We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Just Booked a Return Visit!”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our room was huge! Like "Whoa! I feel like a princess!" huge. The room was so comfortable that while his mom and I had a three hour tea at the Empress, my boyfriend and his dad opted to hang out in our room all afternoon. Even with all that time spent at the inn, we opted to stay in that night, and had a great time playing cards in the empty dining room. We did get some food from the kitchen, which was sufficient... The kitchen is beautiful, and I'm sure that one day, with the right chef, the English Inn could also turn itself into a local dinner destination. For the time being, I might recommend planning ahead and bringing some take-aways. Don't bank on having room service for dinner. Also, the bar and bar drinks could use some refining. But they do have a bar, and bar drinks, which sometimes is good enough. Just plan to stick with the staples: it's pretty hard to screw up a gin and tonic.

The staff was incredibly friendly. The inn is beautiful and cozy. We just booked another three night stay. I expect that the English Inn is about to become our go-to weekend getaway spot. (Yay!)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 280 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here just for 1 night as part of her birthday celebration. The main section consists of a beautiful old mansion which was well kept. We stayed in the Queen Anne Room which was very spacious and and had a nice king size bed and a divan. The room was a little cool and there was no thermostat to control temp. (the large old radiator was turned off) yet it was quite warm in the hallway and lounge area. It took a few minutes for the hot water to reach our room but it was quite hot when we let it run a bit. The breakfast is quite simple but the crossants were great. The garden could be an outstanding feature of the inn but it a lot of has not been maintained which is a shame. We got a good off season rate which made this an excellent value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanisle_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Dear Heather,
Before the year comes to close, I would like to thank you again for all you, Zoe and your team
did to make my husband, John’s Celebration of Life such a special event.
The English Inn and its dignified surroundings provided the ideal location. The way you candle
lit the gardens and Rose Meade Room created perfect atmosphere. Your service was seamless.
You gave us comfort and understood that I was saying good-bye to the love of my life, and
ensured that it was a day that would make him proud.
We also greatly appreciate you working with our dear friend and event planner, and
our preferred caterer. Together you overwhelmed us with the perfection of the day.
It is my pleasure to highly recommend the English Inn for myriad of events. It is an ideal venue
for weddings, birthdays and other celebrations, even ones to say good-bye. As corporate event planner, I will recommend the English Inn for meetings, fundraisers and social events. I look forward to working with you again.
I wish you and your team all the very best for the Holiday Season and 2014. Merry Christmas!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyrn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

An extended Thank You for doing such a great job creating our Christmas Party at the English Inn. The Rooms were amazing, the Event Room was fantastic and looked incredible, and the care and attention to details were over the top fantastic by the entire English Inn team.

I personally would like to thank you for holding my hand through the whole procedure from conception to finale; I couldn't have done it without you guys.

With heart felt gratitude.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I recently hosted a business meeting at the English Inn, and both my guests and I came away thoroughly impressed. A beautiful building with a bright and cozy dining room, a convenient location with lots of parking, and staff who were friendly and helpful made this the perfect space for a midday gathering. It took me a while to discover the English Inn, but I will definitely be going back.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Loved our stay at the Inn. Great building, quaint, clean with "old world charm". Heather and staff were very helpful and friendly! I would visit the Inn when back in Victoria. I enjoyed the quietness and quaintness of the building.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay, the room was very nice and clean, the breakfast provided was very good and I loved the location. The exterior of the building looks like it needs some attention but you forget about that once inside, the interior is a great example of quality 100 old architecture. Old varnished wood, narrow stairs, big beams and small doors throughout. We had a very quiet stay in one of the Garden rooms and am glad we purchased our stay online for about half the walk in price. The staff we did see or talk to were great. Too far from downtown Victoria to walk but lots of things in Esquimalt are not too far away. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#45 of 47 in Victoria
818 reviews
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Esquimalt
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: $95 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing