We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of The Spinney

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jedburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Spinney
Ranked #7 of 17 Jedburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent one night here while visiting the Borders. On arrival Sandra served us coffee and home baking which was delicious. We sat outside in their lovely garden and enjoyed the warm sunshine. The location is on the A68 and easy to find. The room we had was spotless with an en-suite toilet and shower. We had a lovely breakfast with lots of choice. I would certainly recommend this B&B and look forward to returning on our next trip to the Borders.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalkirkArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

we have recently stayed in one of the lodges within the grounds of the B&B a really lovely place , However a few criticisms only 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels and 1 shower mat so once they are wet there were no others to use, also only 1 toilet roll and a half used one on the holder not really acceptable for on average £50.00 per night and electricty metre is topped up for your arrival however it can get extremely cold and need all 3 heaters switched on which uses the money very quickly and i must say that the minimum amount seemed to have been added ! (£16.00 for 1 week stay) Needless to say we wont be returning !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have previously stayed in the Bed and Breakfast accommodation at The Spinney, which is first class. This was our first time staying in one of the three lodges in the attractive grounds and we really appreciated how well appointed they are. The lodge in which we stayed has recently been upgraded and is well appointed for all your needs. The facilities, furnishings and layout is first class and we really appreciated the credit on the electricty meter which meant that all power use was included in the hire charge.
Conveniently situated on the A68 just south of Jedburgh, the lodges are set in a secluded area which enables you appreciate the tranquil setting and views across the area. The warmth of our welcome was only matched by the cosy feel of the lodge whenever we settled down for an evening in. We shall certainly return soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bessacarrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

To post this i had to mark all the boxes but as you'll see i never made it there and it is probably wonderful just dint cancel your booking last minute. I had to cancel a mine for one of the lodges under an unavoidable last minute situation.........All i received was rudeness, a guilt trip and even after contacting visitScotland no apology for bad unacceptable customer service in an already upsetting personal situation I was dealing with. I've never felt strong enough about anything to complain as i am very easy going, this sadly is that time.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gixxey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just back from a fabulous three night stay in one of the one bed log cabins at the Spinney in Jedburgh. I have done a number of log cabin breaks and this was by far, one of the best. There was absolutely nothing I could fault and it was better equipped than my own home - down to fabulous hot water and a plentiful supply of electricity sockets! The cabin was beautifully bright and sunny and incredibly peaceful and homely. There was even a gorgeous set of fairy lights that lit the path at night. My dog was in seventh heaven as she had her very own field to run about in, so needless to say, we're both a bit miserable at being home and are counting the days until we can go back. Wonderful break - very relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I’ve nothing but praise for the 2-bedroomed Spinney lodge we stayed in this week. The lodges are in the spacious grounds of an attractive B&B guesthouse. The gardens/grounds are immaculate, and there are flower tubs and flower boxes at the lodges even though it’s late October. Have stayed in a lot of self-catering accommodation in the UK over the years and this ranks with the best. The lodges are all wood, and they just feel good to be inside. They are beautifully and tastefully furnished and extremely well equipped. The heaters in all the rooms make it cosy at this time of year. Electricity is on a metre which has £20 credit in it, which we didn’t have to top up. There are lots of touches in the lodge not found in other SC accommodation – games and toys for youngsters, selection of books DVD’s, tapes, games and cards for adults and the shower room and toilet has handwash, shower gel and shampoo. In addition, for dog owners, there’s a large adjoining field with a path round the outside and across the middle which is perfect for exercising pets particularly last thing at night and first thing in the morning- there’s even a torch supplied for dark nights. I cannot praise this accommodation too highly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a delightful one night stop-over on our way to Scotland. Very welcoming hosts, a much needed cuppa and lovely fruit cake and biscuits on arrival, the highest standard of immaculate accommodation and an excellent breakfast to set us on our way. Such peaceful surroundings too with plenty of birds to watch feeding in the picturesque gardens. Highly recommended..................we'll certainly be back again one day soon.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chriswarner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jedburgh hotels
1.7 mi away
Willow Court
Willow Court
#4 of 17 in Jedburgh
206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Glenbank House Hotel
Glenbank House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Jedburgh
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Capon Tree Town House
The Capon Tree Town House
#5 of 17 in Jedburgh
28 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#9 of 17 in Jedburgh
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
Airenlea
Airenlea
#3 of 17 in Jedburgh
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinney

Address: Langlee, Jedburgh TD8 6PB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jedburgh
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Spinney Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing