We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Meal & Service”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal & Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Inver Lodge Hotel for one night before heading down to Skye to celebrate our Anniversary at the 3 Chimneys restuarant. With hindsight we should have stayed here for the two nights. The room and service could not be faulted. The dinner was superb with the man himself (Albert Roux) dining that night. He had travelled all the way up to do one of his frequent checks on the food standard. Now was there a connection between the great food and the fact that he was present ..... I honestly dont think so. Chef came out to check how are food was; my chosen wine not being available was replaced by a far more expensive Malborough at the lower price; the view from the dining room was to die for. A great night all in all and we had a laugh when we could hear the loud chatter coming from the Kitchen (after the great man had left to retire to his room). The pressure was off.

Room Tip: I think they are all much the same ... good quality beds and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated review of your stay at Inver Lodge. It is always good to receive feedback positive or not and I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit. Mr Roux is a frequent visitor to Chez Roux which ensures his high standards are always maintained. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    70
    26
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
244
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leven
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We visited Inver Lodge again last week in a typical Scottish May heat-wave (really) and enjoyed firstly a wonderful al fresco lunch and then, next day, afternoon tea. We could well have been in the Cote d'Azur so pleasant was it. The lunch was faultless. We had hoped to have dinner but forgot that it was the English Bank Holiday week and thus fully booked but that worked perfectly because the al fresco lunch was perfect. Great food and unbeatable views out over the harbour. Nickie looks after this place like a personal fiefdom. Lang may his lum reek.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PersimmonPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Inver Lodge for lunch and afternoon tea. We are so lucky last week with the weather, a prefect day to dine on the terrace and glad that you enjoyed the food that wonderful view. I hope we can welcome you back before too long and provide a table in the restaurant for the evening. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I visited Inver Lodge with my family on an almost annual basis from it opening in the late 80s, when I was a young kid, until 5 years ago.

In May 2013 I returned with my wife, a little apprehensive as to what to expect since the hotel has been remodelled slightly, with a new restaurant, a new style of menu, new furnishings and a new tariff. But the decision to return was entirely positive (once we’d saved up!).

Nicholas, the Manager, has taken a winning formula and made it even better. From the minute you arrive, you are made to feel incredibly welcome by all of the staff. The fine bedrooms have kept their classic style and comfort, whilst adding a modern touch in the bathrooms, with one of the best bath/shower combos I've ever encountered. And the beds give some of the best night's sleep we've ever had.

The cuisine in the dining room is truly deserving of the hotel’s five stars. Everything is perfect, from the pace of the meal (just the right gap in between courses), to the portions, to the quality of the cooking and fresh ingredients, and the style of service you get when travelling BA First Class with a top crew. And the view from the dining room is to die for. I challenge any hotel in the country to serve up a dining room view as spectacular and dramatic as Inver Lodge. The view from atop the hill, over the fishing village, is fantastic whether the sun is shining or the rain is falling. You don’t want the meal to finish!

Breakfast is also an event in itself, and sets you up perfectly for the day. There’s a huge selection, and even if you ask for something which isn’t on the menu, they seem to have it (potato scones!).

Other highlights include the roaring log fire in the lounge area, the full size snooker table, and the fact that every member of staff is intent on making your stay feel special. The complimentary turndown service whilst you are at dinner is lovely (unlike in so many hotels where you have to request it). Not only that, but in the time you spend at breakfast, they re-make your bed and freshen up your room. A nice touch.

With most hotels you come away with a list of things you'd do better... With Inver Lodge, there really isn't anything. Well, with the exception of having a better in-room hairdryer (says my wife)!

We only checked out two days ago, and we're already longing to return.

If only Inver Lodge wasn't a 12 hour drive away, we'd be back more often. But then again, perhaps that's part of its appeal too?

Room Tip: Every room is super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for your much appreciated review of your latest visit to Inver Lodge. I am delighted to read that on your return after a few years that you enjoyed our newly renovated bedrooms, bathrooms, foyer lounge and Chez Roux Restaurant. We have always aimed to provide the best in Highland hospitality over the past 25 years and I am delighted that you feel we are reaching our goals. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Best regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a thoroughly relaxing stay. Lovely comfortable room with a good quality bed, pleasantly overlooking the sea loch. There is also a lounge with comfortable squashy sofas, a log fire and books aplenty. Our breakfasts were very nice and I have to particularly compliment the porridge, the eggs benedict, the orange juice and the pain au chocolat. Sadly, the coffee is awful - very watery and unpleasant. We opted for tea after the first experience. This, and the fact that there is no swimming pool, were the only aspects that disappointed - everything else was lovely, the staff friendly and efficient, Lochinver is a special trip for us and we probably will not visit again as there are other beautiful places in Scotland to see, but we would recommend this hotel to other people who are travelling in the area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gracie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review of your visit to Inver Lodge. I am delighted to read on the whole you enjoyed your stay, however sorry to read that you found the coffee too weak. We endevor to use coffee that is suitable for a majority, however we do have guests like yourselves who prefer a stronger blend, I am sorry that you were not offered an alternative, I hope you enjoyed our fresh leaf tea. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were staying locally but had dinner in the Chez Roux restaurant and it was a thoroughly enjoyable meal. The views across Lochinver as the sun went down were amazing.We could not fault the food or the friendly attentive staff. We both agreed it was one of the best rib eye steaks we have eaten.....and the cheese souffle was to die for. Thank you to the chefs and staff.....if we are back in the area again we will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review your dining experiance in our Chez Roux Restaurant and delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service. The Souffle Suissess is one of Mr Roux's signature dishes, chef Lee is pleased that you enjoyed it anlong with our 32 day aged ribeye steak. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back before too long for another memorable meal. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our second trip to Inver Lodge Hotel and cannot rate it highly enough. This hotel has it all in a discreet and understated way. From the warm welcome when you arrive to the departure you are sure of a fabulous stay. Log fire is always on and the hotel is warm and cosy and very friendly but not overbearing. Every room has a wonderful view of the harbour and the whole stay feels so laid back. That comes down to fantastic management. The manager runs it efficiently but making sure that the guests feel totally at home. His staff are just fantastic but are discreet and low key. I have to say that Linda and Mireia head a wonderful team. The food is very high quality and only the very best ingredients are used. We ordered scones one day and they were freshly made! We have a dog and although she is extremely well behaved we always felt that it was not a problem for the dog to sit with us and have a drink by the fire. I can't rate this hotel highly enough but I don't want to tell everyone as I may not get in next time I book. Will return again and again to this fantastic part of the world. I was sorry to leave and can't wait to return before it closes. I wish it was open over New Year as this would be a must for us. Five stars plus for this gem.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and ask for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It is always very much appreciated when guests take the time to review their stay at Inver Lodge, epscially in your case as it is your second visit. I am as are the rest of the team delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful views from the bedrooms to the restaurant, come rain or shine it is always dramatic.Chef Lee is pleased that you liked his scones, baked freshly with every order. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in 2014 if not before. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was an excellent stay in every respect. All the staff were most welcoming and efficient. Nothing was too much trouble. Food great, room service too. I would certainly go back there again for a holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidJPeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
i was delighted to read how much you had enjoyed all aspects of your stay at Inver Lodge, it is a credit to the whole team and I know they will also be dlighted to read your review. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long to enjoy another memorable stay. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
20.9 mi away
Rhiconich Hotel
Rhiconich Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rhiconich
133 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
586 reviews
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Property: Inver Lodge Hotel
Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing