We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenbank House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, great visit”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The hotel host, Alex, is very welcoming and friendly. The hotel has been recently renovated to a high standard with a variety of rooms to chose from depending upon your budget. As we were only staying one night we decided upon one of the smaller rooms which was more than adequate, room was of a good size and the bathroom a reasonable size, bed and pillows were very comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. No noise from either inside or outside the hotel ensured a great nights sleep.

We had a truly wonderful evening relaxing in the hotel bar being regalled about all things Scottish by Alex and a few of his guest. Nothing was off limits from a history of all things soccer to the upcoming vote for independence to our (Australia's) lack of cricket skills. We were able to order dinner at the hotel and rather than sit in the onsite restaurant we were able to eat in the bar with the food being very nice and presented well. The breakfast next morning was served in the lovely restaurant area with plenty of options and generous servings.

There was loads of onsite parking and upon checkout the next morning Alex suggested leaving the car in the carpark and walking to the shops (only a couple of minutes walk) which was very kind.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank greatimes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    62
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
107
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had a delightful stay. Room was clean and fresh, as was the en-suite. Good central heating and excellent wi-fi. Stair access was roomy. The host was warm and engaging and full of helpful information. Breakfast was just right. We would certainly stay there again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Me, my wife and our 6-month-old son passed through Jedbrugh en route to Glasgow, having met up with a friend in the town.

Alex was a champion and his hotel impeccable. The renovations were beautiful and our bathroom was massive, along with the bed.

For travellers with cars, it is useful to note they have a massive car park too!

Well done Alex, 10 out of 10 and I promised I would rate you on Trip Advisor!

Cheers for making our stay awesome.

Dave

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10 pounds or so for the upgrade room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellett64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We called for lunch and a drink we were made very welcome a great place to visit when in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ollerton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

6 of us stayed at The Glenbank on friday 13th night on the return journey of our Lands End to John O Groats charity round trip
All 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed our stay the food was wonderful the accommodation was outstanding and Alex and his team couldnt do enough to make our stay enjoyable
Loads of off road safe parking and the offer of garage parking for our motorbikes
We would not hesitate in recommending the hotel to anybody it brilliant
Alex thank you again for an enjoyable stay we will be back. Hopefully for the Borders TT!!! make sure you save us some space.
Neal Smith and the Lejog Tour Crew

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lejog C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stopped off for lunch at the very elegantly refurbished Greenbank House Hotel and were delighted by both the welcome and the food. Excellent value and excellent service.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drummond39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Glenbank Hotel is a great place to stay. Just refurbished by its new owners, we enjoyed the homely atmosphere with important details such as excellent beds (of superkingsize-size), a perfect bathroom, good linen, all things that add a feel of luxury to an otherwise reasonably modest place. Nice surroundings, convenient location to walk to the many Jedburgh attraction sites (the Abbey, Mary of Scotts House, riverwalk, Castlegate jail, the Tweed shops). And not to forget: a hotel bar that is run with great dedication to make all guests feel at home. The high quality of the restaurant food (a mix of Scottish and french cuisine, served by maitre d' Dominic who speaks english with a charming french accent) was a nice surprise and of unexpected level for such a small town. All very affordable as well. We will try to come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eefke_smit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jedburgh
0.1 mi away
Meadhon House
Meadhon House
#1 of 3 in Jedburgh
176 reviews
8.0 mi away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Boswells
926 reviews
7.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Scottish Borders
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Mansfield House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hundalee House Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
The Spread Eagle Hotel
#2 of 5 in Jedburgh
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenbank House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenbank House Hotel

Property: Glenbank House Hotel
Address: Castlegate, Jedburgh TD8 6BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Borders > Jedburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Jedburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenbank House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glenbank House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenbank House Hotel Jedburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing