We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner to remember”
Review of Inver Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inver Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were staying in Inverkirkaig and were looking for somewhere to have dinner to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. Having dined some years ago at Le Gavroche we decided to try Inver Lodge. Were we disappointed, no we were not. It was truly lovely. The food was superb, the staff amazing, friendly without being overbearing. Fabulous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for choosing to dine in our Chez Roux restaurant for your anniversary. Chef Lee is delighted that you enjoyed your meal and the rest of the team are pleased that you enjoyed the whole experience. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back next time you are in the area.
Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 405 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last week, and from the very start we new it was going to be just what we needed to relax after a long busy season catering for our tourists in the Cotswolds both in Jackie's B & B and my touring business.

We were met and greeted before we had parked the car by 2 delightful staff, our bags were whisked away to our room, and we had checked in before we new it...very professional..

Our room was superb, a wonderful enormous comfy bed, a large en-suite shower wet room, with exceptional views, and all the other extras one would hope for...but not always get!

Dinner was exceptional under the Albert Roux trained and run hotel restaurant..we ate here every night..All the courses were well thought out and were all delicious.....we even ate lobster and grouse, with no extra to pay, on the reasonably priced set 3 course menus, which included canapés before and coffee and wonderful home made chocolates afterwards...The service in the dining room was first class...Breakfasts were equal to the diners..

We even had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of “the great man himself”..Albert Roux, who was attending a luncheon here to celebrate the hotel achieving their well deserved “5 star rating”...Meeting Monsieur Roux was especially rewarding for Jackie as she has always been a fan of his and she is a gourmet cook herself!

I must thank and congratulate the manager Mr Nicholas Gorton for selecting and training his friendly, considerate, and highly proficient team, and making my Wife and myself so welcome...This is a wonderful part of the world...and when we return we wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else...Thoroughly recommended...Tim Harrison Tour the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Talk to Mr Gorton...he will advise you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbo3769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

There are a lot of smiling faces today after we read the review of your stay at Inver Lodge last week. I am delighted that you found all aspects of you time with us to meet your expectations and possibly exceed them. I hope that you will return before too long and wish you a pleasent winter. Kind regards, NIcholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were attracted by the good reviews and the Chez Roux restaurant, being familiar with Greywalls in Gullane. It was interesting to find such a first class place in the remote North West,far from any big towns, and the hotel is indeed luxurious,with every comfort and beautiful rooms. The public areas are spacious,and combine the efficiency of a top hotel with comfort and cosiness. Best of all, the wonderful food and flawless service from a well trained staff. A nice local touch was the Highland Stoneware on display at breakfast, which is made in Lochinver. Finally,congratulations on superb Eggs Benedict!!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea, so no one loses out on the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonzorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your first visit and I am delighted that you were not disapointed. Our aim is to provide a warm and welcoming atmopshere and discrete service to accompany the excellent food in Chez Roux, I hope that you will return to enjoy our hospitality before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I have just returned from my third visit to this hotel and I am delighted to report that it has maintained its very high standards. The new bathrooms are very elegant and all the public areas are decorated and furnished superbly. The bar has an excellent selection of whiskies and other spirits and some wonderful bottled Scottish ales. Breakfast here is a true delight and dinner divine. I set great store by the manners and attitude of hotel staff and the people here are a shining example of friendliness and efficiency. When the only thing someone as fussy as me can find to moan about is the centre pedestal design of the restaurant tables, you can be assured that everything else is exemplary. It is a fantastic advertisement for the Scottish tourist industry and deserves to be regarded as one of the countries finest hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whiskylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your third visit to the Inver Lodge and it really is encouraging to see how much you are still enjoying your time with us. As a team we really enjoy welcoming back previous guests as the feedback helps us maintain the standards and hopefully having you back time and time again. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

In late July my wife and I spent a perfect night at the Inver Lodge. Driving there through magnificent scenery was a delight and the reception at the hotel was warm, welcoming and super efficient. The room (a suite) was large and equipped with everything necessary and the views were outstanding. Dinner in the Chez Roux Restaurant was superb, as was the table in front of the picture windows, the staff were friendly, attentive and efficient, and the food excellent - and I really mean excellent! The barman knew a lot about whisky and recommended a couple of really nice ones! Just sometimes a hotel gets everything exactly right - this was one of those times. For a special occasion this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJK57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Firstly thank you very much for taking time to write your review of your stay at Inver Lodge in July, I am delighted that you chose to come here for a special celebration and to read how much you enjoyed your experience. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and it prooved a fantastic place to stay. The bedrooms are spacious and have stunning views, the bathroom was well appointed and had one of the best showers I have come across, albeit over the bath. The interior of the hotel is open and relaxing with plenty of nooks and crannies to sit and relax, it belies the rather dull exterior. The food was excellent, and the whisky range tempting. Everything was very clean and generally well cared for. Perhaps most importantly the staff were cheerful and friendly, always helpful and ready to chat with the more loquacious members of our group. They certainly turned a break into a rest. It is a great part of the world too - if you have never visited it, make sure you do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishcari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to right your review on your stay at Inver Lodge. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the whole ambiance of the hotel including our new bathrooms. I hope that we can welcome you back before too long. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

With the opportunity of taking a few days off at the beginning of August my wife and I decided to visit the West coast of Scotland North of Ullapool. I had booked a room at the Inver Lodge Hotel based on the web site for a 2 night stay. The hotel was built around 1988 and has since been refurbished to a high standard and now has the Chez Roux Restaurant to augment the luxury.

On arrival the front of the hotel looks fairly bland but this is due to the era of it's build, however once you are inside the luxury stands out and the standard of 5 stars becomes apparent. The staff could not be more helpful and the check in was seamless as they already have your details at hand. We were shown to our room on the ground floor with a view overlooking Loch Inver, fabulous. The room was big, light and airy with a bed the size of a tennis court, everything was clean and the bathroom with bath and separate shower was large.

As we had booked for 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast we changed for our arranged time in the Chez Roux restaurant arriving 30 mins before to have a cocktail before eating. The barman is an expert in mixing cocktails and should not be missed, after choosing our meal we were then shown into the restaurant which is adorned by cartoons of Chef Albert Roux depicting eras of his life as a top chef. The food and service was top quality and the wine selection matched.

At the end of our 2 days we asked if we could stay a further night this was no problem even though the hotel was fully booked for that week, however we did have to move rooms but as all rooms are of a high standard we didn't mind. During that day out our luggage was moved and ready for when we came back.

I cant recommend this hotel enough and offers visitors a tranquil retreat of outstanding natural beauty. For anglers, walkers, bird-watchers or anyone who loves nature.

Room Tip: If you go and are offered room 12 then make sure that the hotel has sorted out the hot water pump in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyatt2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverlodge, General Manager at Inver Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your first visit to Inver Lodge and hope that you will be able to return before too long. Thank you from all the team for taking the time to write your review. Kind regards, Nicholas Gorton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
9.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
658 reviews
21.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
17.3 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
238 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inver Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inver Lodge Hotel

Address: Iolaire Road, Lochinver IV27 4LU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lochinver
Price Range: $269 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Inver Lodge Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five-star hotel surroundded by magnificent views. 21 Sea facing bedrooms, 2 also with mountain views. Spacious public areas and our Chez Roux restaurant has panoramic views over Lochinver bay and on towards the Isle of Harris. A truly special hotel, dogs are also welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inver Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inver Hotel Lochinver
Inver Lodge Hotel Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing