We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest place to eat in this area.”
Review of The White Stag

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Stag
Ranked #4 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nicest place to eat in this area.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Much better eating place than some other options in this area, the food here is quite nice. Usually a couple of real ales to choose from too. It gets very busy on summer weekend evenings, so booking would be a good idea. Beer garden round the back gets you away from the noisy and busy road. Prices for food and drink are very reasonable. The only negative would be that the place in general, and the toilets in particular, could do with freshening up.

Room Tip: Have only eaten here, not slept, but it would be essential to get a room facing the back. The road i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_King_Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    31
    12
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
27
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
west lothian
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

stayed here on walking the rob roy way. dinner and breakfast were very good,owner and bar staff very friendly a good start for our long walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The owners did everything to make life easy - moving beds to accomodate us all and being available for bag drops etc. Bar manager was equally fantastic, making us feel very at home after a hard days walk. Good selection of beers/whiskies - and REALLY good food. Heating in the rooms is powerful when u turn radiators on even in the winter. Very dog friendly, only downside was that our rooms were above the bar - still had pretty good sleep though. 0830 breakfast, but sure they could do earlier if you have to set off.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vurv
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The Inn at Strathyre is everything a country inn should be. We chose the Inn primarily as it welcomes dogs in both the bedrooms and the common areas. We had two rooms and both were roomy and comfortable. The owners and staff are friendly as are the locals. A roaring fire made the bar feel warm and welcoming. The food is delicious, with the home-made bread being the star of the show for me. My father said the steak was the best he’d ever had – cooked to perfection and so fresh it was probably walking around in a field the day before. There is also a good children’s menu.
I also agree with the other reviews on here that breakfast was excellent – although I’d liked to have seen more of that home-made bread! We came away feeling relaxed and yes…. a few pounds heavier! We’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If wifi is important to have in your room make sure you don't get room 7 as the signal does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocochocoholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stopped off here on our way back from the North of Scotland. The owners and staff are welcoming: cask ales on tap, and above-average food. Our room was clean & comfortable. I left my hat at the Inn, and the landlady very kindly posted it back to me. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brailsford_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Friendly welcome. Excellent meals. Interesting beers. Good room, though the view wasn't that exciting. Used the local bus service to get here, and a baggage transfer service from Kingshouse to transport luggage to Killin and onwards.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

9 of us went up at the weekend to have a drive around some brilliant scottish roads and have a general laiugh. hotel is great. clean ,warm, good well stocked bar and the breakfasts and evening meals were excellent. ten out of ten to the staff for effort and welcome .biker friendly as well !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
11.1 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
263 reviews
12.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
0.4 mi away
Creagan House
Creagan House
#1 of 6 in Strathyre
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Stag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Stag

Property: The White Stag
Address: Main Street, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8NA, Scotland (Formerly Inn at Strathyre)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Stag 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The White Stag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Stag Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing