We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, and a good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Level Contributor
463 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Not bad, and a good value”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was a good value. The staff was helpful and nice, the room was clean (though old), and parking was free (and easy to find). The hotel is just off the main highway, so it was conveniently located. Compared to the other hotels in the Inner Harbor area, the price was right. The continental breakfast was pretty good, though they didn't have oatmeal (which I like to have). A good value!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    58
    29
    16
    11
See reviews for
59
46
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Esquimalt, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had adjoining rooms(4 kids). The carpet was flithy, I wouldnt walk on it in bare feet. There was mold on the shower curtains, the soft was flithy, you could see the wires hanging from the lights in the bathroom, 2 of my children broke out in a rash, house keeping didnt stock none of our supplies, burns in the curtains, spiders and bugs crawling on the ceilings, floors and in the bath tub, half the time the key cards wouldnt work. Smelled like cigarette smoke. I wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. The only plus side was the location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kathypoole30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Esquimalt hotels

Penticton, BC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We checked in to Room 238, and proceeded to relax, my wife on the bed, myself on the couch. Within a few minutes my wife noticed little black dots hopping around on the white sheets. The bed was infested with fleas! I guess they were in the carpet too, as my lower legs now have flea bites all over them.

The lady at the reception desk offered me a new room, either Room 138 immediately below #238 or a suite in the other building (no air conditioning). We moved to 138, but found fleas there too!
We moved to Room 145 in the other building, and it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our room look absolutely nothing like the nice pictures on the website. I should have taken some photos to share. The carpet in our room was FILTHY and completely worn out. I wouldn't even walk on it in my bare feet. The shower curtain was dirty, too. Our room had no refrigerator or microwave as most of the Comfort Inns tend to have. I don't recommend anyone stay here unless ou can see your room, first. However, the clerks at the front desk were very friendly and helpful when we asked for direction and questions about the area! The area was also quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BallroomMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in room 231. While this is an old property,probably from the 60's our room had been renovated, I'm guessing within the past 2 years. The bathroom was ,tub sink etc was very clean. The towels were very good. The room was fairly large with 2 comfortable queen beds, with clean and comfortable bedding. A new flat screen TV is required, it was the old CRT TV with relatively poor reception.The continental breakfast included was adequate. The food was fresh. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the inner harbour but it is in a lovely location in View Royal on the gorge. We would stay there again. Only mildly disconcerting was about 40 juveniles were staying there. The 50 year old juveniles with their motorcycles they were washing ,taking up unnecessary parking spaces but this is not the hotels fault

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronash275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've stayed at a lot of Comfort Inns, and this one is in the bottom tier. Sometimes the buildings can be dated but the rooms are renovated and well kept, so the outdoor stucco doesn't matter. Not so in this case. The carpet and bedspreads were stained, matched the poorly kept exterior. (Our neighbor two doors down nicely lined up his/her empty Corona bottles in the window.) It took not one, not two but three polite reminders for our rollaway to be delivered. The only hot offerings at breakfast were the toaster and instant oatmeal. Even the bread was old and getting stale. On the plus side, the front desk staff was always pleasant and polite. Location isn't bad, an easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opusRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages for 8 days while our whole house was getting painted.
The price was very good value. They included the breakfast which wasn't fancy but had enough choice. The rooms were clean and very quiet. However the TV's were small and older. The view and the landscaping were very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a cottage for the view and the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 101 Island Hwy, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9B 1E8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel plus 5-duplex cabins facing the Gorge Waterway - Waterfront location on Gorge Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Victoria
Victoria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing