We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The standard by which all B&Bs should be judged”
Review of Colonsay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arrina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonsay B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Arrina B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I can only reiterate everything that has already been said about this B&B and the lady who runs it. She made us feel welcome immediately with offers of coffee. Stunning location and modern comfortable room with no item overlooked. Breakfast tasty and more than plentiful.
Hope to be back and would not hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank LucyDiamondScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was helping with a local event (an extreme triathlon)in the North West and manged to get accommodation in this hidden gem. Kalie was a wonderful host and even did us and the other guests a really early breakfast! The race started at 0500 - nothing was a trouble. The situation of Colonsay B&B is incredible,the loch, the mountains.and the views make this a very special place. I have been lucky to travel the world and see exciting places but this is one of the finest.

If you can get booked in this is a magic place to be if you enjoy your stay, the food and the hospitality as much as we did then life cannot get much better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidWhalleyBurghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at Colonsay B&B whilst on a photography trip. The house was lovely
, room was very comfortable, and breakfast was great. The views around the house were great and it's location was great for exploring the Applecross peninsula.
Kalie and Islay gave me a warm welcome on arrival and there was a host of good information on the local area with Kalie able to add other places to see and things to do. I would recommend Colonsay Arrina to anyone visiting the area and will certainly be back later in the year for views of snow capped mountians.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms, a double and a twin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Colonsay B&B which was recommended to us by another local B&B. The house was lovely as was Kalie and her pets. We arrived later than planned but this wasn't a problem and we were warmly welcomed. Breakfast was plentiful and very tasty; nothing too much bother. The views around the house were fantastic not to mention breathtaking and Kalie was very helpful in providing information on places to go and things to do. We would certainly recommend Colonsay B&B and if it wasn't for work we would have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What can I say but....beautiful ! incredible location with breathtaking views! Kalie & Islay ( the dog hehe!) and the cat too ! made us so welcome! We were greeted with tea and homemade flapjacks! yum yum!! lovely room and wonderful breakfast!! We stayed for 2 nights and wished it had been more! will definately be back soon. Thank you Kalie for our wonderful stay !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank motogpcrazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We only stayed the one night with Karelia but we were very happy with our stay and are more than happy to recommend Colonsay to anyone considering somewhere to stay whilst they explore the Applecross Peninsula and Findhorn area. The area is beautiful, the accomodation first class and Karelia is an excellent host. If you're looking for someplace to stay in the area, look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Straad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We found this B&B on the internet and made our reservation there for 3 nights in August 2012. It was the most amazing 3 nights away. It’s a very beautiful B&B with wonderful views and Kalie is a truly great host. We immediately felt at home after we arrived being welcomed with a lovely cup of tea and tasty homemaking. Highlight of this B&B is the sun deck in front of the house which provides a beautiful view over the garden, the coast line, Loch Torridon and the surrounding mountains. We loved the pets they are the most loveable creatures. I wasn't so sure about the shared bathroom at first, but there were no issues. The bathroom is right next to the bedroom and is extremely clean. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the food at breakfast was excellent. The whole house are furnished tastefully and clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay there again. We highly recommend staying at Colonsay B&B. Great deal overall, we were very satisfied! Hope to go back soon. We had a great time thank you Kalie!!

Room Tip: We hardly had any phone signal.What bliss!! That didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colonsay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonsay B&B

Address: Colonsay Colonsay Colonsay B&B | Near Applecross, Strathcarron, Arrina IV54 8XU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Arrina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Arrina
Price Range: $34 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B in a scenic and tranquil setting on the Applecross peninsula, Wester Ross. We offer a friendly and personal service to all of our guests in a welcoming home environment. Guests can use the dining room, TV area, sun room and outside deck, all of which have stunning sea views, as do both the bedrooms. Our breakfast menu includes a full Scottish cooked selection of local produce or a continental breakfast. Evening meals can be arrange in advance.We can advise you on local walks, sea trips and activities in the area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing