We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food - View - Service - Comfort, in any order - what more?”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Food – View – Service - Comfort, in any order - what more?”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is an exceptionally well run hotel in many ways. Being a modern building it offers great well appointed rooms, and I was kindly given a superb room with wonderful double views. Good size, very comfortable, lots of hot water, well double glazed as in a rather exposed setting. The food is of course a major draw and it does not disappoint. Daily changing menu offers a challenging of tempting choices, using some great produce and in the main delivers spot on in taste and presentation. Efficient and friendly staff throughout the hotel Great wine list offering a good choice by the glass and half bottle. I concur with earlier comments that this also represents very good value. In closing also my thanks for arranging such amazing weather, I would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnothernameScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Inver Lodge, although I have no control over the weather we have been very fortunate this past few weeks. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long and thank you for taking the time to write this review. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    72
    29
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
248
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wanted to return to this hotel after a lovely break here last September. Room 21 was spotless and very spacious . The food was excellent with a good choice on the menu and Chef provided individual meals to suit my wife's dietary problems. Mr Gorton and his team must be congratulated for providing a first class service , and a special mention for Linda and Gil. Nothing was too much bother and there was always someone at hand . We highly recommend any of the hotels managed by ICMI - will be back again this September

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Firstly thank you for returning to Inver Lodge and secondly for taking the time to write a review of your most recent visit. We are all delighted to read how much you enjoyed the room, food and service, we very much hope to welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Took advantage of the Spring offer of three nights for the price of two. The hotel is perched above the beuatiful bay and harbour of Lochinver. The dining room looks out on to a scene that would be hard to beat anywhere. The food served up in Chez Roux was excellent. The pike starter was novel and tasty; the beef cheek just melted on your tongue and the skate fin was a joy. The service was superb with an attentive but not overbearing staff. The staff were all very pleasant and knew exactly what they were doing. The wine list was good-covering a range of choices. The bottled beer from northern brewers in the bar was welcome, though I always like to see cask beer on tap. Maybe next time! The bedrooms were perfect-super-comfortable beds and linen. Great view out to the bay. The cold buffet for breakfast suits us perfectly rather than the traditional cooked option. We would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone travelling in this spectacualr location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review which is much appreciated. We do try to offer a good range of micro-brewery beers from around the north of Scotland, Orkney and Shetland which complements the whisky selection, I will look in to cask ales. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you plan a trip north. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We have just spent two nights here, a wee break away to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.

Although rather uninspiring from the outside, the hotel is lovely inside. A warm, welcoming reception from staff and a lovely comfortable room. We spent a relaxing afternoon reading by the fire with hot chocolate and scones on our second day, after a morning spent in the rain.

We had dinner at the hotel on our first night, and thoroughly enjoyed the food (especially the lemon tart!), and spectacular view from the restaurant. Breakfast was great too, with a wide variety of choice.

The surrounding scenery is spectacular, and staff very knowledgeable about the local area. Nothing was too much trouble, with great service, especially from the manager, Nicholas, and Adam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for writing our first review of the new season. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

An excellent hotel, we stayed there for three nights as a weekend away for my wife's birthday. Met by staff as soon as we arrived and our luggage was taken to our room. Food really excellent with good choice. My wife has a gluten intolerance, this was no problem at all at any meal. Beautiful location with deer outside the window at one point. Staff friendly and happy to talk if we were. One slightly negative point, there is a snooker table with at least some straight cues, but no triangle to set up the reds, and the chalk was so worn out it was nearly nonexistent. There is also quite a bit of roll-off on the table, so no gentle shots!

Would definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a good view over Lochinver.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your appreciated review. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and I promise to sort out the snooker table for your next visit. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, East Midlands, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed for a single night, during a two week tour of Northwest and Harris/Lewis. Stayed in B+Bs and Guest Houses, and many were excellent, but Inver Lodge was easily the priciest (but still reasonable.)

From the outside, the hotel is architecturally modest, but inside.... yes, that's definitely why it's a five star. The room itself was massive, and luxurious. As was the bed. Room wasn't the quietest that I've had - I could hear some blustering fishermen in the front hall - but definitely not a problem.

Breakfast was excellent, as you might expect from a Roux brothers restaurant. Staff were attentive and great. (I was surprise to hear Spanish accents - but they brought a little sunshine to a damp night.)

Pricy, but excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big-Iain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your stay at Inver Lodge after your tour of Scotland. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your room and the food in Chez Roux. Sorry to read that you were disturbed by some guests, I am glad to read that it was not a problem for you. I hope that if you are planning another trip to the north west that we can welcome you back.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, great dinner, great wine, very comfortable beds, lovely fresh air!
Building looks slightly disappointing from the outside but nice inside, we had a great stay!
Breakfast could have been better - Eggs Benedict was very disappointing and Scottish Breakfast too, compared to dinner was like a different kitchen!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Inver Lodge. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience apart from being disappointed with Breakfast. If you would like to email me nlg@inverlodge.com to tell me more I would be very grateful. I hope that we can welcome you back next time you are planning to visit Assynt. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
604 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
250 reviews
19.8 mi away
Overscaig House Hotel
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Property: Inver Lodge Hotel
Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing