We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top marks for Creagan House”
Review of Creagan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Creagan House
Ranked #2 of 6 Strathyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Our second stay at Creagan House. Cherry provides excellent service & a very warm welcome while Gordon produces 1st class food from the kitchen. They are rightly very proud of their wee hotel, the rooms are comfortable & spotless & Gordon takes great pride in using the best quality local ingredients in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

We have been visitors to Creagan for almost 20 years, having chosen it at first because they welcome dogs. We have broken our rule (of not going back to the same place twice) many times since that initial visit because we like it so much. It is in a lovely spot; the house and the rooms are comfortable and Cherry is very welcoming. Gordon’s food is first class: an emphasis on good local produce, always served with an interesting twist. Service is second to none.

This is a very special place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjohn_Galan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We've just taken my schoolfriend and her husband to Creagan for their first time as a surprise to celebrate their 25th Wedding Anniversary and we all had a fabulous time. The food was exceptional as usual and Cherry and Gordon happily went out of their way to cater for visitors with a restricted diet. Creagan is full of character with lovely touches in the very comfy and pretty bedrooms and Cherry is a very friendly and welcoming hostess. We even saw red squirrels, my first ever. We were only there one night but we all felt we'd been on holiday, we were so relaxed. We just can't praise Creagan enough - the 4 of us are planning a return trip soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It's the innkeepers that make the inn and Cherry and Gordon are the best. You'll be made to feel at home and you'll eat like a King. Quiet clean rooms. Good walking/hiking and great scenery nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 65claudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Fabulous venue - exquisite dining experience; a very warm welcome & interesting conversation throughout our stay

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NixEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

I cannot emphasise too strongly what an absolute delight it is to stay at Creagan. We are always most warmly welcomed by the friendly, caring, professional 'front of house' Cherry Gunn. Her large wine list, which she selects most carefully and is happy to give advice upon, compliments the cuisine and is very fairly priced.
Cherry endeavours to make certain that all guests feel welcome and that their visit is very important to both her and to the chef, her husband Gordon.
Cherry's.attention to detail and to the every need of guests is very evident both in the baronial style dining hall and in the bedrooms.
Gordon is a very experienced a talented chef who takes such pride in preparing and cooking all the meals himself using ,whenever possible, locally sourced produce. To accompany the main course he always serves four different vegetables prepared in such a way that they compliment any of the four different dishes offered.
Breakfast is another delight where you can ask for a little, such as beautiful scrambled eggs or a full Scottish breakfast with a choice of smoked or unsmoked bacon!
Nothing is too much trouble either for Cherry or for Gordon. We always feel totally at one within the relaxing atmosphere of Creagan House, with the dedicated and hard-working owners and the beautiful surrounding Highland countryside.
This is why we return year after year and have every confidence in recommending Creagan.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed at Creagan, for the umpteenth time, up and down on the road to the isles earlier this month. From Cherry's warm welcome to Gordon's farewell wave from the kitchen window it was as good as we have come to expect over the years, and the perfect place in which to relax to recover from work and a long drive and to prepare for the drive home at the end of a holiday. The food was excellent - imaginative and beautifully cooked, and we always enjoy sampling different wines from the well-sourced wine-list. We have stayed in a number of hotels, most of them with rosettes for the food, and good ratings, but we have just not found anywhere as consistently clean and comfortable. Moreover, we rate all breakfasts against Gordon's and none compares with the quality and taste of locally sourced food, and the cooking (even one place whose chef/owner has a Michelin star). Home produced eggs are a great addition to the breakfast menu!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Contullich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathyre
24.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
7.7 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
434 reviews
11.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
930 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Achray House Hotel and Lodges
10.4 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creagan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creagan House

Address: Strathyre | Callander, Strathyre, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK18 8ND, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Strathyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Strathyre
Price Range: $171 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Creagan House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creagan is a devil to define, but a delight to find! For an escape from life's fast lane and a real taste of Scotland, a visit to Creagan House is an experience never to be forgotten. This cosy farmhouse is only an hour from Edinburgh or Glasgow, but it feels like a million miles once inside, surrounded as it is by gorgeous highland scenery. An ideal base for a special occasion, whilst touring, or for a longer stay to explore the wealth of attractions and activities within easy reach. A renowned Restaurant with Rooms, where food is, without question, the heart of the house. It is country house cooking in the modern form, classically French based, using the best quality fresh, locally sourced produce whenever possible. Gordon and Cherry Gunn have owned, and continually improved this unique outpost of highland hospitality for 28 years and are proud of their many awards earned each year. These include 5 star Restaurant with Rooms Gold Award from VisitScotland and the AA. You can be assured of a warm and genuine welcome in this home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Creagan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creagan House Strathyre, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing