the best ways to get to where you wanted to go, tips on how to get the most from your visit and all of this before you have settled into one of their extremely clean, comfortable and modern rooms. We stayed in the eagle view room and wow it didn't fail to deliver. The weather was great and the view was amazing. Breakfast the following morning was made by Patrycja and served by Nick, delicious and plentiful, we were stuffed. What a lovely couple. This guest house will definitely get snapped up so without hesitation I would hurry and book you will not be disappointed. Loch infer is. Lovely place to visit and is all the more so with Nick and Patrycja offering their lovely accommodation for you to stay. Extremely reasonably priced too, you would be mad not to book.

Room Tip: Each room at the Tigh Na Sith is excellent, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Tigh Na Sith is top of the trip advisor pile in Lochinver for very good reason - I personally haven't been in any B&B or Hotel where I have felt this much at home - or been so thoroughly and pleasantly stuffed at breakfast!

In general, I'm not a great fan of B&Bs. I find you either feel like you're infringing on someone's personal space or the hosts are a little overbearing - making you feel comfortable and at home is a fine line - and Nick and Pat walk that line like third generation, circus born, trapeze artists.

I found the recent review which said 'the staff weren't knowledgable' very confusing, quite possibly they have the wrong place. It is impossible to mistake Nick and Pat for staff, not only do they tell you this when you arrive but their enthusiasm, effort and attention to detail is peculiar to (passionate!) business owners - you'd be forgiven for thinking you were their first ever guest. And as to knowledge, they've obviously been brushing up in between this review and that one; I've been visiting Assynt for close to 30 years, and have learnt more on this visit than on any before.

There are 3 rooms in the house for guests and a very comfortable, well kitted out guest's living room. The rooms are clean, comfortable, warm and everything is pretty new. Generous on the snacks and refreshment in the rooms too - very welcome after a day on the hills!

Breakfast is phenomenal. 2 courses. If you are coming up here for some fitness/weight loss related purpose, you would be well advised to stay elsewhere! Personally, I can live with it.

In summary; great place, great people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gb
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic guest house which completely exceeded our expectations. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable - we had the upstairs room. The welcome and hospitality from Pat and Nick was refreshing - looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vix1487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.2 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
9.9 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 12 in Lochinver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#9 of 12 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rose Guest House
The Rose Guest House
#5 of 12 in Lochinver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
20.0 mi away
Oak Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Na Sith Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Na Sith Guest House

Property: Tigh Na Sith Guest House
Address: Tigh-Na-Sith Cruamer, Lochinver IV27 4LD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Cameron and Eleanor our Guest House based in Assynt - North West Scotland, offers 3 spacious en-suite rooms, furnished with everything you need for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. Our breakfast menu is interested and varied - designed to set you up for the day. A warm welcome and attentive service assured - hope to see you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Tigh Na Sith Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Na Sith Guest House Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing