We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good B&B, but not a great one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spent some time finding a good B&B from which to explore Loch Lomond and the Trossachs and chose Airlie because of it's central but quiet location and the size of the bedrooms.

When we arrived, our first impressions were good - there is ample parking, the room was large, bright and airy, and the bed was very comfy. However, we found the shower a little weak and the TV was initially tricky to operate.

Our hosts were polite and friendly but we felt our other guests received more help and advice, and a few too many of our belongings had been rearranged when we returned in the evening which we felt was a little unnecessary.

Also, compared to the quality of the bed, the breakfast was disappointing - there weren't many alternatives to a cooked breakfast, and the quality of the food was a little lacking.

All in all, it's an OK B&B - especially for the price - in a good location, but certain aspects could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClioChick7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 86 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

After a 10 mile hike I luxuriated in a beautiful deep, stylish bath. I loved the slate floor in the spacious bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable and the view to the front was lovely. The best B&B I stayed on during walking the Rob Roy Way. I would definitely stay there again. Jackie was very welcoming.

Room Tip: I think the room was named after Loch Doine
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary_beadsite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

My hubby, 2 westies and myself had a lovely stay at this b&b. The room was a great size and very, very clean. The westies were made most welcome and nothing was a problem. Had a lovely meal in the Strathyre Inn & Bistro where the dogs were also welcome in the bar. Had a drink in the pub next door which is a bit tired looking but the people are very nice who run it. Will definitely be back again

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Great location for travelling around trossachs and perthshire .Beautiful clean room and house,comfy beds,much better than some hotels I've been in. Friendly pub next door and Strathyre Inn good for food .Jackie and Ray very friendly and accomodating, nice breakfast. If I had to say anything on the downside, I feel 4 o'clock arrival time is a bit late, especially when no guests are in, but it wouldn't put me off going .We intend to visit in early spring again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

My wife and I had the great pleasure to spend one night at ‘Airlie House’, Strathyre, Scotland. We were extremely impressed with many aspects of this B&B, in particular, the friendliness of the owners, Jackie and Ray, who made it seem like nothing was too much trouble. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and highlighted many of the natural and historic attractions in this area.

Our room was; spacious, well appointed and immaculately clean with a very comfortable bed. Our breakfast was served in a most delightful room with no meal request being too much trouble.

We commend Jackie and Ray’s B&B to anyone who is travelling through this lovely part of the countryside or to those who wish to escape for a while. Unfortunately, having only one day, we were able to merely scratch the surface of Strathyre. This is the second time we have stayed at Arlie House and if we are fortunate enough to be in this picturesque part of the world, we will certainly be staying with Jackie and Ray again.

Thank you Jackie and Ray.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

After a stay on Mull camping (and getting bitten to death by midges) we allowed ourselves a night of luxury in Strathyre before returning south of the border. We are so glad we did. First sight of the B&B from the road is impressive. The house is beautifully kept, and very clean. We had the one with the big modern bathroom (large shower and big bath) which was very welcome after roughing it for a week. It's the one on someone else's pictures with the skylight visible. Jackie and Ray are lovely hosts. Very welcoming, informative and helpful, recommending where to eat and drink locally. The Inn just down the road does wonderful food and the staff are very friendly. Same can be said for the Munro Inn next door to B&B where we had a few drinks amongst friendly locals. Our breakfast was the best I have ever had in a B&B, and consisted of Croissants, fruit salad, cereal, toast, and a choice of cooked breakfasts depending on your hearts desire. Can't remember them all but my choice was the full 'Scottish' breakfast and it was fantastic, set me up for the day! Only sorry we were passing through and didn't get to stay longer to visit the area. The hosts felt like friends and this made the stay all the more enjoyable. Ten out of Ten from us!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassienackieCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Couldn't have picked a better place. Perfectly situated and accesible, wonderful, comfortable and spotless room, hearty breakfast and fantastic hosts. Jackie was helpful and recommeded some very interesting spots in the area. No doubt we would repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanaArce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
4.7 mi away
Clachan Cottage Hotel
Clachan Cottage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lochearnhead
801 reviews
7.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
13.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosebank House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Creagan House
Creagan House
#2 of 6 in Strathyre
125 reviews
7.1 mi away
Annfield Guest House
Annfield Guest House
#3 of 34 in Callander
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Airlie House Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range: $114 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Airlie House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie House Bed And Breakfast Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing