We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at the restaurant here”
Review of Culag Hotel

Culag Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Culag Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

After being turned away at the nearby pub for a meal, we tried this hotel for some food, to our delight we found they had a restaurant. The food well priced and excellent quality, the restaurant decor is a touch '90s, but I wouldn't say that is a bad thing. And the staff played happy birthday on the sound system and put sparklers in the sweet as there was a birthday in our party. Very good service, good food, will definitely return next time in Lochinver.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrybond158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 91 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at the Culag for one night recently and arrived very tired after driving most of the night and a busy day thereafter.
Our room was huge, with really comfortable beds, plenty of tea and coffee and piping hot water. We slept like logs and had the best cooked breakfast we had eaten in a long time.
This is a non commercialised gem of a hotel - all your needs are catered for and the staff are very friendly. They could not have done enough for us.
We will be rushing back to stay at the Culag next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 684AnnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I visited the Culag Hotel for the first time for many years. It has not changed much and the Hotel rooms have a tired appearance. No wardrobe or shower and only a bar of soap as toiletries The food and staff were excellent breakfast outstanding and evening meal good. What alocation excellent staff let down by poor facilites.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidWhalleyBurghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The lady behind the bar was friendly enough but there was a male member of staff who was fairly unpleasant and seemed quite unhappy with us sitting near the door of the bar to supervise the children playing in the adjacent lounge. So much so - we decided to stay for only one drink. The place was practically deserted too. He complained that the children hadn't tidied up after themselves, but as far as I could see they had left it in a better state than when we arrived. Cold, outdated and unwelcoming for families.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
5  Thank eilidh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

we were told only one room available and it had a bath ,no hot water until you ran the tap for 10mins even after that was not hot enough,we were the only 2 people for breakfast,un fortunately was the only place to stay after driving 200mile , over priced ,and in seriuos need of refurb , staff were nice , and the barman made up for the room price ... wont be back and wouldnt recommend

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

OK. But really does need a lick of paint and brought up to date! Just seems to be stuck in time warp! Lovely building, very helpful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Redtrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Went up for three days and thought the place was lovely , staff very nice, rooms were spotless . Decor does need a bit of up grading but I had a flat screen tv Clean room so was quite happy and I feel the deco adds carecter. Loved the atmosphere and the locals were lovely will be returning next year . Hopefully it will be the same fansastic couple running it .

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.4 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
400 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.6 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#6 of 10 in Lochinver
43 reviews
0.5 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#1 of 10 in Lochinver
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culag Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culag Hotel

Address: The Pier, Lochinver IV27 4LQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range: $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run traditional hotel overlooking the pier of the fishing village of Lochinver. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Culag Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing