We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail”
Review of Creagan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creagan House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Small restaurant with rooms professionally run by owners with much attention to detail. Very good quality food at reasonable prices served in a rather quirky 'Baronial' dining room. Small but comfortable bedroom. Close to main road but quiet at rear. Everything about the hotel was well thought out and presented.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllanKnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2007

Found this wonderful 'restaurant with rooms' on this website when looking for a place near Loch Lomond, and it didn't disappoint.

The rooms are well-looked after and very comfortable, with a warm welcome and real attention to detail. The real pull is the food though. From breakfast to dinner, this is gourmet eating, with a selection of wines and whiskies to match. Before and after dinner you get to meet the other guests and enjoy a drink if you want, and no judgement if you don't.

Although it isn't cheap, and you wouldn't want to stay for more than a few days (the quality food would weigh you down after that!), this is a perfect place for a special occasion, with wondeful walks and scenery all around.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burttheswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2007

Stayed for one night on our way home from a Scottish holiday and can only echo the praise from previous reviewers. When we arrived our room was not quite ready, but we were welcomed at the door by Cherry Gunn and immediately offered tea and homemade shortbread . Our room was delightfully and thoughtfully furnished and the bathroom immaculate with quality toiletries and towels. The food in the wonderful dining room was of the highest standard and obviously lovingly prepared by Gordon who laboured all evening in the kitchen. We were so very pleased that there was no background music - the best atmosphere is created by the chatter of happy guests! Breakfast is of the same outstanding quality, with local and homemade produce. What a remarkable pair Cherry and Gordon are and how hard they work to make this hotel so memorable. We will certainly return on any future trip north of the border!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molecatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Our visit to Creagan House was all too short! Badly planned driving (on our part) didn't see us arrive until way too late to enjoy what (based on next morning breakfast) would have been a spectacular evening meal, hosted by the lovely Cherry and Gordon Gunn. On our honeymoon, they gave us the four poster bed and I loved the bathroom, which was spotlessly clean. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and we said goodbye all too soon.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeoffnShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We have just returned from our second visit this year to this hotel. As before we could not fault anything.

Our room was immaculate and had everything we could want from fresh flowers to Molton Brown toiletries (no TV but you don't need one). The bathroom was spacious, spotless and the shower was nice and powerful.

The best bit, as before, was the food. It was delicious and served in the baronial dining hall - a lovely spacious room to which the pictures on the hotel website do not do justice. The wine and whisky lists were varied and extensive.

The whole place is a credit to Cherry and Gordon.

We will be back (very soon hopefully)

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

We stayed at Creagan House for 3 days during a 10 day holiday in Scotland and I cannot stress how good this place is. It is run by the owners and the customer service is outstanding. The room was beautifully furnished with lots of little extras and was exceptionally clean. This is not the whole story however. The food must be eaten to be believed and is some of the best we have been served. Its based on french cuisine but with fresh scottish ingredients and the menus change daily. The wine list is impressive too. The food is served in an impressive dining room and adds to the occasion.

If you are wondering about booking here - take a tip from an experienced traveller - you won't get better - book it now, go and enjoy. We'll certainly be back for more. We are missing the food already. Thanks Cherry and Gordon, you are true pros.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Middlesex
27
Reviewed July 15, 2006

A warm welcome from Cherry awaited us on our arrival at Creagan House. We were given the only 4 poster room which was very nice and the en-suite bathroom had lovely soaps and fluffy towels and even one towelling robe. We found Cherry to be very friendly and helpful but saw very little of Gordon who spent all his time in the kitchen. It appeared that Cherry and Gordon run the hotel and restaurant singlehandedly.

The restaurant is in a large 'baronial room' which is completely without atmosphere. There are probably about 10 tables in this room. On the days that we were there only three were in use and everyone spoke in whispered voices. There was no background music and the only sounds that could be heard were of cutlery scraping across the plates. Gordon is a perfefctionist and the quality of his food is wonderful, However, you must be prepared to wait up to half an hour for your meal, or even the fabulous scrambled eggs with smoked salmon that he makes for breakfast. If you can put up with this, then its definitely worth the visit.

Incidentaly, on the night that we were there, a guest told Cherry that a bat had just come in her bedroom window and had followed her into the hall. This didnt seem to cause surprise to either Cherry or Gordon. Apparently there is a colony of bats that live at the back of the house and we were told that it was unusual for them to fly into the house (usually to look for a missing baby). Eventually Cherry was able to persuade the bat out of the window!

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
24.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
10.4 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creagan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creagan House

Address: Strathyre | Callander, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8ND, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range: $171 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creagan House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creagan is a devil to define, but a delight to find! For an escape from life's fast lane and a real taste of Scotland, a visit to Creagan House is an experience never to be forgotten. This cosy farmhouse is only an hour from Edinburgh or Glasgow, but it feels like a million miles once inside, surrounded as it is by gorgeous highland scenery. An ideal base for a special occasion, whilst touring, or for a longer stay to explore the wealth of attractions and activities within easy reach. A renowned Restaurant with Rooms, where food is, without question, the heart of the house. It is country house cooking in the modern form, classically French based, using the best quality fresh, locally sourced produce whenever possible. Gordon and Cherry Gunn have owned, and continually improved this unique outpost of highland hospitality for 28 years and are proud of their many awards earned each year. These include 5 star Restaurant with Rooms Gold Award from VisitScotland and the AA. You can be assured of a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Creagan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creagan House Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing