We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lochinver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochinver Bunkhouse
Gloucestershire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Looking for accommodation, we looked out the Lochinver Mission.
It turned out to be a real find. It's a bunkhouse/hostel basically - well-equipped, clean and modern and very reasonably priced. As there were only two other guests we felt as if we had hired a private apartment.
Plus we had a great welcome from Angie and her colleagues. There's a little cafe on the ground floor where you can get delicious, very reasonably priced meals.
Would have been happy to stay a week or two.
Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Only looked at the one we stayed in (which was fine)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omnivorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
8
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

VERY MUCH RECOMMENDED!
LOCHINVER MISSION (4 stars) was open in 2010 so everything is still new and fresh.
it's a very clean, quiet and warm place. private car park. on-site cafe.
it is the best hostel, highest standard i've ever stayed in. liked it so much, stayed 4 nights instead of 2.
(deers like to come in for breakfast early morning, just in front of our window! 3 consecutive mornings, amazing)
price from £18 pp/night (we had a 4 bed room, whole stay only to ourselves)
the hostel is run by angie who once was a fire engine driver (for 11 years!) and is a cool, warm hearted lady :) thumbs up!!!
facilities -superb. all new. bathrooms good size and clean. kitchen/living room large, big LED tv, stereo system, board games, books and guides.
very warm.

Room Tip: give them a call and arrange for a private room. we were there may bank holiday weekend and it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ela106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This place is modern, clean and good value. We had bunk beds in a room for four and there were great loos and showers. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the kitchen facilities upstairs (where we had breakfast) were excellent.
And it's right at the beginning of the Sutherland Trail, making it a great jumping off point for climbing Suilven in the morning. Perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuthieDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond N Yorks. UK
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I never stopped at the bunkhouse but called into the cafe just as they were opening on Monday 29/4/13. Enjoyed great sausage and egg buns at very reasonable prices served by friendly staff. In fact the comprehensive menu is all very reasonably priced with profits going back into the community, which is just another reason to call in and enjoy the food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colgregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Very modern with leather sofas, TV and a well equipped kitchen. Had a great night sleep (the place was quiet so I ended up with a room to myself) and I was leaving early but they still put the continental breakfast out for me (included in the price). Next time I'm in Lochinver I will be staying here for sure and if not in a hurry would happily pay the extra £2 for the "breakfast upgrade" to a full cooked breakfast. Large free car park.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the habour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Dizzle14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lochinver has always been missing hostel type accommodation until now. It is the former Fisherman`s Mission and has been refitted as a fine, modern hostel with an attached cafe to boot.
Staff were very friendly & gave me a full tour of the hostel which was very clean throughout.
Excellent showers, good dorm accommodation & a super lounge with leather sofa`s, table & HD TV on the wall.
The Cafe on the ground floor of the hostel is also excellent, with both a daytime & evening menu. I enjoyed sea bass one evening & pizza the next.
The location is great giving easy access to hikes up the classic Assynt hills of Suilven, Canisp &
Quinag, and also close to the fine beaches of Achmelvich & Clachtoll.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Camasunary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

What a shame we only had one night at the Lochiver Mission on our cycle tour. We arrived during the melee of the Assynt Highland Games, which were right outside the hostel, and their cafe was very busy, but we were readily shown our room and shown the facilities and everyone was really friendly. A nicely equipped kitchen (there might be a shortage of pans if all occupants wanted to cook) and a couple of luxurious leather sofas and a big tv made for very comfortable stay. We didn't want to leave! We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djembeKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.4 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
376 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rose Guest House
The Rose Guest House
#6 of 10 in Lochinver
220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lochinver Holiday Lodges
Lochinver Holiday Lodges
#2 of 5 in Lochinver
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suil-na-Mara
Suil-na-Mara
#4 of 10 in Lochinver
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochinver Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochinver Bunkhouse

Property: Lochinver Bunkhouse
Address: | Culag Park, Lochinver IV27 4LE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lochinver
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lochinver Bunkhouse accommodation has 13 single bunks and 1 double bunk. The accommodation is set over three shared dorm rooms: Curlew 6 beds, Tern 4 beds and Heron 3 single beds and one double bed (family room). The rooms are booked on a self catering basis per person. Please note there is only one double bed in a shared dorm, suitable for families. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lochinver Bunkhouse Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing