We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Suil-na-Mara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suil-na-Mara
Ranked #4 of 10 Lochinver B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A warm and friendly welcome at the Suil na Mara B & B. Lovely room with great
views, very clean and well equipped. Good service, the breakfast was excellent.
We will stay again when visiting Lochinver and we can highly recommend tis B & B!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a great B&B. The room was very clean, great water pressure in the bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. We loved the 'wee dram' that was left in the room, in fact this was the only B&B that offered this, even though we stayed in many B&B's in Scotland and some were more expensive than this one. The breakfast was great and wifi was also available in the room. The view from the top of the hill is lovely as well. The driveway is very steep, but we had no problems. Would not hesitate to book this place again if I am every lucky enough to be in area again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrisbaneHoneyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We received a warm and gracious welcome even though we arrived unannounced and without a booking. Suil-na- mara is a modern home at the edge of the village and has beautiful views of the ocean and surrounding hills. Our room was tastefully decorated and the beds were comfortable. Everything was clean and fresh. Davey enjoyed the 'wee dram' left in our room.
Breakfast was great and kept us going until well into the afternoon.
Lochinver is a delightful spot and we even managed to see an otter crossing the road just up from the b&b.
Hopefully we will make it back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celticsheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

If you are looking for a quiet peaceful location with lovely views on the high position of this B&B witha comfortable spacious room then do not hesitate.Breakfast is very good and well presented.This house is up a very steep hill which you must go up in 1st gear but ample parking and we had our packed lunch on the terrace one day as there is a nice patio and picnic seating all with great views Ideal spot if you need to get away from a hectic life as Rhona does not shove you out the door you are free to come in and out as you please..Lots of nice places nearby to visit Achmelvich,Clachtol Drumbeg all nice walks around them and super beaches.
Eating out in Lochinver is limited The Caberfeigh is nice and food good as long as you are only staying in the area for a few days as they serve peas with everything.
Next door is the Bistro who have a better choice but give them both a try you will not be dissapointed.Don't bother with the Culag Hotel it is very tired and run down. I feel rested after my 3 day break

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inverbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This is a great B&B in the beautiful village of Lochinver on the North West coast of Sutherland.

The landlady is lovely; really welcoming and helpful. The house is spotlessly clean, well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, and there's even a free dram in your room should you want a drink before you retire for the night! Cannot recommend this highly enough, and I certainly hope I find a reason to go back.

The only caveat would be that the driveway is very steep (and quite dark at night), so you need to have your wits about you if you're meandering back from the village pub!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ali6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suilnamara, owner at Suil-na-Mara, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2009

Thankyou very much for your kind words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lvds335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochinver
0.3 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
398 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Park House B & B
Park House B & B
#6 of 10 in Lochinver
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Davar Guest House
Davar Guest House
#2 of 10 in Lochinver
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rose Guest House
The Rose Guest House
#7 of 10 in Lochinver
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Old Bakery B&B
The Old Bakery B&B
#8 of 10 in Lochinver
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suil-na-Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suil-na-Mara

Address: Inver | Sutherland, Lochinver IV27 4LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Caithness and Sutherland > Lochinver
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lochinver
Price Range: $104 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suil na Mara is a small family bed and breakfast situated in the village of Lochinver. There are stunning views of the harbour and the bay from both of the en-suite bedrooms. The price of a room is £70 per night based on two people sharing and this includes a hearty Scottish breakfast of your choice. There are plenty of beautiful eateries within walking distance and beautiful beaches only a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suil-na-Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suil-Na-Mara Lochinver, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing