We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have had a longer stay”
Review of The Spinney

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jedburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spinney
Ranked #7 of 17 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Only stayed for one night in order to give us a break on our journey from Lowestoft to Fort William. A very warm welcome on arrival with tea and home baking in the very pleasant lounge which looked out over superb grounds, even in the rain. Our room was really comfortable with its own bathroom and our breakfast in the morning before our departure was a real treat. We will be giving some thought to a holiday in the Borders in the future so that we can use The Spinney again and have a longer stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank davidlouLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Greeted each time by Sandra with a nice pot of tea and cake/biscuits. Had these in the nice guest lounge. Two miles from Jedburgh where the closest dinner venues are situated.

Our double room was spacious with two chairs to rest in. Tea/coffee making facilities available with a lovely chocolate each. Ensuite shower was a good one and included soap, shower gel etc. Rooms are up some steep steps.

Bed lovely and comfy but did get very warm under the quilt. Able to open the window, though.

Breakfasts very tasty and with a good selection. Black pudding, potato scone and fried bread added to the experience but there are other options.

Wifi available but drops out constantly so had to rely on 3G, also a bit dodgy.

A nice spot to stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gfsc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here while visiting the Borders. On arrival Sandra served us coffee and home baking which was delicious. We sat outside in their lovely garden and enjoyed the warm sunshine. The location is on the A68 and easy to find. The room we had was spotless with an en-suite toilet and shower. We had a lovely breakfast with lots of choice. I would certainly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning on our next trip to the Borders.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalkirkArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

we have recently stayed in one of the lodges within the grounds of the B&B a really lovely place , However a few criticisms only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels and 1 shower mat so once they are wet there were no others to use, also only 1 toilet roll and a half used one on the holder not really acceptable for on average £50.00 per night and electricty metre is topped up for your arrival however it can get extremely cold and need all 3 heaters switched on which uses the money very quickly and i must say that the minimum amount seemed to have been added ! (£16.00 for 1 week stay) Needless to say we wont be returning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have previously stayed in the Bed and Breakfast accommodation at The Spinney, which is first class. This was our first time staying in one of the three lodges in the attractive grounds and we really appreciated how well appointed they are. The lodge in which we stayed has recently been upgraded and is well appointed for all your needs. The facilities, furnishings and layout is first class and we really appreciated the credit on the electricty meter which meant that all power use was included in the hire charge.
Conveniently situated on the A68 just south of Jedburgh, the lodges are set in a secluded area which enables you appreciate the tranquil setting and views across the area. The warmth of our welcome was only matched by the cosy feel of the lodge whenever we settled down for an evening in. We shall certainly return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessacarrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

To post this i had to mark all the boxes but as you'll see i never made it there and it is probably wonderful just dint cancel your booking last minute. I had to cancel a mine for one of the lodges under an unavoidable last minute situation.........All i received was rudeness, a guilt trip and even after contacting visitScotland no apology for bad unacceptable customer service in an already upsetting personal situation I was dealing with. I've never felt strong enough about anything to complain as i am very easy going, this sadly is that time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gixxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just back from a fabulous three night stay in one of the one bed log cabins at the Spinney in Jedburgh. I have done a number of log cabin breaks and this was by far, one of the best. There was absolutely nothing I could fault and it was better equipped than my own home - down to fabulous hot water and a plentiful supply of electricity sockets! The cabin was beautifully bright and sunny and incredibly peaceful and homely. There was even a gorgeous set of fairy lights that lit the path at night. My dog was in seventh heaven as she had her very own field to run about in, so needless to say, we're both a bit miserable at being home and are counting the days until we can go back. Wonderful break - very relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
1.5 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
207 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
212 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Horse and Hound Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
The Spread Eagle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Jedburgh
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinney

Address: Langlee, Jedburgh TD8 6PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Spinney Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing