We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“beautiful comfortortable, simple, quality fun...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Glencorse

View from hill just above Glencorse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from hill just above Glencorse
View from Glencorse garden Glencorse Farmhouse - kitchen with aga & direct loch views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
View from hill just above Glencorse
View from Glencorse garden
Glencorse Farmhouse - kitchen with aga & direct loch views
view from the newly refurbished sitting/tv room with large picture windows
The newly refurbished TV room
French doors from TV/sitting room to patio with outside dining
view across Drumbeg Loch to Glencorse & Drumbeg village
Kitchen, overlooking Loch seats 10
Hand finished kitchen units
Upstairs double bedroom
Glencorse House from the garden
view of Drumbeg Loch which the house overlooks
Glencorse from the gate
'Snug' - the smaller sitting room of two with plenty of games & books
Open fire in small sitting room/snug
Luxury shower room
family bathroom
nearest sandy beach 15 mins by car, nearest shingle beach 5 mins walk
kids paradise!
Guest Book: 'Fabulous House - Great Location'
Guest Book: 'Great place to unwind..'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jessicagr...
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“beautiful comfortortable, simple, quality fun family hols.”
Reviewed July 20, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

the house was well equipped, relaxing and comfortable. loved the aga, silk throws, soft cotton bedding and massive kitchen table to congregate round.
the area is great - three beautiful sandy beaches all within (30 mins or so) short driving distance (clashnessie, clachtoll and alchmelvich). Clashnessie waterfall is well worth a little walk too.
also appreciated exploring the local walks from the house, the kids loved being next door to a shop - didn't mind nipping off to buy fresh bread and milk (and sweets) every morning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: aga and the beds
Liked least: no dishwasher tablets supplied and not enough toilet roll - annoying to have to buy/bring own!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
Thanks so much Jessica for this great review and for highlighting all our beautiful part of the world has to offer.. we really love sharing the house with people who enjoy and appreciate the effort we have tried to put in to make it cosy!! ..thanks again - and Haste Ye Back! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise W
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfort & Location”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I come over from Canada every year or two and my siblings & I rent a lovely place for us all to to stay. This was my first time in Assynt and I found the location of Glencorse perfect. All the rooms face the loch & we enjoyed seeing the highland cow there with her calf. One night a stag was drinking at the water's edge. A short walk up the hill to the viewing point was beautiful - especially late at night as the sun doesn't set until 11:30-pm -midnight. It rises again before 4am. The surrounding areas are stunning!

The wee shop beside it was very convenient and the hotel was steps away too. Not the warmest welcome there, but satisfactory.

The instructions for travelling there and for getting in were absolutely excellent and there was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for my brother who arranged the rental (we were celebrating his 60th), which was a kind and thoughtful gesture. There is also a folder with every piece of information you could wish to have from how to operate the toaster to badger watching opportunities.

The conservatory is a very comfortable TV long which we used a couple of times and appreciated the movies that were there. Snug with the fire was comfortable for curling up with a book (lots of books on the book shelf which is always lovely). The beds were extremely comfortable and I really appreciated the quality of the sheets and pillows and bedding. There were really good quality towels in abundance (lovely!) as well as a supply of beach towels - very thoughtful.

Upstairs there are 3 bedrooms (one with twin beds, the others with doubles and a twin in each) and a powder room (toilet & sink). Down stairs there's a double bedroom. There's also a bathroom with a tub, sink & toilet (the tub has a hand held shower, but no doors / curtains for a stand up shower) and another bathroom with a toilet, sink and lovely railhead / steam shower. Lots of Ikea furniture but the sofas weren't and were actually very comfortable. the place is decorated very tastefully.

I loved that there's a laundry (very convenient after wet mountain walks!) and also that there's lots of off road parking (tho all nose to tail, so we often just parked up at the viewing point to save shuffling cars)

At the entryway, there's a much appreciated area for muddy boots and jackets, however, it had a lot of baby equipment in it and I think that (unless someone's requested it), it would aesthetically appear better if it was stored out of sight and it would provide more space for shoes and bags and hiking sticks etc.

There was wifi I think (the young adults dealt with that) and a landline, but we received numerous calls for the owner as apparently her mobile number had been forwarded there.

The eat in kitchen is spacious and so bright (large windows looking to the loch as well as skylights) with big, light-coloured flag stone floors. The table is long and large - great for big family dinners, but a table cloth that fit would have been a nicer touch. It lends itself to being the hub of the house, with people gathering there. The flip side of this is that there is no separate formal dining room. For smaller groups, that's probably fine, but I found for 9 or 10 of us, because the kitchen imposes on the sitting / eating area (i.e. you have to walk over to the head of the table to get to the sink; the dishwasher and to get any crockery) it was an awkward arrangement. We like to cook formal, lovely sit-down meals in the evening and I found that, if people were relaxing at the table, there was very limited counter space for prep of a 10 person meal with starters, mains, lots of sides and dessert. I say this not as criticism, but so expectations are managed. If you love to cook & you have a big group, it really is less than ideal. For a place that sleeps 9 or 10 people, there's only a tiny, half-sized dishwasher. This means that you cannot wash all the dinner dishes in one or two sittings. Realistically, for a meal that uses a lot of pans and bowls in the prep, it means 2-3 dishwasher loads (and who wants to be doing dishes at midnight?) PLUS hand washing 2-3 sink loads. Even hand washing isn't convenient as it's only a single sink and there's only about 12-15 inches of counter space to stack dirty dishes. And, because I like to wash then rinse dishes, it was hemmed in and we had to use the head of the table for dirty dishes. So, while the kitchen is spacious and beautiful, from a cook's perspective, for me that's why I gave an overall rating of "very good" and not excellent. And the "very good" for the kitchen would be for space and aesthetics, but an "average" for functionality

A couple of other wee gripes (well, actually for me they were more than "wee", but I know I can be fussy!), which if attended to would make a stay even better:
We had to buy toilet paper as there was no extras; same with rubbish bags and, we bought detergent as there was only a bit in the bottle when we arrived - certainly not enough for 3 days, never mind a week. Same with dishwasher tabs -there were only FIVE left for us and we had to use the dishwasher multiple times a day because it's so tiny! There were no kitchen rolls. Everywhere else I have stayed of this calibre of place, I have not had to do shopping for such basic necessities & I found it petty & irksome, frankly
The vacuum cleaner has very poor suction and we could only find an outdoor type of broom for floor sweeping and the dust pan we found was dirty. I don't love to clean, but with 10 people in a house, floors need to be swept / vacuumed and mopped more than once a week and there was inadequate equipment for us to maintain the place to the standard we like with any ease.

As I said, apart from the functionality of the kitchen (which aesthetically is stunning) and my annoyance at the lack of basic housekeeping equipment & stores, the place was just lovely

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, views, beds & bedding, towels & comfy sofas
Liked least: Functionality of the kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Thank you for the overall review. We would just like to comment on a couple of points: Firstly - the house is advertised to let as sleeping 8 - absolute maximum 9, and we made a special exception for this group, which was 10 people, which is why the kitchen/dining may have felt rather cramped. The dishwasher does fit 8 place settings. Secondly - we would also just like to add there is actually no Ikea furniture at all at the house; the kitchen furniture is solid oak and all the other furniture (including all beds and linen) is of premium quality and in keeping with the period feel of the house. The only items which may perhaps have generated this comment are the coffee tables which are more modern rubberwood tables (but certainly not Ikea). We feel this is an important point to respond to , as we have gone to considerable effort and expense to make the feel of the house relatively luxurious compared to other holiday lets in our area and most of our guests have acknowledged and appreciated this.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BKz
Maplewood, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Glencorse. It is beautifully furnished and the kitchen well equipped. We had great weather, had drinks outside at the patio table! Clare was excellent communicating with us, kindly answering all questions. Be sure to visit the Little Soap and Candle Company, charming in every way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review Glencorse. I am so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay! We love it when our guests love the house as much as we do! As we say in the Highlands.. "Haste Ye Back!" Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barryqWir...
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed September 21, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful property in the heart of a beautiful part of Scotland, if you want to come home after a long day walking/sightseeing/whalewatching/whatever then this is the place to return to. There were just two of us, my wife and i therefore didn't need to use and of the 3 beds upstairs and the huge fully equipped kitchen including a gloriously large Aga, provided everything we wanted. There is a cosy TV room, and superb steam shower (which i probably used a little too much but it was so nice). Next door there is a brilliantly stocked store/deli and they even stocked our fridge freezer before we arrived once we emailed our initial provision list. Drumbeg is a great place to explore Assynt and beyond and Lochinver a pleasant local town although the 9 miles of single track road each morning and evening did prove a tad tiresome. We discoved (on a rainy morning) Culag Woods a truly magical plce that could have been designed in a Disney factory, the ground was covered in green moss with thousands upon thousands of mushrooms and toadstools peeping through and the paths led to a lochside waterfall and beach - bliss. There is a hotel next to the Deli but we did not go beyond the unwelcoming 'No Dogs' sign on the door. All in all i would say this is a great place to stay for couples families or large groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and tranquility
Liked least: the road in and out
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ueli L
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2016
Vielen Dank! I am really pleased you all enjoyed the house and your stay - and thanks for sharing information about some of the beautiful places to visit locally. Clare
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing