We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very cosy & welcoming”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Balvaig Log Cabin

Balvaig Log Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balvaig Log Cabin
Comfortable lounge Log burner with plentiful supply of logs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Balvaig Log Cabin
Comfortable lounge
Log burner with plentiful supply of logs
New kitchen
Kitchen
Rear of cabin showing river in foreground
View from bunk room
Shower Room
View of River Balvaig from bridge bordering cabin estate
Loch Lubnaig
Abundant wildlife can be spotted
Swimming in river at rear of cabin with Ben Ledi in background
Cabin in winter, roof just visible
Loch Venachar
Hill walk up Ben Shian with Loch Lubnaig in background
Cabin in centre of photo showing close proximity to village amenities
Balquhidder neighbours
About to launch from back garden
Kayaks can enter the river right from the riverbank behind the cabin
Nearby shingle beach downstream at suspension bridge over River Balvaig
Loads of space to yourself around the cabin
Proximity of river at rear of cabin and a lovely place to sit and listen to the water
Bluebell woods adjacent to cabin
Bridge over Balvaig taken from estate river bank
View from front deck.
Canoeists from Loch Voil paddling down the River Balvaig to Loch Lubnaig
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick B
Twickenham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very cosy & welcoming”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Very lovely log cabin with all facilities in a quiet setting - we really enjoyed our stay last week, and saw plenty of local wildlife - buzzards, weasel, field mice, jay, chaffinches, blue tits. Very handy for everything and Karen has provided lots of information on activities & places to visit - we trekked up Ben Ledi, went to Killin for the Highland Games & also kayaking, the Blair Drummond Safari Park (very good - you can take picnic or BBQ stuff), and Edinburgh (heaving in August with tourists & the festival but still pretty views, park at the Hermiston Park & Ride). Scottish weather was also reasonably kind to us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil Y
1 review
“Wow”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned after a 10 day visit to Strathyre where we stayed at Karen's amazing log cabin. This really is home from home with all the amenities of the most modern of houses. Ideally situated for easy commute to all the various site seeing opportunities around the area, Pitlochry and the fish ladder and dam, Stirling with its Castle and the Wallace monument, Killin, Lochearnhead and Loch Katrine to name but a few, all well worth a visit. Or simply take a walk around the cabin along one of the many way marked routes. Plenty of local places to eat and drink with The Broch, The Inn and Mhor 84 all in close range. Our favourite though had to The Byre just past Brg o Turk, great atmosphere and great food and very reasonable prices too. I would highly recommend the cabin to anyone wanting a relaxing break or a more adventurous action packed holiday. Were certainly hoping that we will return in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaaaaaabb...
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just back from a 4 night stay, and really enjoyed it. The cabin was very well equipped and was spotlessly clean. No complaints at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loujon1
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic log cabin in an amazing place..!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a very lovely week at this fabulous cabin.It certainly has the WOW factor!!
The cabin itself is very comfortable and fully equipped with everything you could possibly need - and then some! The wood stove was lovely to come back to each evening as it made the whole place so warm and cosy. The cabin is set in fabulous grounds,great for the children to explore and there was plenty of wildlife to see in the area.
The cabin is in a great location for exploring and sightseeing.
Half an hour away is Dunblane were we got on the train to Edinburgh for the day. We drove to Stirling in about half an hour ,fabulous castle and town. We also went to Doune castle which is about 25 mins away.Also about half an hours drive away is a little town called Killin were we hired bikes and kayaks for the day- fantastic!
Thank you very much Karen and Alex ..we were very sad to leave this fabulous place ..would love to go back some day..!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel806
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“A truly beautiful log cabin!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Enjoyed a great mid week break to relax and recharge. A lovely little cabin that felt a real home from home. Great base for exploring the National Park. Saw plenty of lochs plus the only lake in Scotland. Great ale and atmosphere at the Lade Inn. Possibly the best food I've ever had at Mhor 84 and live music! Even got three days of sunshine! Loved waking up each morning and going out on the balcony to see how much snow had fallen on the tops of the hills - a beautiful view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor S
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Cosy Honeymoon Location”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The cabin itself was picturesque in a safe area with a few similar cabins nearby (far away enough to not feel cramped).
Karen and family met us upon arrival, showed us around and we're super friendly and helpful in all communications. . Bathroom was clean, log burner was a fab novelty and loads of info about restaurants and activities in the area was provided. Eg walks, horse riding, mountain bike rental.

There were lots of homely touches like cooking equipment and a few bits like sugar and tea bags as well as a modern DVD collection which were useful and thoughtful on the owners part.

The village itself has a wee shop which is 5 mins walk away and the next large town is about 15-20 mins drive.
We were close enough to go to Edinburgh Zoo which was 1.20h drive time and cheap as chip for the experience. We had a wonderful honeymoon and some of the nicest meals we have ever eaten in the surrounding area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful homeliness
Liked least: Wifi access
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayer...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in late September and the scenery in this area is simply breathtaking, to the north you have numerous loch's and many cute little towns and to the south you have the more major cities and towns.

Firstly the log cabin itself, if you are thinking about staying in one especially for the first time you cannot go wrong with this one. From the outside its exactly how a log cabin should look and the inside is most certainly cosy!
All the facilities you could possibly need are provided and the living area with the fire is very to nice relax in after a day out. Its also very peaceful which is exactly what we were looking for and was very clean too.

If you want to venture further afield do not hesitate, we used the train from Dunblane which was a short drive and was easy to park at, from there we went to Edinburgh which was only an hour which I can also highly recommend.

All in all we had an amazing few days and cannot recommend this cabin highly enough, we hope to be back again one day that's for sure!

Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cabin and the surroundings
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing