We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“magical”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet
Kirkaig Chalet No1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Chalet
Kirkaig Chalet No1
Kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
double room
Twin bedroom
Hall
Bathroom
Sunset from chalet lounge window
Assynt coast
Deer in Garden Kirkaig
Traffic Jam Assynt
Seals at Loch Roe
Lochinver harbour
Sunset view from Chalet window
Clachtoll Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lochinver, Caithness and Sutherland, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
noah748
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“magical”
Reviewed September 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

thank you - we had a great stay and the property was warm and snug to come back to each evening. Great location and Lochinver was a very warm welcoming town!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigandG...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for things to do in the Assynt Area with Gorgeous view of Bay”
Reviewed June 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I came to this chalet with my partner in May & we had a great week. We sat on the balcony a few nights & seen the Deer most nights. We found the chalets very clean & comfortable. We loved taking the car round to the sandy beaches at Achmelvich & Clachtoll. We liked the Culag woods walk & the Leitir Easaidh All-abilities walk with stunning views. We climbed Stac Pollaidh & hoping to do Suilven next time. The chalets are an ideal base to explore the surrounding area. I'd recommend Peet's Restaurant in Lochinver for a meal as well. I seen another review about scratched pots - there was no scratched pots (so obviously been replaced). I'll be back at this chalet, loved the rural location away from my busy home life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“area and quietness compensate other things”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Based with an unspoilt view to the bay, you can get a comfortable possibility to stay for a few days. If you like watching 2 and 4 legged animals outside as well as 6 and 8 legged inside and don‘t have a problem with unfortunately third class kitchen utensil (scratched pots, ...), you can think about booking it. Deer close to the veranda every day is nice to see, but unfortunately because of deer all around, this is an area with lots of ticks, so you need to prepare against tick bites! Pre-payment is obligatory and will take a fee by the bank twice (initial and final payment). You can start outside activities from right there or just enjoy relaxation and can get everything you need for self-catering and a few nice restaurants in near Lochinver. New buldings are now around, so maybe the pictures you discover anywhere online are out-dated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area view
Liked least: Payment transaction
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YTF
Northants, UK
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing stay”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had driven past several times on previous holidays and thought "What a great location!". We could only stay 4 nights but really enjoyed the stay. With just two of us there was stacks of room - for 4 it might be a bit tight. We'll equipped (a dishwasher would always be nice). Double bed was not very comfy. Eating breakfast or evening meals looking out across the bay from the panoramic window was memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and outlook was outstanding
Liked least: Bedrooms need refreshing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chuck B
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb location at Inverkirkaig”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed six nights and thoroughly enjoyed this clean, comfortable cabin as our base for walking/hiking in the Assynt area. The cabin has a spectacular view of the bay and is surrounded by sheep pasture frequented by a half dozen red deer in the evening. We had one day of inclement weather, and the cabin heated very nicely. The shower had good water pressure and was very efficient with instant-hot electric heated water. The only minor nuisance was prepayment as an international client due to the very high costs of bank tranfers compared to within the UK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: payment method
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 19, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location and views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carry v
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing