We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly and helpful staff, but shabby room”
Review of The White Stag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Stag
Ranked #5 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly and helpful staff, but shabby room”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

i stayed here for one night - single occupancy of a double room. the staff were nice and welcoming, and at first the room seemed fine. but it was pretty down-at-heel really - thin curtains, tv didn't seem to work, uncomfortable duvet and pillows, etc. there was lots of noise from the pub downstairs, which i didn't mind - seems unreasonable to object to people enjoying a friday night drink, after all - but there was an electrics cupboard adjacent to my bedroom wall which whirred and ticked all night long. like having a loud and slightly fast clock in the room. i ended up sleeping on the bathroom floor to get away from the noise. when i explained to the staff in the morning they took £10 off the bill. i'd suggest that the rooms would benefit from a freshen up and a bit of care and attention to make them more comfortable and appealing.

Room Tip: avoid room 6 if you're likely to be troubled by ticking noises from the electrics cupboard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AilsaCelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
27
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed here for a night with friends on a cycling tour. great bar and very friendly and helpful staff. Food perfect for hungry folk - recommend the chefs chilli. Breakfast again perfect for folk heading out for a day on the hills. Rooms basic but fine if you are only looking to shower and sleeep.

Will definitely be back if looking for a stopover in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stopped here at 4.30pm to have a meal after seeing board outside saying food served all day. Parked the car walked back went in and guess what no food being served. We would have to wait for half an hour. The staff made no apology did not offer an alternative or encourage us to stay by asking if we wanted a drink or coffee. This was the second restuarant that we tried in Strathyre with the same result. However all was not lost as we went on to Callander and had a meal at the superb Mhor Fish.

Why have a notice outside?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Strathyre hotels

Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Had a lovely three night stay with my husband and our dog. Room was adequate for a base for seeing the area. Attention to detail could be better. Eg the room had been recently decorated and new carpet but the blind in the bathroom needed changing and the windows still had putty on from a recent repair but it was perfectly clean. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. We ate in the bar each evening and had three wonderful meals wth a good crowd of locals. The dog was welcome anywhere. Breakfasts were superb. I would recommend to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jofog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked 2 nights for 3 people and 2 dogs, reasonably priced, shown room and was very disappointed, window smashed, door had been smashed in, bath was covered in white paint/cleaner and was badly stained. Tv the smallest I've seen for years. Asked if there was another room, told only 1 available over bar but it would be noisy until 1am. Not ideal so decided we would give the original room a go but when we went to unpack there were no cupboards or even shelves to hang your clothes on!!

Decided that enough was enough and informed the staff that we were not staying, on the plus side they refunded our deposit of 1 nights stay which was decent off them.

I wouldn't recommend this room to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cork11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked two nights in a family room with a garden view, checked out after one night. On arrival we had to wait to be shown to our room which was to the front of the building overlooking the main road and a building site opposite. We were informed that the rear facing family room overlooking the garden was not available because "we have the builders in", Would have been nice if they had informed us of this on booking as it was plain to see that the builders had been there for some time. Only one other room was taken so they were not bursting at the seams.
The rear fire escape passage way was blocked with building materials when we arrived but that evening the passageway had been partially cleared although sheets of plaster board and skirting boards remained. This is not simply an inconvenience but a legal requirement to have no obstructions in the fire escape route and is the sole responsibility of the owners.
The room we had been given was a small double that had been re-arranged to include a single for our son. This involved relocation of the double that now blocked access to the wardrobe and still only allowed minimal space between the beds. The shower room had no fan and the only ventilation was a skylight that had a net curtain held in place with drawing pins so opening the window required removal of the pins. There were no flat surfaces in the shower room to put anything on so toothpaste, cosmetics etc had to be placed on the floor.
The bar downstairs was noisy til 1.00 am, this was on a Wednesday night. Followed about 15 minutes later by a staff member dragging an advertising board across the pavement outside. The road was not too busy during the night but the HGV's that did pass were thundering by well over the speed limit and created a vacuum in the room as they passed.
After a sleepless night we arrived downstairs around 8.20 am for breakfast and the place was still "asleep". We saw the owner outside taking a brewery delivery and I raised my complaints and his attitude was very poor. I told him that we would not be staying for the second night and his response was " well if you don't like it" and he proceeded to walk away. At no point did he attempt to resolve the issues other than to walk away and bury his head in the sand. We left without breakfast.
The general overview of the hotel is that it is "very tired" and if you want to stay in a hotel that is barely adquate with an owner with a like it or lump it mentality then you probably deserve this hostelry as much as it deserves you. It hasn't hit rock bottom yet................... they are still digging.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Much better eating place than some other options in this area, the food here is quite nice. Usually a couple of real ales to choose from too. It gets very busy on summer weekend evenings, so booking would be a good idea. Beer garden round the back gets you away from the noisy and busy road. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable. The only negative would be that the place in general, and the toilets in particular, could do with freshening up.

Room Tip: Have only eaten here, not slept, but it would be essential to get a room facing the back. The road i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_King_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
7.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Munro Inn
The Munro Inn
#1 of 2 in Strathyre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Airlie House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Creagan House
Creagan House
#1 of 6 in Strathyre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 34 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Stag

Property: The White Stag
Address: Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland (Formerly Inn at Strathyre)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Stag 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Expedia so you can book your The White Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Stag Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing