We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Romantic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Very Romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I stay at the English Inn. It was our anniversary and it was the perfect choice. We loved the grounds, it was elegant and inviting. The Inn is so charming as are the rooms. Such a great place!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    33
    23
    20
See reviews for
45
160
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erin, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We found this Inn over the internet. It sounded very interesting so we book our last night of our visit to Vancouver Island and we loved it. The setting is that of an old English Manor in the time of Shakespeare's England. Our room was on the third floor and we could see the ships in Victoria's Harbour The attendants at the front desk were most cordial and even help in taking our luggage up to our room. The entire Inn was very clean. The breakfast was continental but the croissants were home baked and delicious. The staff Help in calling the Washington Ferries to book a space from Sydney to AnnaCortes. It was the right thing to do otherwise we would have stayed on the dock.

Room Tip: Any room is good but the back room on the third floor gives you a view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

great hotel, quirky, bvery friendly and helpful staff, i will stay there again when i go back to victoria. location close enough to town but far enough out to be quiet. great location for a run in the morning. the continental brewakfast was great, just set you up for the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I surprised my wife for our 10 year anniversary with renewing our vows at the English Inn. I worked with Heather who was absolutely amazing! The property was stunning and Heather went above and beyond setting up candles for the ceremony. After the ceremony we went into the hotel and the girls put music on for us so we could have a wedding dance. All and all it was an experience that my wife and I will remember for the rest of our lives. We didn't actually stay at the hotel (I came up with the surprise after we had reservations somewhere else) but it will be first on our list when we return to Victoria. Talk to Heather and she will make your stay perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Gusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in an estate room which was lovely; nicely laid out, beautifully furnished with the biggest & most gorgeous bed & cleaned very well every day. The hotel itself is lovely, albeit definitely showing wear & tear. There is a feeling of neglect to the grounds & surrounding buildings which is a shame. Breakfast was croissant, coffee, fruit & yoghurt & not really what I like when on holiday. It felt they were rather short staffed with people doubling up on roles but everyone was really friendly & very helpful. If staying in an estate room be warned that there are many stairs to get up to them including a rather steep & narrow one.
We enjoyed our stay here as we were looking for a romantic getaway & we didn't want to stay somewhere that was ordinary & this was definitely not that!
I would suggest that they could perhaps look at getting rid of some of the rugs which had stains on them & rather let down the room, also if running an 'English' inn, the emphasis really should be on providing a decent cup of tea!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodlettsville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

photos looked appealing and I made reservations online. due to unforeseeable health issues I sent an email to same address that I made the reservation, 11 days prior to reserved dates (long before the 48b hour notice). alas, they have no record of that and my presentation of that email made no difference -"its their policy". so, they got us for nearly $2oo.oo, but lost out on our future business. hindsight I should have asked for confirmation, this is the only hotel that I had difficulties canceling our reservations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oh-happy-rain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humboldt, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The grounds of this inn were just amazing, I could have wandered around there forever! The inn itself was very charming, there is character everywhere. Our room was fairly big, had room for a sitting area and fridge. The bathroom was very small and the sliding door didn't leave much for privacy. We also had a sky light above our bed, which was not enjoyable when you are woken up early by the sun shining on your face. I had read the reviews about the keys working for more than one room, which made me nervous, must have been in another building, as we tried our key in a room we knew was empty and it didn't work on that door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandywey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,471 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,423 reviews
Inn at Laurel Point
#11 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Property: English Inn
Address: 429 Lampson St., Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing