We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path but historically a great choice”
Review of English Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
English Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

If you're looking for a modern new hotel close to all tourist attractions, this is not it. But, if you are looking for a beautiful and off the beaten path historical hotel, a $14 taxi ride to the other side of the bay, a view from a balcony of the water and mountains over the trees, an evening breeze, a lovely garden, and very attentive and friendly staff, this is the place for you. The rooms are older but loaded with character and some modern conveniences. We weren't sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoughsofVermilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 280 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

This was our first visit to English Inn. As other reviewers have said, it is located in a well kept residential area, so not surprisingly it was very quiet at night. The 105 year old manor house itself looks fantastic and has been well cared for over the years, as are the grounds it sits upon. The room we had was large and very bright, as the outside wall has a huge picture window that the afternoon sun streams through. (The curtains though are a heavy material, so it'd be nice to also have shears perhaps, to filter the sun without the current alternative of going very dark.) The furniture in this room is modern but comfortable. The bathroom was up to date also, but could use a shelf of some type to place your toiletries. Extra pillows and blanket were in the closet should you want those. The restaurant is not open currently, so your options for meals are limited to getting some "appies" in the lounge, or heading out to a restaurant somewhere. Staff are evident through the day and evening and very friendly and efficient. A nice bonus is you are only a 5 minute walk to the ocean, with a very large park to walk through, with great views.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CashandCarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

English Inn at Victoria is a lovely boutique hotel for weekend getaway and other events including wedding and business meetings since they do have facilities to fulfill your needs. I went there on May 13th, which was Friday, but the weather was perfect to visit Victoria. It is located about 5-10 minutes drive from downtown Victoria and situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood. Thus, you would feel like you have run away from busy urban life. When I first entered the forest-surrounded entrance pathway, I found myself was in a tunnel connecting to ancient English world. I believe that everyone would be amazed by their recently renovated manor. I was welcomed by their friendly staff members with great smile on their faces. I took a quick tour walking around their large 4-acre landscape, wedding venue, and Anne Hathaway’s cottage. I wish I could have my wedding in such elegant garden.
The room was clean and well-furnished with large bed and classic antiques. I love to travel and have been to several countries but no other hotels ever give me same impression as English Inn did. You can really get relaxed surrounding by the authentic old English style architecture and charming character. The main building was just renovated, you can definitely tell they really put their efforts and did their job to impress every customer. The lobby and lounge were very nice with a fusion of old and modern design. I spent some time sitting in the lounge area and pretty much enjoyed the atmosphere there.
I would strongly recommend English Inn to tourists whether they like modern design 5-star hotels and would like to taste classic charm or those who prefer a quite isolated place to stay. It will certainly give you a lifetime memorable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We arrived in Esquimalt (2 min from downtown Victoria) to find an amazing property situated in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The long drive-way was a charming entrance to a picturesque property. The gardens were tidy and Spring would soon bring amazing flowers to a variety of flowering tree and shrubs. We stayed in the Main Manor and found the room clean, comfortable and well-appointed. The staff recommended some great spots to eat and shop, thank you. We enjoyed a walk around the gardens to seek out other buildings on the property. The Inn was a peaceful world-away from our busy week and can't wait to return.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank hiltonlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

On April 27, 2011 our family celebrated the wedding of our daughter, and 68th wedding anniversary of my parents at the English Inn. We arrived on April 25 and left on April 29. During the entire time, all of the staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and competent – in all, the kind of staff I have always tried to hire in my business. The rooms were excellent, the banquet was delicious and beautifully presented, and the grounds were coming into bloom. Other than a bit of rain, on the 27th, it couldn’t have been better.

Thank you again to Justine and all of the staff for a wonderful and memorable time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryAndPat1352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

The staff were fantastic. Their graciousness and helpfulness were greatly appreciated. I arrived with a reservation for one night hoping that a cancellation would allow me 3 nights. Luck was with me, and I was able to stay for the 3 nights. I was surprised that a light continental breakfast was included. Bonus! I was alone, and given a Garden room in the main building which made me feel very safe. it was a small room on the 3rd floor, Not for the faint of heart as you did have to climb the stairs. The room was off of a small hallway, shared with another room.

It was small, no desk, but a fake fireplace that was fun to turn on as it was very cold that weekend. A fridge, and a kettle for tea with a lovely tea pot. Instant coffee. Lovely bathroom but the tub had some damage and the finish was coming off. That apparently will be dealt with as that room is due for a reno. The bathroom had that old house musty smell that many old hotels have but the shower curtains smelled fresh. The space between the bed and the walls is narrow, and the bed frame is much larger than the mattress and I hit my leg on the sharp corner several times. A much larger person would be challenged to walk by and not injure themselves. Lots of storage in the closet.

Bed was comfortable. The room was quiet. I heard the neighbors arrive one night but only as they walked by my door and unlocked theirs.

The breakfast was perfect. A croissant, yogurt and a piece of fruit along with a great cup of coffee. For big eaters this might be too small, but it was a bonus as I did not see about it on the web page, and was not told about it when I phoned for a reservation.

The main floor was very well maintained, but as you walked the stairs the carpeting was very dirty and remained so over the weekend.

The internet service did not work at all in my room. Attempts by the office staff to help were futile. There is a computer on the mezzanine level that is for client use. For the few things I needed to check that suited me fine.

I have stayed here before. It is not the big impersonal hotel experience, so those expecting the facilities and amenities of that will be disappointed. But if you want a quiet quaint room in a neighborhood a short drive from down town Victoria, this is a wonderful place.

The restaurant no longer serves meals, but the bar has a small bar menu.

I have to repeat that the staff was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 42istheanswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a quaint boutique hotel which would not have been out of place in a Cotswold village and the communal areas have been beautifully updated in a contemporary understated style. The hotel was peaceful despite being almost full and the grounds serene, including deer roaming in the gardens.

I think the rooms are excellent for the price point coupled with a light breakfast with excellent fresh croissants.

Yes this is no 5 star but it isn't trying to be in my view; in fact I think it is a hidden gem which seems to be largely used as a wedding venue. The staff were initially a little unwelcoming but were then magnificent in looking after our bags and moving our room on request.

The rooms are a little musty but this is a 100 year old wooden panelled building and trust me its exactly what you get in a UK inn of the same age and older. It is called character!

i have one gross criticism, that surprised me, and which even as a very seasoned traveller I have rarely seen; the sheets were rude to say the least and needed either bleach or to be replaced; there is no way that housekeeping staff cannot have been aware of this.

That said, i would stay here again and recommend the place but with the caveat that I would check my sheets immediately!

Room Tip: ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sirstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esquimalt
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
825 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,092 reviews
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Esquimalt
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rosemary Inn
#1 of 1 in Esquimalt
16 reviews
Show Prices

Been to English Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English Inn

Address: 429 Lampson St, Esquimalt, British Columbia V9A 5Y9, Canada (Formerly Olde England Inn)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Esquimalt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Esquimalt
Price Range: $95 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — English Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a set of residences set on 4.5 acres of beautiful gardens, every room at the English Inn is unique. Each offers its own special character amidst the beautiful garden setting and historical architecture of the property. Three types of standard rooms are available from the quaint garden rooms to the deluxe crown suites as well as "The Crown Jewel" the luxurious heart of the English Inn and the 2 bedroom townhouse, great for large families or parties traveling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your English Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
English Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing