We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in room 231. While this is an old property,probably from the 60's our room had been renovated, I'm guessing within the past 2 years. The bathroom was ,tub sink etc was very clean. The towels were very good. The room was fairly large with 2 comfortable queen beds, with clean and comfortable bedding. A new flat screen TV is required, it was the old CRT TV with relatively poor reception.The continental breakfast included was adequate. The food was fresh. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the inner harbour but it is in a lovely location in View Royal on the gorge. We would stay there again. Only mildly disconcerting was about 40 juveniles were staying there. The 50 year old juveniles with their motorcycles they were washing ,taking up unnecessary parking spaces but this is not the hotels fault

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronash275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 172 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We've stayed at a lot of Comfort Inns, and this one is in the bottom tier. Sometimes the buildings can be dated but the rooms are renovated and well kept, so the outdoor stucco doesn't matter. Not so in this case. The carpet and bedspreads were stained, matched the poorly kept exterior. (Our neighbor two doors down nicely lined up his/her empty Corona bottles in the window.) It took not one, not two but three polite reminders for our rollaway to be delivered. The only hot offerings at breakfast were the toaster and instant oatmeal. Even the bread was old and getting stale. On the plus side, the front desk staff was always pleasant and polite. Location isn't bad, an easy drive to downtown.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opusRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in one of the cottages for 8 days while our whole house was getting painted.
The price was very good value. They included the breakfast which wasn't fancy but had enough choice. The rooms were clean and very quiet. However the TV's were small and older. The view and the landscaping were very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a cottage for the view and the quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed here three or four times in the past few years when in Victoria on business, primarily due to their dog policy. The nice waterfront cabins, however, are no longer available to those who are travelling with a dog, which is too bad because they are the best reason to stay at this Comfort Inn.

For those who have difficulty with stairs, this is probably not the place for you. The ground floor rooms are up three steps from parking, with no handrails. When cars are parked in front of those steps, you have to squeeze between two cars with your luggage and up the steps with no handrail to steady yourself when carrying a heavy suitcase. I don't believe there is an elevator, either, to reach the second floor rooms.

My stay this trip was OK, nothing wrong but nothing memorable. Just a place to get a good night's sleep and be on my way in the morning.

Room Tip: The waterfront cabins are charming, and if you redeem Choice points for your stay are a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saltchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed here a few months ago. The rooms were very comfortable. The location is about a 10 or 15 minute drive from Downtown, but the pricing was a lot more reasonable than staying downtown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I have recently returned from a high school reunion in Esquimalt and stayed at the Comfort Inn at Admirals and Craigflower. It used to by the Craigflower Motel and being an Esquimalt gal I remembered it well. I was surprised at how well the new owners have renovated it and how very spacious the suites are.The breakfast is complementary The kitchen is very well stocked with dishes etc. and the fridge is full size. This Inn is a 7 minute walk to a Thrifty Foods grocery store and other shops you may need... pharmacy and at least 5 places to eat.

Room Tip: there is no elevator so ask for a ground floor. The suites are very well priced and roomy. The couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charleyPeachlandBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for the Victoria Parade. The place was ok but the room was musty and smelled old. I think it may be time to change the rugs or something. the free breakfast was good and the staff were very nice. The value was good but rooms could use some upgrading.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that may have been ungraded if they have any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandDori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
825 reviews
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Hotel Zed
Hotel Zed
#24 of 46 in Victoria
380 reviews
English Inn
#1 of 2 in Esquimalt
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Address: 101 Island Hwy, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9B 1E8, Canada (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel plus 5-duplex cabins facing the Gorge Waterway - Waterfront location on Gorge Waterway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Victoria
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Victoria
Victoria Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing